We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding and Honeymoom” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free off-site shuttle!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wedding and Honeymoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a wonderful time in St. Thomas and I would give your Point Pleasant a 10 if I could but if 5 is the highest...5.9 then!!! We decided on this location to have our wedding and with all our guest staying in various locations, we found that none offer rum punch!!!, they do not have a shuttle, their units were small and they didn't have the attentiveness that I found the Point Pleasant staff to have. I was so impressed with the property and st. Thomas that I had inquired about buying a property here!! Still considering it but if I return (asking husband for another honeymoon at this location)....I plan to stay at Point Pleasant again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    32
    6
    5
    4
See reviews for
48
89
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I were really in need of a quick vacation. I took a different approach this stay in st. Thomas..wanted something more romantic..private. .and many amenities.. I cannot even describe the beauty here..the landscape. We are very fortunate to have a unit literally right above the water, (B-12) close enough to hear the waves and it was the building closest to Panga and lower pool!! Now this review is written on our 2nd day and I can go on! The Staff!!?? There is too much to write about them. They are literally at your unit within minutes of calling them, they are there to answer ANY questions. .5 star service..to name a few of the superstars;
(I'm sure we will have more by the end of our week!) Hobie, made us feel completely at home, gave opinions and tips, the perfect property manager! Of course the units owner, Alex, we seriously could not have picked a better unit..would pick this over any other place on the island!! Christie, part of the PP staff :) and of course WilliE (the resorts driver) made us laugh every time in the car! We will always remember you guys and can't wait to be back next year with the babies!!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We have no water to our room for at least more than few hours one day and they said it was some repair. And again today there is a problem with water and literally no water to our room for almost few hours now and we can't even use rest rooms also and finally as a result we had to cancel the dinner reservation because we couldn't get ready. We tried calling staff they keep saying 30 mins 30 mins but this is not resolved.

We are really very frustrated with this and definitely not worth for the money we paid for 4 days here. It's rediculous actually. Worst experience I would say!! We stayed in multiple hotels during this trip and this turned out to be expensive place with worst maintenance or horrible n frustrating experience

It has small beach with full of rocks so can't even get onto water easily. When I say small it's really tiny small beach and restaurants one is closed and another one very avg and you can't try there more than once. You gotta drive to downtown which is pretty far compared to other hotels and resorts.

I would avoid coming back here and definitely don't suggest this as well.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My friends and I visited St. Thomas for an all girls trip for my 30th birthday. Overall we had a great time! Their private beach was nice and relaxing with their cabana beds and attached umbrella. The only downfall is that the private beach (Sugar Bay) is small and you can't lay out in the sand because there are huge rocks on the shore. But that didn't stop us from getting into the water. I would advise wearing water shoes but we didn't care. Of course we went to the other surrounding beaches like Coki beach, which is literally a 5 minute drive. Upon check in we were given bracelets to identify us as guests at the resort. They had free shuttle service that would drive us to nearby accommodations, but for the most part we drove ourselves as we had a rental. They drove us down to our room and had golf carts to get us around the resort if needed. The staff at the lobby were nice and informative. To mention a few, the manager and his wife were very sweet and helpful, Lyidia and Anthony were fun and made sure to keep us hydrated with complimentary rum punch, Aaron and Hobie were awesome and down to earth kayak, snorkeling and paddle board instructors, which was also complimentary to guests, Tina Shay at the resort restaurant Panga is very nice and sweet and helpful in telling us where to go around the island. Overall a great experience. Take advantage of all the complimentary activities. If you get sunburned they have aloe plants everywhere that you can just chop off and bring back to your room (tip: the yellow slime part of the aloe works the best!) Some of the cons, there was one security guard that was very rude at the gate, you have to pay for housekeeping ($30 each time I believe), and everything was very expensive. Definitely bring all your toiletries including shampoo and soap as they do not provide those, except for a soap bar, bring meds like Benadryl or any meds because you will be paying if not double but triple the price no matter where you are on the island.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the ocean view room and you will get a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Kay,

Thank you for your review. We have experienced some unusual tides throughout the Island and that is the reason the beach appears rockier than usual. We anticipate the problem going away in less than a week. Of course, you are correct in that the beauty of the islands is that we have dozens of spectacular beaches within a few miles of the resort or a short ferry ride to St. John.

I also wanted to apologize for the rude security guard. We are addressing this issue with the HOA and security company.

We do provide complimentary "day time" turn down service for all guests. This means making up your bed, changing out towels and emptying trash. Given that our electricity rates are three times what they are in the states providing full daily housekeeping each and every day is a bit challenging for us. For any guest that would like shampoo or conditioner we have a complimentary supply at the front desk.

Overall, it sounds as if you had a great time and we appreciate all of you spending your vacation with us.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Our family had a wonderful vacation at Point Pleasant! The accommodations were fabulous! The view from our balcony of the ocean were breathtaking! The staff made our stay very memorable. The hospitality was top notch. I would recommend a stay at Point Pleasant to any one planning a trip to St Thomas. Visit the spa, the aerial yoga is an adventure all it's own!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The unit we had was great - wonderful views of Pillsbury Sound - St. John, Tortola and Jost Van Dyke all visible. The unit was clean and fully stocked minus the food. The front desk staff were all very pleasant. They are really trying to make this a family fun place. WiFi was included.

Minor annoyances - the area is very hilly and while they will shuttle you around be prepared for lots of up hills or steps.

The beach is really small and not much of an ability to walk at sunset. I was spoiled when I stayed in St John and was able to walk the Cinnamon Bay beach. This is no more than 100 feet wide. There are three pools and during our stay there was very little use.

If you are expecting night life, pool side drinks etc. this is not the place for you.

They are supposed to be renovating an new restaurant - coming soon - Blue Agave. No signs or work or when it will open.

The on-site restaurant - not connected to the resort was pretty sad. They were out of many expected dishes - like Mahi-Mahi or other catch of the day. The drinks were weak - pretty uncommon in islands. Not much there to welcome you.

The shuttle drivers are good but you may have to wait if they are out on other runs - again expected, but saves multiple taxi rides too and from Red Hook.

The booking process was easy but they did tack on a "booking" charge that was very close to most credit card fees.

Room Tip: Top floor units have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd gladly stay here, in case that I go back to this island!
Staff, so friendly..most of all , priceless view.....our room had a magnificent view of the ocean!
There are three beautiful pools, beach ..wow.!!!! so nice for talking morning walks, though kind of small, that's what we did!!! Rooms kind of dated!! If u stay here , ask to get the ones that have been recently renovated!!!
Not many options for eating here, because there's just one small restaurant!
We enjoy our trip to this island, we also took some tours..had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: when booking ask for renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. Discover what intimate, friendly and fun service is all about! Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including complimentary snorkel gear, kayak/snorkel tours, paddle board use and lessons. The resort features a small but private beach complete with beach beds and umbrellas as well as three pools. The resort's middle pool has breathtaking views along with pool beds and umbrellas. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa. The resort makes it easy to forgo the rental car expense. Guests are provided complimentary transportation around the resort and throughout the east end of St. Thomas. Grocery delivery is available. There are also some weekly trips to Magens Bay. 60 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With six room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. Beautiful Lindquist beach is just three miles away as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.