We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free off-site shuttle!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Guatemala
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“What a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'd gladly stay here, in case that I go back to this island!
Staff, so friendly..most of all , priceless view.....our room had a magnificent view of the ocean!
There are three beautiful pools, beach ..wow.!!!! so nice for talking morning walks, though kind of small, that's what we did!!! Rooms kind of dated!! If u stay here , ask to get the ones that have been recently renovated!!!
Not many options for eating here, because there's just one small restaurant!
We enjoy our trip to this island, we also took some tours..had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: when booking ask for renovated rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    31
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
47
85
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parma, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at Point Pleasant in April of 2015. The view was amazing. The resort was very nice. We were a party of 5 so we had two rooms D24, and D23. D24 need to be updated in comparison to D23. Also the refrigeration unit did start to leak following a power outage on the island. The refrigeration unit functioned but they intended to contact the owners to replace or repair the unit. Even though the décor was in need of updating the facility and staff was very accommodating. Everyone was so friendly from Charlie the shuttle driver, to Aaron, Anthony, Christie, Lydia, and Tobie who manned the front desk. We loved the beach and the three pools. The view was breath taking. What an amazing way to start your day with an beautiful sunrise. There was so many activities and services the resort offered wish we would have had more time on the island to enjoy them all.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Brandy,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your great comments. (D24 is undergoing some redecorating this week and next.)

We hope to you see again soon.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently stayed at Point Pleasant for our 15 year anniversary. We asked for an updated room after reading that some were outdated. When we arrived Rachel told me that this apartment was recently renovated and it was very nicely done. We had a beautiful view of the pool and ocean and we went shopping and had breakfast on the balcony every morning. We were very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We went on the Bad Kitty boat tour to the Virgin Gorda, the baths, Cooper Island for lunch, Norman for snorkeling and Jost Van Dike to the soggy dollar bar for a day and that was a lot of fun.(you need your passports for this) Also visited Coki beach which is 5 minutes away and they take you there.

There is only one restaurant on the premises and its more like a beach grill. We did not rent a car so we spent a lot of money on taxis and tips for the crew. (my husband didn't feel comfortable driving on the left) They take you to the nearby beaches and to Red Hook with a free shuttle. We took a tour of the island with Corey the cab driver. He was really nice and a local native. Going downtown and to farther places/restaurants costs anywhere from 5-15 per person which added up because we wanted to try other places that were not in Red Hook.

The people that helped us were great...Rachel (sp?), Hobie, Christy, Lafifa, Anthony and Beverly gave me a nice tour of the wellness center and one of the upper units...
Charlie and Willie took us to most of the places and were really cool.

There are lots of hills and steps but that's why you get the great view. They will pick you up if you would like using golf carts and vans. If you are not in good physical shape this might not be the place for you.

There is one very small beach which we enjoyed but down a lot of stairs.

We visited other resorts and found them to be very nice with flat beaches and more restaurants so it's all about what you want for your vacation.

We loved St. Thomas and definitely would like to be back. I hope Point Pleasant upgrades the units and the owners finish the other restaurant. It would have been nice to have another choice to eat on the property.

All in all we had an awesome time, saw a lot of beautiful areas, and met some wonderful people! I would say to leave your negative attitude at home and enjoy yourself. Get yourself on Island time and don't be in a hurry!

