We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Honeymoon spent at Bolongo Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Honeymoon spent at Bolongo Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a terrific time on our Honeymoon at Bolongo Bay. It is not the fanciest hotel on the island, but it was exactly what we were looking for. Basically a private beach, great service and food. I would highly recommend this resort to those that are looking to have a quiet time on the beach with their husband or wife.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    251
    106
    57
    46
See reviews for
164
366
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a 4-night stay at Bolongo Bay. This was the perfect place for a quick getaway for two 30-year old women. If you're looking to be pampered or to dress up to go to dinner every night, this isn't the place. If you're looking more for an informal, laid-back beach vibe with plenty to do and lots of friendly people, then this is the place for you!

Beach— Beautiful waterfront property right on the bay, with lots of hammocks, adirondack chairs, and beach chairs for guests' use. We always had room to ourselves and never felt like we were crowding other visitors on the beach. Water was a pristine turquoise and great for snorkeling.

Room— We chose the "value" room which the staff forewarned us (when we booked) was a bit dated. Honestly, we saw nothing wrong with the room itself. Yes the furniture was older, and it didn't have an ocean view, but it was clean, comfortable, and safe (2 locks on the balcony door, and a safe in the room). The lower price is a nice tradeoff for those who don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room. My only complaint was with the bathroom - shower curtain was too short so the entire bathroom floor was constantly wet, there is no fan so it was always humid (impossible to dry hair with the provided hair drier), and there was a serious lack of hot water.

Food/Drinks - 2 restaurants, Lobster Grille and Iggie's. We only ate at Lobster Grille once, for breakfast, and it was good - standard breakfast food. Never seemed crowded at all, a good place for a quieter, nicer dinner with family or a significant other. Iggie's was great - a true party atmosphere at night, live music starting at 7ish every night, reasonably priced drinks ($4-$5 for a frozen rum drink), and tasty but low-key food (try the Mahi Mahi sandwich and the fish tacos - delicious, super-fresh fish). Iggie's seemed like the place to be for both hotel guests and St. Thomas locals. We did not opt for the all-inclusive option since we were not at the resort most of the day, but found everything to be reasonably priced. Wait staff/hostesses were always friendly.

Staff – Everyone we met was extremely pleasant! The ladies in the gift shop went above and beyond to book all of our excursions, even if they were through other hotels. Laura in particular was especially accommodating!

Activities— Bolongo has plenty of non-motorized toys that you can take out at your leisure - kayaks, paddle boards, snorkel equipment, etc. Every Thursday they have a "snorkel booze hunt" in the bay - we came home with 2 free bottles of Cruzan rum!

Overall, we had an amazing time and would recommend to family and friends.
.

Room Tip: "value" room is just what it sounds like - perfect if you don't plan on spending a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Michigan, USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at Bolongo Bay from Dec 31st for three days. We were looking forward to staying at a nice place for a few days before moving over to St. John. Reservation staff were great and the we thought we were getting a very nice condo to stay in. What we found was a place falling apart. The sliding doors to the patio would not open and the screen doors were broken. There was a lot of dirt in the cracks of the floor and around the baseboards. The closet doors were broken and the front door was difficult to open and close. There were very few utensils in the kitchen and there were broken shelves in the refrigerator - which we found out after a glass bottle fell out and broke. For the money that the resort charges $600 per night - for these condos. We did not see the rooms closer to the office - they may be nicer. The only wifi is in the lobby. Staff was very friendly and helpful and Iggie's is a casual place to eat. There are lots of things to do kayaks, paddle boards etc.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a week for a wedding at the resort. All staff was very accommodating to our needs, and Iggy's restaurant was great! Great resort for families with kids as well, and we never ran out of things to do! The boat crew (Larry & Drew) for the excursions were great! I would def. stay here again! Thank you!!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room, which was perfect! You could hear the sound of the ocean at night and ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place is beautiful. I came here with my family and had an amazing time! We stayed all inclusive, and we tried to do as much as possible. While we were here we kayaked, went on the sunset cruise, and ate here most of the time which was all a part of our all inclusive stay. We loved the boat portion, especially me, but we didn't just do the sunset cruise, we also we snorkeling with the turtles that also had stingrays and fish you could see which we had to pay for but was Totally worth it! The crew members were very informative and very nice! The food near our room was great at both lobster grill and at iggies, personally I favored iggies though because the servers were always great and the bartender was also! There are people at the front desk that can call you a taxi whenever you need one, some times it will take a while, but it's not their fault, it's more on if there are available ones or not. The taxis take you any where you'd like to go and most drivers we had were pretty nice! The only complaint I really have was the fact that the water is a little murky and the toilet in my bathroom wasn't all that great at flushing, but it was all wonderful besides that!!!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We won an all-expenses-paid trip via North Country Radio, Feb 9-13, 2014. (Thanks!)

