We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Affordable stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We rented condo D207 through VRBO for 5 days/4 nights. The deciding factors were location & cost. SBR is conveniently located on the east end, close to the Red Hook ferry & restaurants. We originally planned on staying at the Marriott Frenchman because of the modern feel and ammenities but glad we didn't bc we rarely stayed onsite and saved a lot of $$ that we used towards our excursions.

Pool - warm water, sandy
Banana Cabana - gross, dirty
Dive shop - just reopened a few days ago; good snorkeling but at your own risk bc there's no lifeguard on duty
Transportation - you can walk up a very steep hill to catch the safari taxi for $1 ride to Redhook or call for a taxi at the main bldg

If the condo association would get their act together, this property would be a gem!

Room Tip: Choose a condo closer to Bldg A, nicer beach & easier access to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    178
    87
    66
    78
See reviews for
122
197
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We booked last minute thru an owner on VRBO. Stayed 5 nights and had an awesome time.
Renovations are being done on the property and the building we stayed in was already done. I knew to ask before I booked.
The owner was really helpful and answered a lot of our concerns before we even arrived. I'd been reading so many different reviews so I was reluctant at first.
There is food available from a vendor on the beach, good food too! Also, the food truck at the top of the hill. He had great BBQ! The beach store just opened back up too so kayaks and floats were available for rent. Our room had snorkel gear provided and a nice cooler to take to the beach. We spent our days by the beach mostly. Great snorkeling, crystal clear warm water.
I loved it here. It's not a "resort" but I wasn't expecting the Ritz either, if I wanted that I would have spent the extra $$$$$ and gone there. I wanted to be right on the beach, with a great view and the comforts of home. That's what I got! I'll be back for sure!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If you've been reading many of the reviews for this resort, you're likely getting mixed results. Some love it, others not so much. I'll attempt to break it down a bit for you. What used to be a resort now seems to have been stratafied and most of the condos are privately owned. We rented directly from the owner through VRBO (unit B106). Her condo was wonderful - very nicely renovated, very modern and clean. There was a very comfortable king bed and a nice pull out sofa bed where our 2 kids slept. The kitchen facilities were perfect for preparing our own meals and the blender was kept busy with the daquiries! However, the fact that it was literally ON the beach and within 50 yards of the water was the biggest bonus and simply made the trip for us. The rest of the resort, however, is not as nicely kept. The outside of some of the buildings are showing some age, but appear to be under revitalization. The restaurant and bar are no longer open, but there is a small stand between the buildings where you can get sandwiches and drinks. The pool is not fancy, but clean and well kept. The beach, however, is second to none. They say it's the nicest on St Thomas and I have to agree. It has soft white sand, and coral reefs right out front which made for amazing snorkeliing - turtles, rays and reef fish all accessable with a short swim from the beach. The only reason I selected "very good" rather than "excellent" was due to the lack of amenities and exterior of some of the buildings.
So, in summary, if you're looking for a 5 star place where you'll be catered to, keep looking. If you're looking for a beautiful condo with an amazing beach to hang out at and do your own thing, you've found it. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently we completed a St Thomas vacation and had a great time. We rented D109 on VRBO. Great suite. The owner, Melanie, has done a wonderful job with the suite. It was newly remodeled and had everything we needed. The location is wonderful. It has direct access to the beach and great views of St. John.
St Thomas has beautiful beaches, such as Magens Bay. Very easy access to St John via ferry from Red Hook which is a 2-3 minute cab ride to Sapphire Beach.
Sapphire Beach is a very convenient location. It has a nice beach and a marina. Easy access to Red Hook for wonderful restaurants and entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at Sapphire Beach Resort in April for two weeks. We rented thru Homeaway directly with the owner. This is the only way to go, you actually see pictures of the condo you will be in so you know before you go. Our room was clean and well stocked with amenities. The beach was amazing, clean and gorgeous views.
The building exteriors are being renovated, the building we were in was completed last year and it looks great! No construction going on while we were there. We were told during "peak rental season" they stop working. The pool bar and restaurant building are still being worked on and will be a great asset once completed. The pool was open as well as the Banana Cabana restaurant. Also Sapphire Grill was just a short walk away. Really good food there!
I would definitly stay here again, I loved it! Looks like it will be even better once all the renovations done and that shouldn't be too long as only one or two more buildings need work.

Room Tip: Our condo was in building A and be sure to rent from owner not a property manager or realtor. Each c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I rented a private room through VRBO. The room was absolutely gorgeous, updated, two story right on the ocean...I travel A LOT and I would say this is one of the nicest rooms I have stayed in. Unfortunately the resort itself is a pathetic joke. Everything is shut down and listed as "under renovation", however, this is a lie to disguise the obvious neglect that has been going on at this resort for almost a decade. Both swimming pools were closed down. The restaurants were closed down and there is nothing within walking distance to the resort. The roads are not pedestrian friendly and it's not worth risking your life to cut costs on a taxi. Since the restaurants are closed down, my daughters and I had to catch a RT taxi every time we needed to eat. This got pretty expensive as they charge by the person - not the trip. Roundtrip for 3 is $42. Add this on top of the $$$ meal and we are spending over $100 per meal. On the contrary, the beach is absolutely gorgeous and we had a wonderful time. If you visit make sure you rent a car - it will save you hundreds of dollars if you have a family. We averaged at least $150 a day on taxi / safari / ferry expenses. The owner of this resort needs to wake up and do something with this beautiful property. It could be a real gem.

Room Tip: I rated the room terrible because I rented a private room through VRBO, although my room was top not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have read that some condo units are not that nice ... but our corner unit C209 was amazing. We had a great view of the ocean and literallly steps from the water. We were also located a short walk from the pool. The unit was very clean and had snorkeling gear for us to use in the amazing coral reef just steps from our unit. Even during the re-habbing of the condos, the pool was very

During our stay in mid May, the place was very quiet and almost deserted ... just the way i would like it. The beach was very clean and security staff patrolled the area regularly. There were no loud parties going on while we were there. If you want some place quiet with the sound of the ocean to wake you up, this place is great.

It is also very close to Red Hook and the ferry to St John. It's about a 10 minute walk or a $4 cab ride, which were always available in the parking lot. It's about $20 cab ride from airport. It's also close to other nice beaches like Meaghan's Bay, Cocki, or Lindquist.

The only negative is there aren't much places to eat in the complex. There's a food stand that makes good food and great drinks, but thye're only open until 4 or 5 pm. There's a also a food truck at the top of the entrance road but it is not always there. If you plan on eating dinner at the condo, buy groceries, cook your food and have a nice dinner on your balcony overlooking the ocean.

Great place. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.