We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got Engaged In Bolongo Bay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Warwick, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Got Engaged In Bolongo Bay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My fiance and I just got back from a 4 night 5 day stay at Bolongo Bay. It was wonderful! We had booked transportation with Tropic Tours from the airport to the hotel and they were great. We were greeted with rum punches as soon as we got to the front desk. The staff was so warm and helpful. They took our bags to our room with a smile and asked if everything was ok. The room was neat and clean. The air conditioner worked fine and the view from our beach front room was amazing! As we were settling in, I turned to my boyfriend to ask him a question and found him on his knee proposing! He totally took me by surprise!.....and my ring is BEAUTIFUL!

The food at both Iggies and The Lobster Grille was fabulous. The waitstaff (especially Albert at the Lobster Grille) was friendly and attentive. I would definitely recommend doing the all-inclusive because the food, all over the island, is very expensive.

The Beach is beautiful, though there are some rocks so do bring water shoes. The non-motorized water equipment is great and we loved using the floties and just floating around the bay. We did rent a seadoo and, with a guide, took a tour around part of the island.

Our first excursion was the ferry ride from Red Hook to St. John. There we took a tour of the Island and the beaches were gorgeous! The next day we went to Charlotte Amalie to do some shopping. Lots to see there also. The only thing we didn't do was the Heavenly Days catamaran sunset cruise. It was set to go out on Friday and we were leaving on Thursday. The weather for the entire trip was sunny, some clouds here and there, and in the 80's. PERFECT!

If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't it. If you want a true Caribbean Island Resort feel, along with a laid back attitude, then this is the place for you! My only negative was the no-see-ums. Little tiny bugs that bite at night. This was no fault of the hotels, but do bring some Off bug spray, it helps.

Because of the fabulous staff and the beautiful Bolongo Bay secluded Beach resort, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 144 on the beach is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    247
    105
    56
    45
See reviews for
162
361
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

First the checking was ok. I was singing my life away with so much paperwork. The room was a walk up third floor with a queen size bed which is not comfortable, an old school tv and a pull out bed. They didn't have any 2 beds. The beach is nice and the staff are great. The bartender Alex is good with mixing drinks. Good happy ur from 3 to 6. Warning it's far from the airport and town. Do if you want a secluded spot this is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and really wish we could have had more. We had a room just off the beach and really enjoyed it. If you are looking for a modern resort with first class amenities this is not the place. However if you are looking for a clean comfortable room with great family type service this is the place for you. The staff was so kind and accommodating and we especially loved the fact that you are practically in your own private bay with all the toys you would like to have. We snorkeled, swam, kayaked, and used the windsurfer to our hearts content.

Room Tip: I think the best buy here is the beach side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

FIrst, I will say that ALL of the people that work at this resort are very friendly and kind. We stayed here for a week to be in a destination wedding and the staff was great. We also went out on the catamaran's sunset sail and the trip was beautiful. The crew and captain were friendly and helpful, kept pouring drinks for the drinkers, and were happy to be social while they worked.

Here are the challenges we encountered which aren't too bad, but you'd want to be prepared just in case.

1. We traveled with a 3 year old, so the resort assumed that my husband and I (both close to 6 ft tall and I'm pregnant) would prefer to sleep in a twin bed than a Queen or larger and put a huge day bed in the room. THere were no options for kids like a simple roll away. The resort is steps from the beach and was beautiful, but the hotel room was like a Motel 6, so bring anything you need. We were uncomfortable sleeping the WHOLE TIME. Also, some of our friends that were there were in a room with a broken air conditioner and in 88 degre weather, it was pretty miserable for them. We were on the 3rd floor, which was nice and quiet, but it's all stairs, so be prepared for the workout.

The food was all a little salty at both of the restort locations and it costs about $9 per person each way to get anywhere else on the island by taxi. So consider the location if you want to do more than just stay at the resort and snorkle. Keep in mind also, the beach here is a little rocky, so take some water shoes if you are really going to spend a lot of time in the water or your feet will get torn up.

