We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Resort Losing Its Panache” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sapphire Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in East End
Hunterdon County
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fine Resort Losing Its Panache”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lucky for us we stayed in a nice unit (b209) - an end unit with a lovely view of beach and palm trees, working AC, and decent full fridge and kitchen. We heard complaints about other units that had the full range of problems - I would only say there was mold on the outside of the fridge and the paint is chipping off - not what you would expect at high season resort prices. Also we were lucky to be in a unit that had free wifi (the office is not aware of which units offer this so buyer beware - thought the weekly cost might run $50 - not bad)...So the accommodations were fine. However, the resort itself is spending no money on upkeep...the reception area is no longer in use (it's "under renovation" but we saw no renovating going on).. The tennis courts are unusable and a shambles, the pathways around the resort are starting to deteriorate, and the "free continental breakfast" coupons only covered three items per person! Whoever heard of restrictions on a continental breakfast buffet? So if you want an orange, a banana, a pastry and some boxed dry cereal, you are out of luck! Really! Also the staffers at the breakfast were rather surly, and the staff had a "could care less" attitude...not outright rude, just clearly not happy in their jobs. Also, the oddly shaped but large pool area was deserted because they've closed the bar - there are low stools in the pool so that you could stay in the water and enjoy a cocktail - so it is even more bizarre that this service isn't offered any more. Still, the access to the beach, the cleanliness (they did have maid service) the security and the nearness to Red Hook where there are some good restaurants, puts this place on "very good" as opposed to "average" in my ratings. And you can snorkel right off the beach. We also had to ask for extra wash cloths every day (didn't they get it the first time?) If I were an owner, I would be horrified by how much the resort has run down - a shame because it's a great location and lovely beach (cruise ship folks are bussed in to use the beach) and must have been quite grand in its heyday.

Room Tip: End units are quieter - A and B units overlook the beach, C and D the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    177
    87
    65
    77
See reviews for
120
195
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The condo was well appointed, clean, spacious and the lower patio was 17 steps from wet sand!
It was on the East end of the island near Red Hook, away from the maddening cruise ship and city crowds of Charlotte Amalie!
We stayed in bldg E which adjoins the marina. This was farther from the principal beach, but that meant more privacy (Sapphire Beach is popular to snorkelers) and our place was much closer to the water. We also liked being on the ground floor for simplest/fastest beach/water access. The rates for this area are slightly lower as well--yea!
The condo included a sleeping area with a king size bed and dresser, a dining area that seated 4, living room with full size couch that could be pulled out for sleeping and side chair, a kitchen with full-size fridge, and full bath with double vanities. Also had a covered upper patio with dinette set for 4, and a lower uncovered porch with lounge chairs and table, where we watched sunrises daily. Happened to be there for oversized full moons too--cool! Parking was simple and close. There were some minor maintenance issues, which were corrected the same day we reported them.
The split-level pool was nice, but the snorkeling right off the beach was fantastic and we swam in the sea most of the time. Saw a 4-foot manta right outside our condo, and off the main beach (3-minute walk) we saw turtles grazing in sea grasses, and lots of fish and corals adjacent to the peninsula.
We shopped at the grocery stores in Red Hook (the one farther down on Hwy 30 had better produce, selection, and prices) and cooked most of out meals. However, the Azure Pool Bar on the property had truly delicious food, and there was a hut on the beach throughout the morning/day where we got decent freshly grilled mahi sandwiches and assorted rum drinks.
The place also had water activity rentals and vendors on site--very handy. And if you wanted other resort amenities such as spa/massage, trip assistance, etc.
I would have given this condo a 5-star rating, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay--left off one star because of the maintenance requirements and bedsprings were somewhat sprung; but that may be my "continental standards" showing. Overall it was very nice, the price was very reasonable, and there was a gratis bottle of rum in the room for us on arrival, so ...we can definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want more seclusion, opt for bldgs D or E with the partial sand/partial pebble beaches, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great.
We would rent it again. It was what we expected and more.
The buildings are well maintained, the beach is great with its own reef to snorkel right in front of your condo.
People are very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AMARILLO
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ghetto resort don't go here; No phone in the room's; no internet in the rooms; people at the front desk are rude; Ask three time's for towel's each day;no bar by the pool or on the ground's ; no cafe on grounds;

Room Tip: Do not go here for your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I do not know about the other condos but this is by far the best. We just got back today from a stay at Peter's Hammock in Heaven. I can honestly say it was just the most awesome experience. When you walk into the condo and look outside you feel like you are in a picture. The view is like no other. You will see St. John from your room and at night it is like St John releases the moon and you will stare in amazement. The condo has all you need and the bed is very comfortable. But far the most best is the balcony with that view!!!! The pool is always quiet and trust me the breeze is very welcoming as it is hot and humid!!! The beaches are breathtaking and you can snorkel and do all the fun amenities with parasailing, jet skis ect. Up the Hill is a fun poolside bar that make the best rum drinks!!! And the bartenders are very friendly. You can take the safari into Red Hook for only $2.00 a person its much safer than walking. I would recommend the Fish Tails for the blackened Mahi Mahi. And for a fun bar go to Duffys love shack, its in a parking lot, but its loads of fun!!!! And a great happy hour. Peter by far is the most gracious host I have ever come upon. He is there to make your stay a memorable one. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We just got back today from a stay at Peter's Hammock in Heaven. I can honestly say it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyannis Port, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We rented a lovely Condo in Sapphire Bay which has one of the nicest beaches and best snorkeling on St Thomas. As promised we walked out from our beachfront condo to our chaises and enjoyed the pleasures of the Beach. Great Beach Bar and burgers. That was until Tuesday when we found a steady stream of cruise ship people streaming on to our beach. They were loud and hogged all the beachfront space. SOrry if I am a snob but do you go to the beach in black socks, sandals and a fanny pack? So if you are going here check the schedule to see how many ships will be in ST Thomas that week.Also Sapphire Beach no longer has a restaurant so a car is essential.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We rented through VRBO, highly recommend using that site. Our condo was magnificent! Super clean, updated, exactly as the pictures showed. The view was amazing, beautiful beach, convenient location. No restaurant on site, which was a little disappointing, but we knew that before going. Yes, the exterior is weathered, but it is the Caribbean, looks like it should if you ask me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sapphire Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.