We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous to charge $21 pp” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Point Tramway

Paradise Point Tramway
9617 Estate Thomas | Tramway Building, 00802, St. Thomas
340-774-9809
Improve this listing
Type: Trams, Other
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and see the spectacular views at Paradise Point! Located accross from the Havensight cruise ship dock. A short tram ride from our base station to 700 feet above sea level!! This is the only place where you can "RIDE THE VIEW"!!! Don't forget the Camera, every day is a picture perfect day at Paradise Point. Kick back, relax and grab our signature drink, the Bailey’s Bushwhacker at the open-air bar! Come enjoy a lite bite and our other frozen drink specialties!Now open daily from 9am to 7pm. Adults - $21, children (ages 6-12) - $10.50, ages 5 and under - free!
Garden City Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outrageous to charge $21 pp”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Yes, the view is pretty but you pay $21 per person to be crammed 8 or 9 people into a non-airconditioned car. You go see the view and then get crammed back into the hot tram to come back down. There were five of us x $21 plus four from another family in the tram. (You do the math!) I don't know how much a taxi would have been or if it would have even been worth it to do that for a few minutes of looking at a view, but I definitely feel as though we got gouged big time at a tourist trap by taking the tram.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    67
    57
    15
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Nice ride, great views - Fun bird show at top”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our third time to St. Thomas, and I had wanted to ride this tram. It is a couple dollars cheaper if you book it through the shore excursions desk on your cruise ship - I never would have guessed that!
The people were very friendly, and the ride is fun. We timed it so we could watch the bird show at the top. A lady has about 8 or 9 birds: cockatoos, parrots, etc that talk, play basketball, roller skate, and ride a bike! Very entertaining!!
- You can't beat the views! I just love St. Thomas! I felt like it was worth the price.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful views from the top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband and I took the tram and loved the views from the top! It is a little pricey, but since we were staying at the Marriot Frenchman's Reef, we got 1/2 off! Also, we bought the Virgin Island Saver http://virginislandsaver.com/ and got free Bushwackers at the top! (The Virgin Island Saver was definitely worth $30 for us!) Definitely a tourist attraction, but we were tourists!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't let the price deter you...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

You're going to spend much more on goofy tourist souvenirs and booze, and they won't bring you anywhere near the level of enjoyment that this view of the island will. The attraction appears well maintained, clean facilities, friendly staff all around, and the bartender wasn't afraid of the rum! Check it out next time you're in town, you will have to try not to like it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, GA
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Birds eye view of a beautiful island bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Rode the skyline tram to the top and had the best banana daiquiri I have ever tasted! Book through the cruise ship....it's cheaper that way.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Point Tramway also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Paradise Point Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Point Tramway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.