We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING! ! WILL RETURN!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bolongo Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off Room Rates
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“AMAZING! ! WILL RETURN!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We just got back, from our week long stay. We had a BLAST! This resort was simply amazing & a little piece of heaven. I would recommend going in the off season anywhere from may-oct. It was so quiet and not crowded at all. We even were upgraded to a beach view room which needless to say was gorgeous! The room is pretty outdated and the shower is beyond tiny!! You can barely move, but the view made it all worth it! We didnt have the all inclusive plan, but we were sorry we didnt. We spent a fortune on drinks & food & a couple we met did have the all inclusive & said it was so worth it. It isnt the typical buffet all inclusive - you have your choice of anything from 2 very delicious restaurants. Try the hot buttered rum pancakes at Lobster Grill. Do yourself a favor & get a banana daquiri from STEVE at the pool bar!! He is AWESOME! His drinks are beyond delectable and he is sooo friendly & funny. He told us a bunch of tips on things to see and do. Joanne in the cute little gift shop was also wonderful with a ton of information! They were both so very lovely. The resort also lets you use all non motorized water sports free of charge which was a plus. We snorkeled a few days and got to swim with beautiful sea turtles and even saw a sting ray. Please note that the resort sits on the Caribbean Sea side, not that atlantic ocean. It was pleasant, however getting into the water you have to walk across a ton of rocks, so bring water shoes or just bare through it! Take part in the booze hunt it was very fun! Cabs get a bit pricey going back and forth, but renting a car is a challenge considering they drive on the opposite side of the road. Also they will try to push " tropic tours" on you -- I do NOT recommend! We drove around in the sweltering heat stopping to see plants for at least 2 hours and we were promised Trunk Bay, but didnt get to go. Instead we were taken to salt pond beach, not worth the $110 per person at all! Take a ferry over to St. John and explore yourself! I would however recommend taking the snorkeling tour through the dive shop right next to Bolongo. Only $55/person and they take you to a shipwreck, buck island, and a turtle tour. Oh and Coral world park is not worth it! Very small, not much to see and pricey with entrance cost and taxis to & from. All in all the vacation was great, very low key & we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    238
    100
    56
    42
See reviews for
158
343
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent a week at Bolongo for my mothers wedding. The rooms were nice but not over-the-top. The Lobster Grille had great food, especially breakfast, but the service left room for improvement. The beach is a little short and right by the hotel it usually gathers seaweed but down by Iggie's bar the beach is nice. walking the beach is especially nice at night, with good lighting and secluded spots, hammocks, etc. If you are looking for something high end, go for fisherman's reef. If you are looking for a laid back, relaxed, more authentic experience this is where you want to go.

Room Tip: Second floor will always have a better view from your balcony, first floor has easier access. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campton, nh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The upside of Bolongo Beach was that the staff was excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and people went out of their way for us. The downside was that the beach was kind of unusable. There was a swath of seaweed and seagrass about 3 feet wide along the beach and another 5-7 feet in the water. I would have considered wading through it if the swimming was nice but there were also signs up warning about spiny urchins. We couldn't use the free boats and water things the 2 days we were there because of windy conditions. I will say that they had a tractor working to pick up the seaweed but even with that, the beach isn't very wide and leaves very little room to play. Our 3 year-old got bored of the beach pretty quickly and was happier in the pool.

The room was nice and there was a fridge, microwave and dishes and coffee maker, which was helpful. The a/c was super loud and rattly. I propped a chair against it and that helped with some with the rattle but as other people have said, you'll want to turn the a/c off if you're sitting out on the balcony.

The food at the Lobster Grill and Iggies was just fine and the service was super slow. Our first day there we'd arrived from the ferry and were starving and it took 15 minutes for the waitress at Iggies to even acknowledge that we were standing and waiting--there was no hostess. We found the service at the Lobster Grill to be slightly better but again had to wait for the bill and for our son's grilled cheese at dinner.

The facilities were actually pretty nice and at night the place looked beautiful all lit up with string lights. There's a volleyball net, basketball court, tennis courts (though the nets were down) and ring game. I think if the conditions had been right we would have enjoyed it a lot more but as it was we prefer other places we've been in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I can't begin to say enough about our trip to Bolongo Bay. The staff treated us like family and it took no time at all for many to learn our names. The food was incredible. The rooms were both pretty and clean. Our view from our 2nd floor room was amazing .The beach was beautiful, but bring swim shoes of some sort as there are a few rocks. Both Kevin in Lobster Grill and Sam at the bar were fantastic. The food at the Lobster Grill was better than some 5 star restaurants I have eaten in. If you are looking for a true Carribean experience, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for a week in early September. 7 days wasn't enough time!
With it's laid back, casual atmosphere, the resort is a home away from home. We stayed on the third floor this year. The view of the bay and Buck Island is worth the hike up the stairs. Despite the Lobster Grille being closed during renovations, the staff handled it all in stride and made a delicious breakfast (though the view wasn't quite the same). The staff at Iggie's can't be beat. Ask Josh to make you one of his drinks that's not on the menu. The Carnival show was fantastic! The Unity Reggae Band had me dancing in my seat. The crew on Heavenly Days is knowledgeable about the area and it's history as well as the native sea life.

Absolutely cannot wait to go back next year!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited the week of Oct 7, 2012. The staff of Bolongo goes above & beyond to make your vacation as wonderful as possible. Alex & 007 keep drinks fresh. Yoshi, Nick & Daniel work hard to keep thd beach clean & water toys ready. Make sure to check out their daily weather board! Ms Viola & the restaurant staff are wonderful. Planning a wedding? Be sure to talk with Lori to make the day over-the-top wonderful. Captain Peter, Kyle & Lindsay are amazing as they take you for a sail on Heavenly Daze. I hope to be able to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Bolongo Bay and it was great. The people were so nice and lots of activities. We sailed on the "Heavenly Days" catamaran, which was great - the captain and crew were so friendly as was all of the staff we encountered. No, the room is not fancy but if you want to be close to the beach, this is the place to be. As others have said, you are literally "steps" from the beach and the beautiful ocean. Iggies is a very fun place and the Lobster Grill is more upscale, with very good food. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 144 - 148 - very close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.