We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to St. Thomas.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free off-site shuttle!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Recent visit to St. Thomas.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Point Pleasant Resort last week while on vacation in St. Thomas. We were a family of 5. I had read many reviews of this resort prior to booking. There were pro's and con's in my opinion. Here are the Pro's: I thought the location was fantastic. Close to Red Hook, which is near the ferry to St. John, and close to the grocery store. Not too far from great beaches. The pools on the property were really nice. The kids enjoyed playing in them. Nothing spectacular, but you are in St.Thomas so one would assume you'd be at the beach for the majority of time. The beaches were spectacular. The view from our room was fantastic with tables and lounge chairs to sit on the porch and enjoy that view. We stayed in room D24.The staff was excellent, and very responsive. The room had a kitchen, and on site laundry facilities. There was a sofa bed and a king size bed. We were alos able to borrow a blow up mattress which was very comfortable. That was perfect for our family of five. All great for a family. There were nice amenities such as borrowing snorkel gear, yoga, free kayak tours. As for the cons- the rooms are VERY outdated. They were clean, but outdated. The wood on the doors was falling off. Tile was cracked. The fridge was clean on the inside, but so old looking on the outside. I think just very outdated. But, we still had a good time and were okay with the state of the room. I have read that some rooms are nicer than others, meaning they are more updated. We didn't spend the time researching which would be the best room. Final call would we stay there again....i think the answer is no. I think we would try to find something a bit nicer. But if the price was right we would consider it again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your comments. We are working extremely hard to get a few of our older accommodations updated. Most of the condo's have undergone refurbishment. We encourage everyone to look at our website which shows interior photographs of the fifty or so condo's we rent. You may select your preferred accommodation. And feel free to call us if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    30
    5
    5
    3
See reviews for
45
83
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Point Pleasant Resort exceeded my expectations in every way! Remarkable staff members always greet you with a smile and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. The room we stayed in (F10) was recently updated and very clean with a fantastic view of the pool and the ocean. Having access to free shuttles to area beaches and downtown saved us from having to rent a car. The hotel grounds are kept pristine and we truly experienced island paradise. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Veronica,

Thank you for the nice review. We cannot wait to see you again.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My fiance' and I stayed at this Resort this past weekend and EVERYTHING was perfect!!From the moment we were dropped off to the moment we checked out :( . I want to thank HEATHER for helping my fiance' surprise me with my engagement. We hade a private dinner and our very own chef :) I cannot stop talking about my visit! Also, thank you VINCIA,AARON, RAQUEL, AND I forgot the guys name that works at the Panga restaurant at night(bartender). you all were so PLEASANT. I cannot wait to go back. Oh, and room B17 had the best view. This was the perfect engagement. Thank you to the staff for making it special.

Room Tip: room b17 has the perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank YOU for sharing your special occasion with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned from a seven day stay at Point Pleasant Resort, and could not have been happier with our choice of this resort. We considered staying at a pricier hotel, and are so glad we chose this resort instead.

We vacationed with our two teenage daughters, and chose this resort based on its excellent reviews, and it did not disappoint. We stayed in Villa B-9, that had a King size partitioned bed room, a sleeper sofa seating area, bathroom, and fully usable kitchen area with everything we could need. We had a wonderful balcony with a breathtaking ocean view, as well as loungers and a patio set, giving us the option to dine out, or bring take-out food in, or prepare our own meals to enjoy out on the patio. It was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable, and we loved having all the space to relax,versus a hotel room with beds alone. This villa also offered privacy, and peace and quiet with no worries of hotel doors slamming at all hours of the night. Because we booked directly through the resort, we were able to see pictures and select the villa and view we would be getting, so there were no surprises. In booking through the resort, we were also VIP customers, and received free access to snorkel gear, paddle boarding, kayaking,yoga and the exercise room.

The staff members at Point Pleasant were welcoming, friendly, acomodating and helpful. We especially enjoyed Anthony (a.k.a "Mago"), Hobie, Christy, and Kyle to name a few. They were definitely there to make sure we were having a great stay, a fun time, and gave great advice and suggestions to help make our St. Thomas vacation a memorable one.

Shuttle service was available for those who needed it, but we were a bit more adventurous and rented a car, which may not be for everyone as the roads are pretty tight and windy, and driving on the left side a bit challenging.

The beach area on the resort is quite small, but it is private and we were still able to snorkel, paddle board, and swim. Plus venturing to some of the other beautiful beaches St. Thomas had to offer, was a wonderful part of the experience, as each offers something a little different. We would definitely recommend Lindquist beach, and Magens Bay, both gorgeous and clean with nice amenities. The resort also has three pools with beautiful views as options as well. The restaurant under construction will be a nice addition once finished, as Pangas menu is not extensive, but the food is good. Again, we enjoyed venturing to other restaurants, and especially enjoyed Pesco in Red Hook (italian), and Iggies on Bolongo Beach (a really fun outdoor beach side restaurant with a casual island vibe, hammocks, and great food!)

We would highly recommend Point Pleasant Resort for its beautiful views, privacy, comfortable space, exceptional staff, and overall great value for your money. If we venture to St. Thomas again, we will definitely be staying at Point Pleasant Resort!!

Room Tip: Book directly through the resort so you can pick your villa and see pics in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Kristine,

We greatly appreciate such a detailed review!! Thank you so much.

We very proud that Hobie, Christy, Kyle and Anthony are part of our team. Their professionalism defines our resort.

Jeff

P.S. You have to elaborate on the "Mago" nickname during your next visit. You have us all in suspense. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The people that work there are awesome,but some things need to be improved.The room we were in needs big time updates but it didn't ruin our time there.It was great being down on the water,the most beautiful water in the world..The people that work there are great ,in order Hobie,Lydia,Charlie,Jeff,and I wouldn't forget Christie...Thanks...

Room Tip: look for updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. We enjoyed getting to know you while you were here. We are working hard on updating some of the older villas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent ocean view, room had three large sliding doors to bring in the full Caribbean experience and fantastic staff. We even had our small children and the staff even made them feel welcome as well. Well done Point Pleasant.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so glad to hear that you had a great time! Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Jeff Akers and his exceptional staff have made Point Pleasant one of the best values and best offerings on St. Thomas' East end for families looking to kick back and relax. Rooms with views of the ocean, attentive service, convenient to Red Hook, the St. John's ferry, and other attractions all await you and your family. The villa rooms were clean, air-conditioned, well kept, and did I mention the view? Our family stayed for 5 days, and will be going back.

The hotel shuttle service will take you to Red Hook or the local beaches.

Room Tip: Rooms in the A section all face the ocean...easily the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Joe

Thank you for your wonderful review. it is our team that makes all this happen and not me. I am just there to cheer them on and help them solve unusual problems.

They love working at the resort. That makes my job easy.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. Discover what intimate, friendly and fun service is all about! Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including complimentary snorkel gear, kayak/snorkel tours, paddle board use and lessons. The resort features a small but private beach complete with beach beds and umbrellas as well as three pools. The resort's middle pool has breathtaking views along with pool beds and umbrellas. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa. The resort makes it easy to forgo the rental car expense. Guests are provided complimentary transportation around the resort and throughout the east end of St. Thomas. Grocery delivery is available. There are also some weekly trips to Magens Bay. 60 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With six room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. Beautiful Lindquist beach is just three miles away as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.