Room Tip: I would go on the properties website so you can make sure you get one of the remodeled units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Catherine,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our resort with everyone.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Point Pleasant Resort last week while on vacation in St. Thomas. We were a family of 5. I had read many reviews of this resort prior to booking. There were pro's and con's in my opinion. Here are the Pro's: I thought the location was fantastic. Close to Red Hook, which is near the ferry to St. John, and close to the grocery store. Not too far from great beaches. The pools on the property were really nice. The kids enjoyed playing in them. Nothing spectacular, but you are in St.Thomas so one would assume you'd be at the beach for the majority of time. The beaches were spectacular. The view from our room was fantastic with tables and lounge chairs to sit on the porch and enjoy that view. We stayed in room D24.The staff was excellent, and very responsive. The room had a kitchen, and on site laundry facilities. There was a sofa bed and a king size bed. We were alos able to borrow a blow up mattress which was very comfortable. That was perfect for our family of five. All great for a family. There were nice amenities such as borrowing snorkel gear, yoga, free kayak tours. As for the cons- the rooms are VERY outdated. They were clean, but outdated. The wood on the doors was falling off. Tile was cracked. The fridge was clean on the inside, but so old looking on the outside. I think just very outdated. But, we still had a good time and were okay with the state of the room. I have read that some rooms are nicer than others, meaning they are more updated. We didn't spend the time researching which would be the best room. Final call would we stay there again....i think the answer is no. I think we would try to find something a bit nicer. But if the price was right we would consider it again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you for your comments. We are working extremely hard to get a few of our older accommodations updated. Most of the condo's have undergone refurbishment. We encourage everyone to look at our website which shows interior photographs of the fifty or so condo's we rent. You may select your preferred accommodation. And feel free to call us if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Point Pleasant Resort exceeded my expectations in every way! Remarkable staff members always greet you with a smile and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. The room we stayed in (F10) was recently updated and very clean with a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean. Having access to free shuttles to area beaches and downtown saved us from having to rent a car. The hotel grounds are kept pristine and we truly experienced island paradise. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Veronica,

Thank you for the nice review. We cannot wait to see you again.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My fiance' and I stayed at this Resort this past weekend and EVERYTHING was perfect!!From the moment we were dropped off to the moment we checked out :( . I want to thank HEATHER for helping my fiance' surprise me with my engagement. We hade a private dinner and our very own chef :) I cannot stop talking about my visit! Also, thank you VINCIA,AARON, RAQUEL, AND I forgot the guys name that works at the Panga restaurant at night(bartender). you all were so PLEASANT. I cannot wait to go back. Oh, and room B17 had the best view. This was the perfect engagement. Thank you to the staff for making it special.

Room Tip: room b17 has the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank YOU for sharing your special occasion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved Point Pleasant. My husband & I stayed there the first week of April 2015 for our honeymoon. We stayed in D28 which had great views. Everyone that was a part of the staff were great and always greeted you with a smile. Our favorites were island local, Anthony, whom personally walked our honeymoon picture to us, set us up with a private tour on St.John, lots of laugh, and even shared his lunch with us...yes shared his lunch (we wanted local food after 7 on good friday lol). Willie - very down to earth, he was our driver and knew of all the good local eats and was very kind. Charlie - was wherever you needed him to be within the blink of an eye. Seriously, we called for transportation, less than a minute of hanging up he was at our door. Danielle - gave us some extras of that wonderful soap and offered us a ride. Latifah was new and in training and doing very well. Always greeted us with a smile and willing to find out further information if necessary. The other ladies at front desk (forgot to get their names, I believe Beverly & Lydia (person in pic)??) were also courteous. Lori was kind. Jeff always greeted us with a smile.
Ok, so you get my point they pretty much make Point Pleasant what it is. If/when we come back we will definitely be back at Point Pleasant. We truly felt at home.

Everything was well stocked (ironing board, broom, pillows, dishes, etc).
The views are breathtaking.
If you prefer a room closer to the water choose a B unit (still good views but not as far of walk)

Room Tip: D28 have great views. It is a hilltop room so it is a little hike to get down to lobby but Willie &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We loved your review and your photographs! Thank you so much for posting on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. Discover what intimate, friendly and fun service is all about! Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including complimentary snorkel gear, kayak/snorkel tours, paddle board use and lessons. The resort features a small but private beach complete with beach beds and umbrellas as well as three pools. The resort's middle pool has breathtaking views along with pool beds and umbrellas. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa. The resort makes it easy to forgo the rental car expense. Guests are provided complimentary transportation around the resort and throughout the east end of St. Thomas. Grocery delivery is available. There are also some weekly trips to Magens Bay. 60 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With six room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. Beautiful Lindquist beach is just three miles away as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.