We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our Trip to Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We traveled to Bolongo Bay from New Mexico. We came for the Paradise Jam basketball tournament. We arrived late on Wednesday Night and were greeted by the front desk clerk who checked us in and showed us to our beachfront room. We went in on the street side and we opened the door and were presently surprised by the nice quaint room. We opened the backdoor and were greeted by a wonderful sight, beach front truly is beachfront. we were literally 10 steps from the beach. Over the 5 days, we ate at Iggies, and Lobster Grille, we used all the water toys, we drank from the bar, we took in every part of the resort and couldn't be happier with our choice. The Staff is very friendly and attentive. We had no issues at all, but i know if we did they would have taken care of us. This was our first trip to St Thomas, but it wont be our last. The next time we come to the USVI, we will stay at Bolongo Bay. there is no doubt in my mind.

Room Tip: Book a beach front room. you wont be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    275
    119
    60
    46
See reviews for
194
417
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent an amazing week at Bolongo and would definitely go back the first chance we get! Being city folk, we had to wind down and embrace "Island Time" - service isn't necessarily as speedy as we're used to, but your kindness and appreciation is always returned by the staff. This small, family-owned property is no mega-commercial hotel, but what it lacks in amenities like modern bathrooms or fancy tv's everywhere it makes up for in genuine care, personalized service, and heart.

We had so many good experiences with staff that it's hard to pick our favorites - but Josh and Rachel at Iggie's are awesome, Mike and Chris at Lobster Grill are too, Steve is a great bartender (we were bummed that 007 was on vacation!), Selema at the front desk is a sweetheart, etc.

We're not huge drinkers, so we thought the all inclusive package was a little expensive, but it was well worth it. Food on the island - anywhere - is EXPENSIVE! (Milk in a grocery store is $8/gallon. Most food is brought to the island via cargo ship...to give you some perspective).

We came to Bolongo to get married and I could more than triple my character limit with rave reviews about Lorie and her staff. She was attentive to detail, took on all the stress of the wedding with such stride (I was NOT stressed at all!), and truly cared about our happiness as a couple on our special day. Her staff was amazing as well!

The bands at Iggie's rocked, the food at Lobster Grill was pretty good, but I'd take Iggie's crabs over anything else any day of the week, GET A MASSAGE FROM HEIDI, Go to St. John and do an island tour - well worth it, make friends and have a good time...and don't forget to douse yourself in OFF early in the morning and around dusk!

Room Tip: We opted for an ocean view over beach front and got a private balcony with a gorgeous view and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I just got back from a 4 night 5 day stay at Bolongo Bay. It was wonderful! We had booked transportation with Tropic Tours from the airport to the hotel and they were great. We were greeted with rum punches as soon as we got to the front desk. The staff was so warm and helpful. They took our bags to our room with a smile and asked if everything was ok. The room was neat and clean. The air conditioner worked fine and the view from our beach front room was amazing! As we were settling in, I turned to my boyfriend to ask him a question and found him on his knee proposing! He totally took me by surprise!.....and my ring is BEAUTIFUL!

The food at both Iggies and The Lobster Grille was fabulous. The waitstaff (especially Albert at the Lobster Grille) was friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend doing the all-inclusive because the food, all over the island, is very expensive.

The Beach is beautiful, though there are some rocks so do bring water shoes. The non-motorized water equipment is great and we loved using the floties and just floating around the bay. We did rent a seadoo and, with a guide, took a tour around part of the island.

Our first excursion was the ferry ride from Red Hook to St. John. There we took a tour of the Island and the beaches were gorgeous! The next day we went to Charlotte Amalie to do some shopping. Lots to see there also. The only thing we didn't do was the Heavenly Days catamaran sunset cruise. It was set to go out on Friday and we were leaving on Thursday. The weather for the entire trip was sunny, some clouds here and there, and in the 80's. PERFECT!

