We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
West Point, Mississippi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

About the best thing I can say about this place was that is was affordable. The grounds were very run down, but our unit was not too bad. It was clean, and was equipped with satellite, flat screen tv's, fully stocked kitchen,etc. a little disappointing that wi-fi was not included, and we had to pay for it. The beach was beautiful, and they did provide snorkeling equipment and chairs available (only until 6 pm, so if you want to sit out on the beach and watch the sunset, be sure and take your own or a towel!). The coral was beautiful, and we saw sea turtles and sting ray in addition to the many species of fish. I thought the office was a little "sketchy", as it was in a unit that didn't have any sign letting you know where it was, and I was somewhat reluctant to give them my credit card, and had to ask them for a receipt to make sure it was charged the amount I had booked it for. One of the reason we booked here was because it was on the Safari route, and we wouldn't have to use a taxi for transportation....however, we failed to realize that in order to get to the pick up route, we had to hike up a huge hill. Needless to say, we ended up calling for taxi services anyway! Location was good, close to Red Hook and the ferry to St. John island, so that was another plus. Overall, not too bad...it could've been a lot worse.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    178
    87
    66
    78
See reviews for
122
197
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was by far the worst place I have ever stayed. We arrived at 11:30 to check into our room. Since check in was at 3pm they said we werent allowed to technically check in so we asked if we could just leave our stuff in the room which they said was fine.

While waiting in the office area for the key there was another couple who had several problems with the safe and doors which did not lock. The lady behind the front desk had taken over an hour to find the key to our room when I asked why it was taking so long. She said they only have one maid on the property and couldnt reach her. After waiting a total of two hours for a key to the hotel room we finally got to move our stuff into the room.

We left and came back later that night at 8pm and half of the lights did not turn on. On top of that the A/C in the bedroom wasnt working. When we complained to the office there only other options were to move us to another hotel which was in worse condition or put us in a room above the office. This room had guests coming the next day so if we moved we would have to be checked out of the room by 11am and wait until 3pm to get another room since it was a two night stay. While another lady came in and said she had to move rooms 3 times until they found one which worked for her.

We stayed in our original room with no A/C so we wouldnt have to keep moving from room to room. The next day the manager wasnt even on the property until almost noon and the same lady joelle working in the front wasnt helpful at all. They denied having anyone complain at the rooms and were extremely rude.

Overall this is the worst place I have ever stayed. The only good things you hear are from people that rent specifically from the owners of the units. If you rent a villa from the managing company you should get a refund and find another place.

This place doesnt even deserve the one star I had to give it because trip advisor makes you give it one star. Worst experience with the rudest people. Would definitely not recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KathleenatSapphire, Owner at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi Kathy,

I haven't looked at both yet, but to the first, which is a frequently-occurring testimony to the inferior services provided by the rental managers who ply their trade at SBRM, I would say something along the following lines.


Dear Doublet_66,

As a long-time owner at Sapphire Beach and as one that has experienced the pleasure of sharing this incredible venue with hundreds of guests, I am saddened that you had to experience the condo not as a peach that it is, but as a lemon.

If you scan the hundreds (perhaps thousands) of 5-star glowing reviews for units advertised by Sapphire owners on VRBO and other travel media, you will have to concede that your experience is a rare one, and one that could have been completely avoided.

First and foremost, those guests who most enjoy Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina recognize that for many years now there is no such thing as Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina, but rather a residential condominium consisting of six residential buildings, a marina, a pool, and what is arguably the most beautiful beach in the Caribbean.

Second, when you rent a condo at Sapphire, you can (a) rent a specific condo directly from the owner of that condo or you can (b) rent a generic condo from a rental manager who has been retained by an owner to rent the unit and provide guest services. I am sorry that this information comes late to you, but complaints that find their way into TripAdvisor originate almost 100% from dissatisfactions with a rental manager and almost never from dissatisfaction with an individual owner.

The differences between the two types of rental can be like night and day. Had you rented directly from the owner:

1. You would have had the owner’s 24/7 telephone number and would have been able to resolve your door and safe lock problems within minutes. You would also have had the sense that you were being supported by someone who was there to serve you with single minded focus. Had it been my unit, I would simply have walked you through the use of the combination (keyless) lock and the use of the safe.

2. Sapphire Beach owners who rent their units have established detailed checklists that housekeepers are required to follow in maintaining a unit for an owner. These checklists, if not for daily use, are certainly used during the preparation for the next guests. The checklist invariably includes (1) testing of all light bulbs, (2) testing of TV remotes, (3) testing of battery-charged elements, and (4) testing of the air conditioning and refrigeration. And yes, these and other comfort and safety items would have been tested and repaired before you ever arrived.

