We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30% through 12/31/14
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
La Grange Park, il USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went here in September so it was not the busy season which was has its positives and negatives. The positives we were the only ones in the pool, the small beach area which was great for snorkeling and we had great service. Some negatives that we were not told about until we got there was that their restaurant was closed due to renovations, it looks like it would be a great restaurant by the pool but we were upset that we weren't able to enjoy it.
It was nice that you are able to use their snorkel equipment for the whole week. The views from our room were stunning because we were high up we were an.e to overlook the bay. The closeness to the ferries and town were great and the fact that it is far enough away from the cruise ports. We did enjoy our stay here and do recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, today
Mary,

Thank you for the review. I apologize about the restaurant. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is now open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We hope to see you again soon!

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
41
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed here in early December just before peak season. We did book directly through the resort, and had excellent service and prompt shuttles about the property and to nearby Red Hook ferries and Coki Beach,

I was a bit disconcerted at first that our villa was far from the lobby and worried about waiting to get there for taxis and shuttles off the property, But it was quickly clear that staff was ready to get us within five minutes day or night! (The shuttle was available for off-resort trips until around 7:30 and around the resort until 11.)

We had been given a complimentary upgrade to one of the best villas on the property (go for B-1 or B-2 if you can get it!) The villa was lovely and had an amazing view of the water, easy access to a private, beach-front cove and was a standing building with only two units,The villa was a bit rundown, with a few broken bits here and there, but considering the price as compared to most on the island, we were fine with it. Everything was sparkling clean. Wifi worked great. We had a full kitchen, comfortable bed, huge TV, living room and a lovely balcony with deck chairs to soak up sun and scents, The ocean waves made for the best nighttime lullabies,

Coki Beach, just across the water, can get a bit rambunctious at night and the noise is not anything the resort has control over, We didn't mind it, but if you want super-quiet, be sure to discuss the best rooms with the staff before booking.

A downside for me was the plethora of mosquitoes eating me alive at night. The villa had shutters rather than glass, and we learned that keeping them open to island breezes all day created nightly havoc. Bring DEET if, like me, you have sweet blood.

The bar serves a very limited menu, but all we had was delicious. Being vegan, I presented a bit of a challenge to the staff, but they brought me dishes of yummy beans, sweet potato mash (intensely good) and made a vegan salad just for me,

As great as the view and villa were, the staff are the true standouts of the stay. Anthony and Nakisha greeted us and were fun and personable as well as full of helpful information. Aaron took personal time to fix a broken phone and was always friendly and gracious. And the standouts were Jackie and Willie, who gave us lots of rides, tips on the island, and good advice, They treated us like friends, not tourists, for which I am forever grateful.

If you seek a pristine, high-end resort that you will stay on the entire time (or want to be much closer to town) then go elsewhere, But for a personable experience that gives you a great time, great access to ferries and beaches and want to be with the best staff on the island, come to Point Pleasant!

Room Tip: B-1 (and the below unit, B-2) is isolated and private and one of the best at the resort,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, today
Thank you so much for the review! We all enjoyed having the two of you staying with us. We took over management of the resort this past April and are working hard on bringing all the villas up to our standards (most of the villas have screens in the windows and soon all will).

We hope to see you again soon.

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosby, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent almost 10 days at the Point Pleasant Resort with my parents and we had the most amazing vacation. The staff, including Aaron, Jackie and Willie, were so friendly and welcoming. They were so accommodating and went to extra mile to make sure that we were having a great vacation. I loved the complimentary shuttles around town. It made things so much more relaxing not having to worry about driving and finding parking at the beaches and in town. The yoga classes are great too! The views were incredible and the room was absolutely perfect. The food and service at Panga's was awesome! I can't say enough wonderful things about the Point Pleasant Resort. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Jaimie,

Thank you for your post and comments about our team members. You have no idea how rewarding it is for all of us at Point Pleasant Resort to read nice reviews from our guests.

