We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sapphire Beach Resort Condo A302 - SO BEAUTIFUL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Waltham, Mass
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sapphire Beach Resort Condo A302 - SO BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We just returned from a week at Sapphire Beach Resort and stayed in
the newly renovated condo A302. The condo is clean and beautiful with
two floors and balconies off each floor. We ate dinner at Beautiful Bill’s recommended restaurants but decided that the best view is from the 2nd floor balcony of Condo A302 and we didn’t want to go any place else. If you want
to tour other islands, Red Hook is close by and Havensight is a conveniently nearby if you are a shopper.

Our idea of vacation is just to relax, sunbath, and swim.
I have been to other islands, but this is my first visit to St. Thomas.
I didn’t realize the beauty of this island. The beach has the paradise-like turquoise waters, white sands just a few steps away from your condo.
Everything you need is here including the reefs and snorkeling equipment
to rent. It is certainly a better deal in your own condo than an $500.+
a night hotel.

If you need to share expenses, two couples can easily share the full two floors
of Condo A302, with kitchen and two bathrooms.

The Security here is impressive and it is a gated condo community.
I felt safe even walking the beach at night.
It is a perfect place to relax and get some sun!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    190
    96
    66
    80
See reviews for
130
215
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I reaserched a great deal of properties on St. Thomas and St. John prior to selecting Sapphire-delmar. I read many of the reviews and was concerned by some of the ones about the Sapphire beach resort, however I was pleasantly surprised and absolutley pleased when we walked into our condo for the first time. The condo itself was very clean and had all of the ammenities that we would hope for. The location is wonderful. The beach is right outside of your door and Redhook which has the ferry shuttle's along with restaurants and shopping is literally right around the corner. The owners of Sapphire-delmar were a joy to work with. They answered every question that we had promptly and made the booking process a breeze. If you are looking for a wonderful getaway to St. Thomas this is the place for you. We hope to visit St. Thomas in the near future again and we will definitely be staying at Sapphire-delmar.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

During the Christmas holiday of 2010, we stayed at Sapphire Beach Condos, in E-202. After researching and seeing the negative reviews, we were quite concerned about renting here. HOWEVER, since we received a very fair rental rate from the condo owner Mark Miner, making our stay on the island affordable, we took the chance and rented here. WE WERE NOT disappointed. NEVER WOULD I CONSIDER THIS PLACE "SOMETHING out of a Pirates of the Caribbean Movie "as I read in someone else's review!
In E-202, we experienced beautiful granite-tile countertops, tiled floors, new-white-raised-panel cabinets, a convection microwave, built-in glass cooktop, full sized fridge, king bed with excellent linens and down topper, a blow up mattress with nice linens and duvet for the kids, glass top table and wicker furnishings. a fully stocked pantry complete with spices, dinnerwear, appliances, small appliances, tablewear, utensils, etc. The only thing we had to purchase was the food we needed to cook and drinks.
NEVER ONCE SAW ANY BUGS, MOSQUITOES or NOSEEUMS....THANK GOODNESS!

After being there and seeing for ourselves, we have to wonder if all the negative posts came from owners at other resorts properties trying to sway the general public to one of their exhorbitantly priced properties.

I am SO VERY THANKFUL we did not pay the exhorbitant rates quoted by numerous other hotels and condo/timeshare owners (The Ritz, Bolongo Beach, Frenchmans Cove, etc) and took our chances with Mark Miner, in E202 on Sapphire Beach Resort. It is truly his desire to allow travellers to experience the island of St Thomas and the beauty of the beach for a reasonable rate.

I suppose if you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, have restaurants within walking distance or on property, do not wish to cook your own meals (instead spend $100 PER MEAL for a family of 4), love crowded pools/beaches, desire swanky hotel corridors, extravagant lobby areas, or an all-inclusive type atmosphere then you would NOT wish to stay at Sapphire Beach.

However, IF YOU DO ENJOY CLEAN, DECENT, newer accomodations, GORGEOUS SUNRISES/SUNSETS, EXPANSE OCEAN VIEWS filled with various shades of clear blue waters teaming with sea life, gorgeous views of the other islands, great snorkeling, prefer your own cooking to that of someone else, quiet days/nights, quick access to the St John Ferry, a marina next door, within 5 minutes to several other beautiful beaches.... then SAPPHIRE BEACH RESORT is the place for you and your family.