Unfortunately, you have experienced the difference between a managing agent, who may simply not care or who may be pinching pennies, and an owner whose condo is his or her home, and who cares greatly about your experience.

Sapphire Beach is a special place for those who have learned how to make it that way. And renting directly from an owner with good guest reviews is the key.

I am so sorry for your experience and that you had to miss the other four stars this time; I hope you will try again. Sapphire is too special on this earth to miss.

Signed: A Sapphire Beach Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We rented condo D207 through VRBO for 5 days/4 nights. The deciding factors were location & cost. SBR is conveniently located on the east end, close to the Red Hook ferry & restaurants. We originally planned on staying at the Marriott Frenchman because of the modern feel and ammenities but glad we didn't bc we rarely stayed onsite and saved a lot of $$ that we used towards our excursions.

Pool - warm water, sandy
Banana Cabana - gross, dirty
Dive shop - just reopened a few days ago; good snorkeling but at your own risk bc there's no lifeguard on duty
Transportation - you can walk up a very steep hill to catch the safari taxi for $1 ride to Redhook or call for a taxi at the main bldg

If the condo association would get their act together, this property would be a gem!

Room Tip: Choose a condo closer to Bldg A, nicer beach & easier access to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute thru an owner on VRBO. Stayed 5 nights and had an awesome time.
Renovations are being done on the property and the building we stayed in was already done. I knew to ask before I booked.
The owner was really helpful and answered a lot of our concerns before we even arrived. I'd been reading so many different reviews so I was reluctant at first.
There is food available from a vendor on the beach, good food too! Also, the food truck at the top of the hill. He had great BBQ! The beach store just opened back up too so kayaks and floats were available for rent. Our room had snorkel gear provided and a nice cooler to take to the beach. We spent our days by the beach mostly. Great snorkeling, crystal clear warm water.
I loved it here. It's not a "resort" but I wasn't expecting the Ritz either, if I wanted that I would have spent the extra $$$$$ and gone there. I wanted to be right on the beach, with a great view and the comforts of home. That's what I got! I'll be back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you've been reading many of the reviews for this resort, you're likely getting mixed results. Some love it, others not so much. I'll attempt to break it down a bit for you. What used to be a resort now seems to have been stratafied and most of the condos are privately owned. We rented directly from the owner through VRBO (unit B106). Her condo was wonderful - very nicely renovated, very modern and clean. There was a very comfortable king bed and a nice pull out sofa bed where our 2 kids slept. The kitchen facilities were perfect for preparing our own meals and the blender was kept busy with the daquiries! However, the fact that it was literally ON the beach and within 50 yards of the water was the biggest bonus and simply made the trip for us. The rest of the resort, however, is not as nicely kept. The outside of some of the buildings are showing some age, but appear to be under revitalization. The restaurant and bar are no longer open, but there is a small stand between the buildings where you can get sandwiches and drinks. The pool is not fancy, but clean and well kept. The beach, however, is second to none. They say it's the nicest on St Thomas and I have to agree. It has soft white sand, and coral reefs right out front which made for amazing snorkeliing - turtles, rays and reef fish all accessable with a short swim from the beach. The only reason I selected "very good" rather than "excellent" was due to the lack of amenities and exterior of some of the buildings.
So, in summary, if you're looking for a 5 star place where you'll be catered to, keep looking. If you're looking for a beautiful condo with an amazing beach to hang out at and do your own thing, you've found it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently we completed a St Thomas vacation and had a great time. We rented D109 on VRBO. Great suite. The owner, Melanie, has done a wonderful job with the suite. It was newly remodeled and had everything we needed. The location is wonderful. It has direct access to the beach and great views of St. John.
St Thomas has beautiful beaches, such as Magens Bay. Very easy access to St John via ferry from Red Hook which is a 2-3 minute cab ride to Sapphire Beach.
Sapphire Beach is a very convenient location. It has a nice beach and a marina. Easy access to Red Hook for wonderful restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Resort in April for two weeks. We rented thru Homeaway directly with the owner. This is the only way to go, you actually see pictures of the condo you will be in so you know before you go. Our room was clean and well stocked with amenities. The beach was amazing, clean and gorgeous views.
The building exteriors are being renovated, the building we were in was completed last year and it looks great! No construction going on while we were there. We were told during "peak rental season" they stop working. The pool bar and restaurant building are still being worked on and will be a great asset once completed. The pool was open as well as the Banana Cabana restaurant. Also Sapphire Grill was just a short walk away. Really good food there!
I would definitly stay here again, I loved it! Looks like it will be even better once all the renovations done and that shouldn't be too long as only one or two more buildings need work.

Room Tip: Our condo was in building A and be sure to rent from owner not a property manager or realtor. Each c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.