Resort— Small, informal, friendly. Although not the only property on the bay, the resort is central, faces south, has the only sandy beach, and has a private, secluded feeling to it. “Cardio” facilities and small reception room.

Room—Beautiful view from 2nd floor. Clean. Bit of moisture damage on low woodwork (normal wear, pretty good considering we were within 100' of the water), but ceramic tile floor, stucco walls, small kitchen, shower, wicker furniture—all very clean. Louvred & screened, room AC, ceiling fan. Balcony has two chairs and side table. In addition to queen bed, we had single daybed with pop-up trundle. A safe for valuables, extra pillows, candles, TV—lots of small comforts. WiFi should be available in rooms as well as public areas—still working on it while we were there, but good enough already to check e-mail and plane schedules.

Food—Pool and bayside restaurant with tablecloths (Lobster Grille)—fish, steak, chicken breakfasts—all good. Beach bar and grill where in addition to burgers and salads, one could get daily lunch special, e.g., chili for $7. Room had fridge, microwave, small coffeemaker, dishes.

Condominium—Bolongo manages at least one neighbor’s 2 BR condo, allowing guests use of beach, etc.

Security and Safety—Main road behind us, screened by greenery, but we couldn’t hear over waves! Many inobtrusive security cameras. Although one signs a release, beach staff, and no doubt others, appeared vigilant in keeping guests safe from waves, sea urchins, rocks & currents, etc. One couple was there courtesy of the hotel. Apparently, late summer hurricane had interrupted electricity during their last stay. They were happy to report that the resort took good care of them and invited them back for this second (free) stay.

Staff –Family-owned. People hospitable and pleasant. Speaks well of staff and management, I think, that that one breakfast lady had been employed there for 42 years! When our plane home was briefly cancelled, front desk worked hard to find us a room and then offered late checkout when plane was reinstated.

Beach—Protected, sandy with some coarser stuff—next time this tender-footed paleskin will take watershoes and a rashguard shirt, though others seemed to have no need. Snorkels, kayaks, small catamaran, etc., available to guests, one of whom reported turtles and a stingray just offshore. Pelicans, iguanas on the beach. The day we left, new friends reported baby turtles hatching on the beach—a first for the resort! For a price, major boat trips available from resort dock to swim with turtles, snorkel, sail, parasail etc. On a couple days, other boats brought people to dine at beach bar “Iggies”. One wedding on the beach—very charming.

Tour—Likewise, land tours available from the resort. We took day tour to St. John Island ($120)—ferry, vista views, tour of sugar plantation ruin, much info on local herbs, etc., snorkeling at Trunk Bay accessible even to newbies, bit of shopping. One of those places that’s every bit as beautiful as its postcards. Whale spotted off ferry a couple days later. Our guide was a local reggae musician, with gentle humor and great accent. If we’d been there longer, we would have taken tour to British Virgin Islands ($190). We think we encountered sand fleas on this day trip, so consider insect repellent for lower legs.

We definitely would stay at Bolongo Bay again.

Room Tip: I think all face ocean. I liked 2nd floor in the middle. Restaurant and rental equipment on one end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

OK, been here 5 times. Love it. Great for New Years!!! Great SCUBA, five shop on site. Not a place if you want to get very dolled up for dinners. Yes, most dress for dinner but you don't have to & it is not a hoitie toitie place of that is what you like. Rooms pretty basic bit you are Never in your room! Two restaurants, one beach pub one restaurant type with outdoor seating & views everywhere you go. BEST part is location. Even when ocean is rough... The protected bay provides ideal clear water for snorkeling & swiming etc. Even when whole island gets restricted to go in ocean die to rough waves - the patrons at Bolongo Bay ate allowed to go in!!! Water always clear in bay Cuz the water is protected in the bay. Great place for tweens to do waste sports in area where waves are mellow, where you can watch them, where you can say, don't go out of the protected bay. My brother has condo on other side of island. We have friends who stay at fancy resort but they come over to Bolongo Bay to use beach & snorkle! Why stay anywhere else unless you are spoiled! I love being 20 steps from my room. Easy with kids & lots of junk/toys/bathroom breaks/ lunch breaks etc. Kitchenette in room to make easy breakfasts/ kids lunches etc. Now we always pick the all inclusive food deal but we used to go & cook our own breakfasts & lunches. Now we trust all inclusive- no need to leave BB to eat anywhere else- good food & kids love the beach pub burgers/ mozz. sticks etc BBay will always be out choice for St Thomas!!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TravelClick, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.