Thank you,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a trip here on December 9th -13th and had an amazing time!!!!... the staff was wonderful and very kind. The best part of the Trip i have to say was the Spa!!!!. Its fairly new and the owner Bev was so helpfull. i got a 30 minute massage and it was everything!!!!!. if you come to this resort you should defiantly try the spa out!... it also has the ani gravity yoga for those who loves yoga!!!.. TRY IT OUT!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Joe, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A bit of a walk down hill from the parking lot to the restaurant/bar but well worth the trip. Gorgeous view and crystal clear water. The bartender makes her pain killers from scratch right down to grating the fresh nutmeg topping. Highly recommend this quaint gorgeous spot.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiance and I recently returned from our vacation to St. Thomas. While we booked our reservation through a private condo owner in the resort, the staff took wonderful care of us and even helped to rectify the situation when we had some trouble checking in due to some miscommunication with the owner of the condo.

We were welcomed with a tropical rum drink and then shuttled down to their on-site restaurant, Panga. I cannot say enough good things about the staff here. By the 2nd day, they were treating us like old friends. Anything we requested they made happen; they were very knowledgeable. Our favorite staff member even went far above and beyond to help my fiance set up a surprise proposal on the beach! To boot, he stayed to film the proposal on his phone and emailed it to us later.

We also had a fantastic couples' massage at their new spa, which was not even fully open yet but looks so beautiful and tranquil (you also have the option of having an in-room massage). The spa sits on the hilltop with beautiful views of the island and tons of natural light. The steam room opens right onto the balcony where you have the option of relaxing and enjoying a drink before/during/after your services. It didn't hurt that Mark and Julia gave us some of the best massages we've ever had and Beverly, the owner, is so warm and welcoming.

There are 3 pools to choose from and a small private beach (which is very romantic). You also have use of the adjacent beach, which is on the property of another resort (you can swim up to their beach), and shuttle service to several other local beaches (around 5 minutes away). We used the resort's snorkeling equipment one day (free of charge) and had a great time exploring the underwater life.

In short, we will definitely stay here again, and next time we will book through the resort itself as there are some additional benefits (ie, they cannot legally shuttle you off the resort if you are not the resort's guest for legal purposes). Thank you so much to the staff for helping make the most of our island vacation, and especially to Anthony, who played an instrumental role in my fiance's perfect proposal.

A word of advice - next time we come we will definitely be renting a car. It's wonderful that the resort is a bit off the beaten path, which makes it feel much more relaxing, but taxis charge per passenger and we found the prices to be significantly higher than NYC ($12 to Charlotte Amalie per person, each way; $15 to the airport). It is really nice to be so close to Red Hook, where it is easy to catch the hourly ferry to St. John for the day. If you go into Red Hook, we recommend Fish Tails for great food and drinks and, although we are far too old for most Senor Frog's locations, this one is a bit different as it is not in a touristy area and has cheap, strong drinks. For burgers and beers, you MUST go to Tap and Still (seriously, best brown paper bag burgers) and for groceries, visit Moe's right across the street, which is a typical grocery store with a huge upstairs wine selection. We heard some other couples complain about their prices, but we found it to be about on par with what we pay for groceries in Manhattan. If you've forgotten something basic at the grocery store, Point Pleasant often had it available in their little store section.

Room Tip: The hilltop rooms have fantastic views - we would recommend staying up there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a package vacation with Expedia expecting to be staying at a place called Antilles. Our shuttle driver took us to Sapphire Resort's office where we learned we were booked into Pt Pleasant into a lovely unit at least 200' above sea level with a breathtaking view of a bay, islands, and Tortola in the distance. Our unit was not managed by the folks at Pt Pleasant, so just as another reviewer experienced, our access to shuttle transportation was confusing.
The staff at both sapphire and Pt Pleasant were most congenial and wiling to help within their sharply defined scopes.
Next time, I will insist on a clearer picture of exactly where we will be staying and exactly who will be providing amenities. Caveat emptor!

Room Tip: We were in "D" bloc-- views were amazing including frequent rainbows, but its quite a trek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
The Point Pleasant Resort listing on Expedia is listed as "Point Pleasant Resort". Point Pleasant Resort is managed by Akers Ellis Resort Management.

There is another listing on Expedia under the name "Antilles at Point Pleasant". That listing is for a rental agency that manages a few villas at Point Pleasant that are not part of the larger resort operation. Their office is located several miles down the road at Sapphire Resort.

I hope that helps provide further clarity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, and private and secluded Sugar Beach. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa and the waterfront restaurant Panga. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.