Also, EVERYWHERE on the island, sunscreen is about $20, so make sure you take your own. Along with bug spray.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Ma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I decided to go to the Bolongo Bay beach resort last minute for our 25th anniversary . Very nice place and I see why people keep going back. To be honest I was taken back when we had dropped a few other people off at other resorts and then pulled in to ours(backside view). But within 15 minutes of our checking in we knew we were going to be happy . Food was real good and to be honest some of the people we dropped off at the other hotels came here to eat because they heard the food at Iggies and The Lobster Grille was much better than their hotels food. The cruise they offer are great saw many turtles and the sunset cruise was great. i have traveled to a few carribean islands and do alot of snorkling . I do have to say right off the beach out to the rocks on the left may be some of the best fish i have seen . Saw turtles , spotted rays and so many fish. We were in the middle 2 times of fish which we could not count and the colors were amazing. The staff were more then helpful and did not have any problems with any of them. We met some very nice people and all of them say they would definitly go back. As someone with some customer service background I find the staff very helpful, they may not be as fast paced as we are in the states but they are there . With that said sometimes the vibe you give off is the service you may get . Beach is nice and yes there is a few small rocks but nothing to complain about. As for the warning for the spiny urchins ,it is to let you know they may roll in but we did see any. The staff at both bars (Rachel)(Alex)are there to serve you and will make you whatever you may desire(lime in da cocunut). We will definatly return . As for other trips to do while here, ST Johns is nice , shop downtown . Take a cab ride or van ride around the island. We heard the trip to the British island s is nice also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We just got back, from our week long stay. We had a BLAST! This resort was simply amazing & a little piece of heaven. I would recommend going in the off season anywhere from may-oct. It was so quiet and not crowded at all. We even were upgraded to a beach view room which needless to say was gorgeous! The room is pretty outdated and the shower is beyond tiny!! You can barely move, but the view made it all worth it! We didnt have the all inclusive plan, but we were sorry we didnt. We spent a fortune on drinks & food & a couple we met did have the all inclusive & said it was so worth it. It isnt the typical buffet all inclusive - you have your choice of anything from 2 very delicious restaurants. Try the hot buttered rum pancakes at Lobster Grill. Do yourself a favor & get a banana daquiri from STEVE at the pool bar!! He is AWESOME! His drinks are beyond delectable and he is sooo friendly & funny. He told us a bunch of tips on things to see and do. Joanne in the cute little gift shop was also wonderful with a ton of information! They were both so very lovely. The resort also lets you use all non motorized water sports free of charge which was a plus. We snorkeled a few days and got to swim with beautiful sea turtles and even saw a sting ray. Please note that the resort sits on the Caribbean Sea side, not that atlantic ocean. It was pleasant, however getting into the water you have to walk across a ton of rocks, so bring water shoes or just bare through it! Take part in the booze hunt it was very fun! Cabs get a bit pricey going back and forth, but renting a car is a challenge considering they drive on the opposite side of the road. Also they will try to push " tropic tours" on you -- I do NOT recommend! We drove around in the sweltering heat stopping to see plants for at least 2 hours and we were promised Trunk Bay, but didnt get to go. Instead we were taken to salt pond beach, not worth the $110 per person at all! Take a ferry over to St. John and explore yourself! I would however recommend taking the snorkeling tour through the dive shop right next to Bolongo. Only $55/person and they take you to a shipwreck, buck island, and a turtle tour. Oh and Coral world park is not worth it! Very small, not much to see and pricey with entrance cost and taxis to & from. All in all the vacation was great, very low key & we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent a week at Bolongo for my mothers wedding. The rooms were nice but not over-the-top. The Lobster Grille had great food, especially breakfast, but the service left room for improvement. The beach is a little short and right by the hotel it usually gathers seaweed but down by Iggie's bar the beach is nice. walking the beach is especially nice at night, with good lighting and secluded spots, hammocks, etc. If you are looking for something high end, go for fisherman's reef. If you are looking for a laid back, relaxed, more authentic experience this is where you want to go.

Room Tip: Second floor will always have a better view from your balcony, first floor has easier access. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.