We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caribbean Fish Market

Caribbean Fish Market
6800 Estate Nazareth | At the Elysian Resort, St. Thomas
340.714.7874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 restaurants in East End
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Kansas City area
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

On our last night in St Thomas we wanted a special dinner, just the two of us. We were staying at the Ritz-Carlton and someone told about this restaurant that was next door. Are we glad they did. The food was amazing and the service by Tim was impeccable. We had a lettuce wrap appetizer, and Chris also brought another one, compliments of the chef. Both were wonderful. Then came our main dishes, Snapper stuffed with crab and Wahoo lightly grilled. Both were amazing. We finished the meal off with chocolate hazelnut bread pudding that was to die for, then had a cup of coffee while enjoying the evening breeze and the sound of the surf. Great food, great service and a night to remember.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    330
    84
    25
    25
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dining on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Food was excellent, as close to 5 star as you would like. Setting is on the beach at the Elysian Beach Resort. Staff is excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise for a Local!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I had a delicious meal at the Caribbean Fish Market last weekend completely by accident. I live on the neighboring island of St. John, and was visiting a friend on St. Thomas for a beach day. He lives next door to the Elysian and suggested we go to the Caribbean Fish Market for dinner. Having absolutely no expectations, I was immediately impressed upon perusing the menu. There appeared to have been real creativity in putting together the collection of dishes. I've dined at most of the restaurants on St. Thomas and St. John and find many of them have different varieties on the same theme. The food did not disappoint. Everything was delicious! So much flavor, and yes, creativity. We sat at the bar and the service was great- Alexander was a very enjoyable and helpful bartender. I chatted with him and a couple other staff members- everyone seems to be enthusiastic about their job and the food. Having worked in the service industry in the VI-- I presume this means that management treats their employees well-- always a good sign. I even had such a good time that I managed to forget my credit card. They kept it for me until I returned a few days later and everyone was very polite about retrieving it for me. I wholeheartedly recommend the Caribbean Fish Market for an excellent meal on St. Thomas.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallory M, General Manager at Caribbean Fish Market, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Greetings to our neighboring St. Johnian!

My name is Mallory McGowan, and I'm the General Manager at Caribbean Fish Market. Thank you for the kind words about the service and the food. It's definitely hard to compete with all of the amazing food on these two islands, and the fact that we're high up in your rankings makes a new restaurant feel GREAT. Thank you for the feedback, again, and we hope to see you and your friends again soon!

Warm Regards,
Mallory McGowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location; great ambience; delicious and fresh cuisine; excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

While staying in St. John we wanted to find a nice seafood restaurant on St. Thomas with a convenient and nice location. The restaurant was easy to reach - about a 5 minute, $10 taxi ride from the ferry. With appetizers and main dishes, after tip, the total was about $90. We sat outside since it was a nice evening and the outside tables are right on the Elysian resort beach. The inside restaurant had an upscale wine bar/restaurant look and feel. Nice but not too stuffy. The food was absolutely delicious and the menu has nice variety. HIghly recommend this restaurant for anyone staying in St. Thomas or St. John.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Had a great dining experience there recently. Excellent service from our waiter Mr. Big Life. He was attentive and knowledgeable about everything on the menu. Food was fabulous, ate outside on the patio. Recommend this place for a special evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caribbean Fish Market also viewed

East End, St. Thomas
 
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
Water Island, St. Thomas
 

Been to Caribbean Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribbean Fish Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.