Please note:
SAPPHIRE BEACH is OCEAN FRONT about 50-100 steps from the ocean. They are the red roof buildings.
Sapphire Village, are the the blue roofed buildings on the hill overlooking the ocean...NOT TRUE OCEAN FRONT and a short walk to the beach and pool.
SAPPHIRE CRYSTAL COVE is a different set of condos altogether--Blue and White in color. They do NOT have open balconies, but do have very nice grounds. They are nearer the beach rental shack than most buildings at Sapphire Beach Resort. Sapphire Crystal Cove units, however, sit much further back from the beach--unless you rent from someone in buildings A or D. They seem to be a bit more dated as well.
Check out the pictures on TA and look closely at the captions...else, email me and I'll send you pics of our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Sapphire Beach seems to be a place you will either love or hate. If you are looking for pampering, non-stop service, gourmet food and pool boys - you will be miserable at SB. There are no restaurants; there is no pool bar; you will have to grab your own beach chair and set it up; the front desk is often unmanned for long periods; the room quality is luck of the draw; the lobby has a giant hole on the ceiling; the parking lot is full of potholes; there are cats eveywhere. All that being said, we absolutely loved it, again. We go for the location and the solitude. SB is the best beach on the island (yeah, I said it)! Go in the off season and you get an uncrowded, unpretentious, quiet, beautiful beach with friendly, helpful people and cute cats. You get incredible sunrises and fantastic snorkeling. You get ridiculously easy access to fishing and day sailing trips. You get peaceful nights and the sound of waves in your sleep. You get an amazing vacation spot. SB, we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandwebb
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I stayed at this complex two weeks ago. I had the same experience as a previous reviewer. We rented for one night from Antilles Resorts and were given a lousy unit...ugly, smelled bad and no hot water. Once we complained, we were moved to unit B205. It was new, clean and really nicely decorated. I am not sure why the management company would not put someone in the better unit before sending them to a dungeon.
A word about Antilles Resort: At check in no one came to the front desk until the Budget Car Rental person called them and they were right there in the back. At check out the same thing. They charged my credit card twice for the same night and when I called to complain, Careem put me on hold and then went home for the night. I called the complex location, they put me on hold for Shirley, 5 minutes later, she never picked up . I am probably going to have to dispute the charge. I would not hand them my credit card ever again.
Bottom line: the beach is nice and some of the units are lovely. If the owners can get better management, this place could be great. Be careful which one you choose and rent from the owner.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

We were in St. Thomas 7/18/10 - 7/24/10. This was our first trip to the Virgin Islands and the Sapphire Beach Condos were the perfect home base. We stayed in unit E-304 and the condo and view were beautiful. Peter and his wife Beverly go to great lengths to make sure your feel welcome at their home away from home.

Condo
It was very nicely decorated and well maintained. It is a two story unit and is very spacious. The first floor features a nice, large bathroom and a small, yet smartly-designed, upscale kitchen. There is a living area with comfy seating and a large outdoor patio with plenty of places to lounge. The view of Sapphire Beach and St. John in the distance is breathtaking, especially the sunrises. The second floor of the condo features another large area that doubles as a second living area and bedroom. Again, there is another smaller patio/deck here with lounge chairs. The condo is tastefully decorated and really feels like home. I was able to peek into several other units in the building and none of them appeared to be as updated and nice as E-304.

Resort
The resort grounds are nice and well maintained. It is nice to know that access to the condos is controlled 24/7 at the guard booth. The parking area is a little tight and there are lots of potholes and it was sometimes hard to find a parking spot when we came back from dinner in the evening. The beach area is huge and beautiful. There are several places to hang out, sunbathe, and swim. There's a little place to grab a bite and a drink (Banana Cabana) and a place to check out snorkeling equipment and beach chairs. The grilled fish sandwich and painkillers were incredible. The pool was very nice and well maintained. Overall, the resort seemed to be almost fully occupied, but it never felt crowded or like we were running into people constantly. It's very easy to get away and find a quiet place to relax. Direct beach access and stunning views are two of the major advantages of this property.

Location
As mentioned, this is a great place to use as a home base. We aren't really the types to plop down in one place for a whole week, especially since there are so many sights and islands to see in this area. However, if that is your thing, then this is definitely the place to plop down for a week and tune everything else out. The property is located very close to Red Hook, which is a small village that contains several stores (including a grocery store), restaurants, shops, the ferry dock, and a marina. It really has everything you would need during your stay. If you do wish to venture out, you can catch a ferry to St. John and the British Virgin Islands from Red Hook.

We're already planing our next trip back here !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We were at Sapphire Beach 8/7-8/14/10 the weather was wonderful, the beach fabulous & the condo beautiful. We were looking for a relaxing vacation, we wanted to just lay around and soak up the sun. That is exactly what we did. We rented unit E-301 from the owner on VRBO - http://www.vrbo.com/239824. It was very nicely decorated and well maintained. It is a two story corner unit so it is very private and gives you lots of room. Because it is the low season there were not very many people at the beach or the pool-which was in excellent condition. Although we chose to be beach/pool potatoes there are plenty of water related activities for those who enjoy that. We didn't rent a car but if you want to see the island I would recommend that because it was hard to get a taxi when you wanted one and the cost added up. We did go to St John one day where we rented a Jeep - this is a must do.
After reading some of the information about the resort I was a little concerned but I will have to say if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time with no crowds, no rushing to get a lounge chair or place by the pool, and no wait staff asking you if you needed another drink, we easily kept ourselves well hydrated with local rum drinks at a fraction of the price, this is the perfect spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.