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't it. If you want a true Caribbean Island Resort feel, along with a laid back attitude, then this is the place for you! My only negative was the no-see-ums. Little tiny bugs that bite at night. This was no fault of the hotels, but do bring some Off bug spray, it helps.

Because of the fabulous staff and the beautiful Bolongo Bay secluded Beach resort, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 144 on the beach is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

First the checking was ok. I was singing my life away with so much paperwork. The room was a walk up third floor with a queen size bed which is not comfortable, an old school tv and a pull out bed. They didn't have any 2 beds. The beach is nice and the staff are great. The bartender Alex is good with mixing drinks. Good happy ur from 3 to 6. Warning it's far from the airport and town. Do if you want a secluded spot this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and really wish we could have had more. We had a room just off the beach and really enjoyed it. If you are looking for a modern resort with first class amenities this is not the place. However if you are looking for a clean comfortable room with great family type service this is the place for you. The staff was so kind and accommodating and we especially loved the fact that you are practically in your own private bay with all the toys you would like to have. We snorkeled, swam, kayaked, and used the windsurfer to our hearts content.

Room Tip: I think the best buy here is the beach side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

FIrst, I will say that ALL of the people that work at this resort are very friendly and kind. We stayed here for a week to be in a destination wedding and the staff was great. We also went out on the catamaran's sunset sail and the trip was beautiful. The crew and captain were friendly and helpful, kept pouring drinks for the drinkers, and were happy to be social while they worked.

Here are the challenges we encountered which aren't too bad, but you'd want to be prepared just in case.

1. We traveled with a 3 year old, so the resort assumed that my husband and I (both close to 6 ft tall and I'm pregnant) would prefer to sleep in a twin bed than a Queen or larger and put a huge day bed in the room. THere were no options for kids like a simple roll away. The resort is steps from the beach and was beautiful, but the hotel room was like a Motel 6, so bring anything you need. We were uncomfortable sleeping the WHOLE TIME. Also, some of our friends that were there were in a room with a broken air conditioner and in 88 degre weather, it was pretty miserable for them. We were on the 3rd floor, which was nice and quiet, but it's all stairs, so be prepared for the workout.

The food was all a little salty at both of the restort locations and it costs about $9 per person each way to get anywhere else on the island by taxi. So consider the location if you want to do more than just stay at the resort and snorkle. Keep in mind also, the beach here is a little rocky, so take some water shoes if you are really going to spend a lot of time in the water or your feet will get torn up.

Also, EVERYWHERE on the island, sunscreen is about $20, so make sure you take your own. Along with bug spray.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to the Bolongo Bay beach resort last minute for our 25th anniversary . Very nice place and I see why people keep going back. To be honest I was taken back when we had dropped a few other people off at other resorts and then pulled in to ours(backside view). But within 15 minutes of our checking in we knew we were going to be happy . Food was real good and to be honest some of the people we dropped off at the other hotels came here to eat because they heard the food at Iggies and The Lobster Grille was much better than their hotels food. The cruise they offer are great saw many turtles and the sunset cruise was great. i have traveled to a few carribean islands and do alot of snorkling . I do have to say right off the beach out to the rocks on the left may be some of the best fish i have seen . Saw turtles , spotted rays and so many fish. We were in the middle 2 times of fish which we could not count and the colors were amazing. The staff were more then helpful and did not have any problems with any of them. We met some very nice people and all of them say they would definitly go back. As someone with some customer service background I find the staff very helpful, they may not be as fast paced as we are in the states but they are there . With that said sometimes the vibe you give off is the service you may get . Beach is nice and yes there is a few small rocks but nothing to complain about. As for the warning for the spiny urchins ,it is to let you know they may roll in but we did see any. The staff at both bars (Rachel)(Alex)are there to serve you and will make you whatever you may desire(lime in da cocunut). We will definatly return . As for other trips to do while here, ST Johns is nice , shop downtown . Take a cab ride or van ride around the island. We heard the trip to the British island s is nice also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
3.0 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.6 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
2.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.