We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Beautiful Beach and Snorkeling in St. Thomas” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sapphire Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
San Martin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Most Beautiful Beach and Snorkeling in St. Thomas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

What a shame this absolutely beautiful place is such a diamond in the rough. Unfortunately, there are no services here to draw the people here. The pool is gorgeous however the area around the pool has been deserted. The pool bar and grille are no more, if you want dinner you have to take a taxi or drive. The rooms are OK the AC units loud and the bed was like granite, but what a view. The villa which is 2 levels is definitely the way to go. The housekeeping staff did a good job and security is present. Check in was a little odd, the original reception area has been abandoned and it is now in one of the units, the people were nice.

The beach was clean, the water amazing and if you are looking for a quiet not crowded place this is it. There is a store about 2-3 miles away you can stock up on food and drinks. If you are looking for more action this is not the place. The bar and grille at the association up the hill has some decent food and the bartender was nice.

Room Tip: It you have the money get the Villa. That way you have 2 balconies and on the higher floor have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    190
    96
    66
    80
See reviews for
130
215
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clute, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We rented a condo owned by an individual Dr. Nathan Schattz. It was located 25 feet from the beach. There are many condo's but if you get one on the far end from the office/dive shop it is almost hidden from the crowds. Gorgeous view, Great snorkeling right out our door. Condo was in good shape and clean. We really loved the location. Although it is a bit of a walk to the main road to catch an island bus. It had a fabulous view. The pool is around the corner as well as dive shop and some island people selling their handmade wares. We met Great people and loved the open bus rides and did I mention Our View!

Room Tip: Go to HomeAway and rent from an individual not from Sapphire Beach Resort it is a better deal try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This place is a dump! Some buildings are renovated, I hear, but the rooms we got stuck with... I wouldn't make anyone stay in. If your reservation says you have a yacht harbor view, you are probably in Building F, and you can pretty much expect the worst room you have ever paid more than $29.95/night for. F is for Funky! F is for Fungus! F is for Filthy! F is for Fix it or just tear it down! Mold... broken furniture... rock hard mattress...dirty dishes... just plain nasty! My room smells like mold and mildew, and my partners room smelled like urine and bleach when we checked in. We are booked here for a month for work, and we're stuck. And they will not move you to another room. They just say all other rooms are booked. We've been here a little over 24 hours, and we are wishing the month was over! People in other renovated buildings appear to be happy and living large, but down here in the ghetto in Building F... they should be ashamed to rent these for 1/5th of the money they are getting for these.

The beach, itself, looks very nice, as does the pool. All other amenities, however, are either in terrible shape or just plain shut down. The pool is beautiful, but the bar area located in the middle of it is closed down and boarded up. The "free" cheap, 3-item continental breakfast that you read about in earlier reviews isn't even free anymore. You can't even get a free cup of coffee in the morning. I guess the $6,700/month for our rooms isn't enough to cover the mold, broken furniture, the run down facilities and a continental breakfast, too. And the girl behind the counter is more than willing to be rude to you while you hand her the $2 for your tiny cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Make sure you know EXACTLY what you are getting before you rent here. We have been here for a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at a nearby Bed and Breakfast in St. Thomas, but traveled to Sapphire Beach for the day. When you enter the lot and the lovely landscaped resort sign you see the beautiful water view. But as you follow the driveway down the steep hillside and come across the extremely worn out tennis courts, and run down grounds you begin to get a hint that this resort has seen better days. We parked in the designated area and made our way towards the beach. Passed the taxi area, and got a look at some worn out building with a sign claiming it was the concierge desk. Looked beat up and under construction, (boarded up doorways), but as we walked further, the beach looked freshly groomed and clean. Water looked gorgeous, and we found a cozy spot in the shade of some sea grapes. Busy, but not overcrowded beach with a few snorkelers. However, the area in front of the beach is mostly dead, colorless reef. Took a walk to the nearby facilities and found a tourist trap of a stand with rentals of water sports equipment and various overpriced drinks and beers. Other than the stand, there is someone selling pictures and some high priced t-shirts and hats. Bathrooms nearby were dingy and crummy with graffiti written on the walls as you walk to the restrooms. Made our way over to the pool area which is actually quite lovely and well maintained. Has a nice waterfall, and several levels. Further on past the pool is a manmade walk way to a jetty/point lined with a few palm trees. I suppose this is used as an area for a wedding ceremony, but it too was run down and not well maintained. Snorkelers were at the point trying desperately to find some signs of life, but it was really not an ideal spot due to churned up seas and rough conditions from the prevailing east winds. Condos look dated and run down from the outside, with pressure treated lumber railings that have never been maintained. Employee was attempting to clean grimy vinyl lounge chairs with a wash rag and soapy water, but was fighting a mostly losing battle. Soft scrub or a good power wash would be the only way to clean these things. Good points were the nice sandy beach, lined with sea grapes where you can find some nice shade, and the pool area. I guess if you don't expect much, and the price is right (really right), it would be worth a shot, but judging from the outside, I'd be leary of what the inside/units look like. This resort needs a good investor to sink a few million into the facilities. Our first clue should have been the tennis court conditions. Kind of sums up how the entire resort is kept. The sign out front might have been the best maintained item.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The beach at Sapphire Beach is very nice and of course gorgeous however the building s and grounds are about as run-down as you can get. Sapphire used to be a stellar operation but it’s very evident that politics are involved with the Association’s board and they’re allowing their egos to affect the property – nothings getting done – including common maintenance. It’s very sad actually because the result is the place is starting to look more like war-torn Beirut than a Caribbean hot spot. And the fact that there are no longer any real restaurants on property is just down-right nuts! Lost opportunities abound! It’s a darn shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has clearly seen better days! The only thing going for it is the beach, but even that is ruined by the rotten little dive shop. The shop is run by a group of grouchy men who have no interest in anything but tourist cash. They'll rent you stuff, but you better be ready to get it all yourself! The pool is tiny, the landscaping is ragged and the place seems dingy and dated. Choose someplace else, especially if you have kids!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean. The outside of the property does need a facelift. However, you can't beat the price on St. Thomas or the location. Right on the beach, no really. Very close to the eastend, a a great jump off to other Islands. Red Hook has so much and it's just around the corner. I stay there often even though I live on St.thomas for its a nice change. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.