We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Affordable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We rented condo D207 through VRBO for 5 days/4 nights. The deciding factors were location & cost. SBR is conveniently located on the east end, close to the Red Hook ferry & restaurants. We originally planned on staying at the Marriott Frenchman because of the modern feel and ammenities but glad we didn't bc we rarely stayed onsite and saved a lot of $$ that we used towards our excursions.

Pool - warm water, sandy
Banana Cabana - gross, dirty
Dive shop - just reopened a few days ago; good snorkeling but at your own risk bc there's no lifeguard on duty
Transportation - you can walk up a very steep hill to catch the safari taxi for $1 ride to Redhook or call for a taxi at the main bldg

If the condo association would get their act together, this property would be a gem!

Room Tip: Choose a condo closer to Bldg A, nicer beach & easier access to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sterling Heights, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute thru an owner on VRBO. Stayed 5 nights and had an awesome time.
Renovations are being done on the property and the building we stayed in was already done. I knew to ask before I booked.
The owner was really helpful and answered a lot of our concerns before we even arrived. I'd been reading so many different reviews so I was reluctant at first.
There is food available from a vendor on the beach, good food too! Also, the food truck at the top of the hill. He had great BBQ! The beach store just opened back up too so kayaks and floats were available for rent. Our room had snorkel gear provided and a nice cooler to take to the beach. We spent our days by the beach mostly. Great snorkeling, crystal clear warm water.
I loved it here. It's not a "resort" but I wasn't expecting the Ritz either, if I wanted that I would have spent the extra $$$$$ and gone there. I wanted to be right on the beach, with a great view and the comforts of home. That's what I got! I'll be back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you've been reading many of the reviews for this resort, you're likely getting mixed results. Some love it, others not so much. I'll attempt to break it down a bit for you. What used to be a resort now seems to have been stratafied and most of the condos are privately owned. We rented directly from the owner through VRBO (unit B106). Her condo was wonderful - very nicely renovated, very modern and clean. There was a very comfortable king bed and a nice pull out sofa bed where our 2 kids slept. The kitchen facilities were perfect for preparing our own meals and the blender was kept busy with the daquiries! However, the fact that it was literally ON the beach and within 50 yards of the water was the biggest bonus and simply made the trip for us. The rest of the resort, however, is not as nicely kept. The outside of some of the buildings are showing some age, but appear to be under revitalization. The restaurant and bar are no longer open, but there is a small stand between the buildings where you can get sandwiches and drinks. The pool is not fancy, but clean and well kept. The beach, however, is second to none. They say it's the nicest on St Thomas and I have to agree. It has soft white sand, and coral reefs right out front which made for amazing snorkeliing - turtles, rays and reef fish all accessable with a short swim from the beach. The only reason I selected "very good" rather than "excellent" was due to the lack of amenities and exterior of some of the buildings.
So, in summary, if you're looking for a 5 star place where you'll be catered to, keep looking. If you're looking for a beautiful condo with an amazing beach to hang out at and do your own thing, you've found it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheaj00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently we completed a St Thomas vacation and had a great time. We rented D109 on VRBO. Great suite. The owner, Melanie, has done a wonderful job with the suite. It was newly remodeled and had everything we needed. The location is wonderful. It has direct access to the beach and great views of St. John.
St Thomas has beautiful beaches, such as Magens Bay. Very easy access to St John via ferry from Red Hook which is a 2-3 minute cab ride to Sapphire Beach.
Sapphire Beach is a very convenient location. It has a nice beach and a marina. Easy access to Red Hook for wonderful restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank baboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Resort in April for two weeks. We rented thru Homeaway directly with the owner. This is the only way to go, you actually see pictures of the condo you will be in so you know before you go. Our room was clean and well stocked with amenities. The beach was amazing, clean and gorgeous views.
The building exteriors are being renovated, the building we were in was completed last year and it looks great! No construction going on while we were there. We were told during "peak rental season" they stop working. The pool bar and restaurant building are still being worked on and will be a great asset once completed. The pool was open as well as the Banana Cabana restaurant. Also Sapphire Grill was just a short walk away. Really good food there!
I would definitly stay here again, I loved it! Looks like it will be even better once all the renovations done and that shouldn't be too long as only one or two more buildings need work.

Room Tip: Our condo was in building A and be sure to rent from owner not a property manager or realtor. Each c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KathieJ2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I rented a private room through VRBO. The room was absolutely gorgeous, updated, two story right on the ocean...I travel A LOT and I would say this is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. Unfortunately the resort itself is a pathetic joke. Everything is shut down and listed as "under renovation", however, this is a lie to disguise the obvious neglect that has been going on at this resort for almost a decade. Both swimming pools were closed down. The restaurants were closed down and there is nothing within walking distance to the resort. The roads are not pedestrian friendly and it's not worth risking your life to cut costs on a taxi. Since the restaurants are closed down, my daughters and I had to catch a RT taxi every time we needed to eat. This got pretty expensive as they charge by the person - not the trip. Roundtrip for 3 is $42. Add this on top of the $$$ meal and we are spending over $100 per meal. On the contrary, the beach is absolutely gorgeous and we had a wonderful time. If you visit make sure you rent a car - it will save you hundreds of dollars if you have a family. We averaged at least $150 a day on taxi / safari / ferry expenses. The owner of this resort needs to wake up and do something with this beautiful property. It could be a real gem.

Room Tip: I rated the room terrible because I rented a private room through VRBO, although my room was top not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have read that some condo units are not that nice ... but our corner unit C209 was amazing. We had a great view of the ocean and literallly steps from the water. We were also located a short walk from the pool. The unit was very clean and had snorkeling gear for us to use in the amazing coral reef just steps from our unit. Even during the re-habbing of the condos, the pool was very

During our stay in mid May, the place was very quiet and almost deserted ... just the way i would like it. The beach was very clean and security staff patrolled the area regularly. There were no loud parties going on while we were there. If you want some place quiet with the sound of the ocean to wake you up, this place is great.

It is also very close to Red Hook and the ferry to St John. It's about a 10 minute walk or a $4 cab ride, which were always available in the parking lot. It's about $20 cab ride from airport. It's also close to other nice beaches like Meaghan's Bay, Cocki, or Lindquist.

The only negative is there aren't much places to eat in the complex. There's a food stand that makes good food and great drinks, but thye're only open until 4 or 5 pm. There's a also a food truck at the top of the entrance road but it is not always there. If you plan on eating dinner at the condo, buy groceries, cook your food and have a nice dinner on your balcony overlooking the ocean.

Great place. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank okmogwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
7.9 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#5 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in South Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing