We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to Eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Fish Market

Caribbean Fish Market
6800 Estate Nazareth | At the Elysian Resort, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-7874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in East End
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Terrific food and great service. Ask for "Mr. Big Life" as your server and get a table on the beachfront. Enjoy!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    106
    34
    27
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“"They got you covered!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited this restaurant after we were told there were no available tables for Saturday dinner at Ritz Carlton where we were guests. We read the positive reviews on TripAdvisor and thought we would give it a try. I just wish we did it sooner in our stay as this was our last night on the island.

Just a short walk from the Ritz, this place is small, beach casual with outdoor seating. While you can't really see the beach at night, you know it is close by the sounds of the surf and the evening breezes. Outdoor space is covered and while they also have indoor seating, ask to sit outside and get the full experience.(just make sure to ask to sit on the water side of patio as the bar does get noisy at times.

The service is casual, very knowledgeable and attentive and our server was "the Mr. Big Life" who has two favorite expressions.."I got you covered and "life is good". He could have also said the food was good and dare say even great! We all had no problem finding choices and every appetizer, entree and desert served to our party of five was plated beautifully, tasted amazing and was just the right portion size. Mr. Big Life knew his food, wine and sauce parings and even the right words to say when the kitchen was backed up and delayed our entrees for almost 45 minutes. But with great company, appetizers, wine and warm sea breezes, we almost didn't notice. Mr. Big Life was apologetic and also gave us complimentary beverages with our desert. My favorite was the sweet potato cheesecake...wow!

While we are likely not to stay again at the Ritz Carlton, if we go back to St. Thomas, Caribbean Fish Market will be the place we will go for dinner on the first, and even the second.night!

Well done Mr.Big Life and Caribbean Fish Market!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gages Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Heaven in a spoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

What drew me here was the She Crab Bisque. What I got was heaven!!! On top of that to die for soup, the Caribbean Chicken Roulade... Incredible!!!! This was by far, in my 10 days here, the best meal! Thank you!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best 'Painkiller' And 'Chocolate Martini' On St Thomas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you want to enjoy the best 'Painkiller' and 'Chocolate Martini', just to name a few of many delicious drinks on the menu, you have to visit 'The Caribbean Fish Market' at the Elysian Resort on the Eastern side of the island, it's right next to the Ritz Carlton. The setting is exquisite right on a beautiful uncrowded Caribbean beach and you'll enjoy a wonderful and light ocean breeze, while being attended to by mixologist Kerry Childers' unsurpassed island 'Painkiller', a mixture of Caribbean Pusser's Rum, pineapple juice, orange juice and coconut cream. Or maybe you'll want to try his 'Chocolate Martini' that he stirs up and serves to you as was it a piece of art. His drinks are masterfully brilliant, the best drinks my husband & I have ever had on our many travels around the world and a MUST-TRY on St Thomas!!......
And then you continue on from the bar and have dinner at the restaurant and the food is in a world class of it's on!.................

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We tried Sunday Brunch and then dinner at the Fish Market. Both experiences were excellent. And all our meals were much better than at the overpriced Havana Blue at the Marriott.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Fish Market also viewed

East End, St. Thomas
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Water Island, St. Thomas
 

Been to Caribbean Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.