We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BVI in a day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Horizons & Breakaway Charters

New Horizons & Breakaway Charters
Sapphire Beach Resort & Marina, 00802, St. Thomas
3407751171
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 17 Activities in East End
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore The Baths of Virgin Gorda, snorkel at Diamond Reef, eat lunch at "Pusser's Restaurant" Marina Cay, and relax at Jost Van Dyke. This trip is not to be missed! It is a great way to see 4 different locations in the BVI. Also, don't forget that proof of citizenship (passport) is required, and of course there is a premium open bar offered, stocked with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
New Port Richey, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BVI in a day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were on the Horizon II with crew Jim and John. It was a great trip. The Baths on Virgin Gorda are awesome. The Diamond Cay snorkel stop was some a great snorkel experience. And the Soggy Dollar is one of those places you have to go. Everyone knows the Soggy Dollar. John was great, always around with drinks and snacks. He was in the water as life guard and instructor an Diamond Cay. And always busy making it a great trip. It is a great trip to see so many BVI islands in a day, but a bit rushed because you are packing in so much in a day. I would definitely do it again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    58
    10
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Black Hawk, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breakaway Charters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to the British Virgin Islands with Captain John and Crew John. The baths were great - beautiful. The picture John took of us there had a lot of great comments on facebook. The coral reef snorkeling at Diamond Reef was pretty, John took care of a little girl touring her around in the water, while her parents snorkeled. What a great guy. We enjoyed the Soggy Dollar Bar at Jost Van Dyke and didn't expect the "Ritz". The beach there was nice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I'd avoid New Horizons & Breakaway Charters”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Took the group day trip to the British Virgin Islands with New Horizons & Breakaway Charters. Captain Jim and Crew Rachel were our guides. The trip was broken into 4 parts: (i) ride from USVI to Virgin Gorda to see the Rocks, (ii) lunch at Pusser in Marina Cay, (iii) snorkeling at Diamond Reef, and (iv) beach stop at Jost van Dyke.

The best part was (i) as the ride was nice. However, the actual time at the Rocks was very rushed which really limited experiencing the natural beauty of the place. I'd instead recommend to others that they find an operator that would skip the latter parts of the drip and spend more time at the Rocks.

(ii) Pussers was terrible. The food was pretty bad and the place was infested w/ stray cats and mosquito. As for Marina Cay being another BVI Island on the tour -- forget about it, there isnt anything to really do or see there.

(iii) Snorkeling was good at Diamond Reef. But I was surprised by Captain Jim and Crew Rachel's limited assistance to a guest that got stung by a coral reef. Admittedly it was her own fault, but they did nothing to help her, were relieved that she wasnt complaining, and later make a quick joke btw themselves re: her that a couple of us other passengers overheard. Very rude and unprofessional.

(iv) Jost van Dyke is a dump and the facilities there are rather gross. I suppose that people got the the Caribbean to get their "Margaritaville" on. But I honestly dont think it was worth it and wouldnt recommend if for families w/ kids.

The kitchen onboard where the drinks and snacks were prepared also served as a bathroom, so my group avoided partaking -- just seemed a little gross but that is what you get on a small boat.

Lastly, Captain Jim quite frequently asked for tips throughout the entire excursion. While I understand that is how the crew gets some upside, his repeated references were a bit excessive and thoughtless given the lack of actual service.

Like I said, I'd avoid this tour and instead opt for one that spends more time at the BVI Rocks and has a crew that actually cares. The other partsof the trip (ii and iv) are over-marketed and dont deliver

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great time today on New Horizons II with Justin, Melana, and Michelle. Fun crew great tour. The baths are beautiful. Ending the day at the Soggy Dollar was just right.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hbj-8, Guest Relations Manager at New Horizons & Breakaway Charters, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a pleasant review. Capt. Justin and his crew Melana and Michelle go above and beyond to make the trip a memorable experience. We hope that if you are in the area again you will keep us in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We did the full day. The boat docked and we took a taxi (Included in the price) to the Baths. Didn't have to worry about my camera getting wet. The staff gave us a tour of the Baths.

The staff is very professional and easy to talk to. Muffins/bread/juice/pop in the morning. Shrimp in the afternoon. Reasonably priced and I didn't have to worry about paying a huge fuel bill at the end of our trip.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Horizons & Breakaway Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to New Horizons & Breakaway Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Horizons & Breakaway Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.