We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent snorkeling with friendly fishes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coki Beach

Coki Beach
St. Thomas
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in East End
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water
Activities: Scuba diving, Snorkeling, Swimming
Attraction Details
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling with friendly fishes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Coki Beach is beautiful with clear blue water and friendly fishes close to shore! On the side close to Coral World, there are many fishes that freely swim about which visitors can feed. The snorkeling on this beach is suitable for amateurs and children. Underwater camera recommended to capture your experience having fishes swimming all around you!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    318
    145
    73
    38
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Is that a Snorkel or you enjoying the beach?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great place to swim and snorkel. Have been there several times now and it is great. As far as safety it is about like anywhere in the island world. Enjoy yourself all day long and towards evening pack up and head out. There are no real problems and you have worry warts everywhere but don't let that spoil the fun of this beach!! It is great and everyone is there to have a good time. You may smell some Mary Jane floating around in the air from time to time but safety has never been an issue for my wife and I. Also I have watched cruise ship people come and go throughout the day & they leave with smiles on their face... from the great snorkeling! Plenty of fish to see, ells & have seen octopus too. Have fun!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was a beautiful beach with lots of amenities and water sports available for rent. Food and beverages available as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Family friendly beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went with our friends and kids, choosing this to be our main spot to hit during our day at port on our five day cruise. The beach was well sized for families, and was not too big. All of us had fun, and there's a lot of fishies in the water - to the extent that you actually may not need to snorkel to see them! Snorkeling is an option if you want to go further; I opted for that option, but decided it wasn't worth it since you only see a tad bit more.

There are wakeboard options available too - although it comes at a cost. However, the guides are quite friendly even if you don't use the wakeboards... makes the beach experience all the more fun.

There are washroom facilities available, as well as simple shower heads outside to wash sand off your body.

You can easily grab a van/taxi from the East Indies Port to the beach for about $10 USD/head two ways. Snorkeling goggles/fins can be rented for about $10 USD for the day (but better to have your own!), and it comes with fish food so you can attract the fishes to your attention. You will also need to rent beach chairs and umbrella...

Food service and beer are available for a reasonable price also (at least the beer was!)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing and can be dangerous”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The beach is located in a bad area. Lots of drug violence, etc. You have to be leery of people walking up to you acting like they work at the beach. Small reef with the same fish species seen at nicer beaches elsewhere. Turbidity was high the day we were there as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter J, Owner at Coki Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thanks for your review. On behalf of Coki Beach, I apologize for the experience you had. A lot of locals do work for companies along the beach, so many approach beach visitors to assist them with drinks or food. If you decide to visit again, a good tip is just to politely tell them you do not need anything. However, I am very sorry that you felt uncomfortable by some of the workers and others at Coki. Coki Beach has a poor reputation for being in a bad area; however, the beach and the area are improving every day. Thanks again for your review, it is very much appreciated. We hope that you do visit in the future, and I hope your experience is a happy one and that the turbidity is not as high next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coki Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Coki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coki Beach to your Saves list