We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came as Guests, Arrived as Friends, Left as Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free in-room WIFI
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Came as Guests, Arrived as Friends, Left as Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I loved our stay at Point Pleasant. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and the welcome the staff gave us was fantastic. (Including the wedding song and a bottle of Champaign and a joke). The staff is just amazing, Jeff and Lori are great hosts, we ran into them in Red Hook one night and ended up joining them at their table sharing a few drinks and great conversation, later some of the staff joined us as well, It felt just like any Saturday night at home with our good friends that we have known for years. As I said earlier the staff is just amazing. Anthony, Aaron, Emma, Heather, Raquel, Jackie, Willie and Charlie are so friendly and helpful. Being there on off season, we had to eat in town a lot, the locations they all recommended were fantastic. I could go on and on about them. The best review I can say is, we will back, so ready or not guys were coming……

Room Tip: We stayed in A2 and had a pitcure perfect views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are definitely ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wethersfield, Connecticut
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a wonderful resort! My boyfriend and I spent 8 days at the resort in September 2014 and cant say enough about the wonderful service we received.
We stayed in E4 and loved the view and the sound of the water, was close to pool and the beach.. Jeff,Aaron and staff were wonderful when we had to move to another villa because of road paving, they helped us move and the villa D23 was breathtaking! the view was incredible!
Willie and Charlie are awesome! they were always available to drive us to town or offer things to do and places to eat!
At the end of the vacation my boyfriend proposed to me and they were just as excited as our families.
Thank you for a wonderful experience and we will be back since we plan on getting married on the island!

Room Tip: lower villas are great if you want to be on the water upper villas are great if you want fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Andy and Felicia, We loved having you at the resort and are very happy for the both of you. We wish you all the best in your new life and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I enjoyed our stay September 12-16. The resort was has excellent ocean views and incredible sunrises. We aren't morning people so we would wake up to see the sun rising and go back to sleep afterwards. The people at the resort are very friendly and will go above and beyond to make your stay the best possible. One big word of advice: Make sure you book directly through the resort. I had originally booked through Travelocity however 2 weeks before the trip learned that my reservation was through a different management company located off-site. I tried calling the off-site management company to confirm my reservation and could not get a hold of them. That is when I decided to cancel my Travelocity reservation and book directly with Point Pleasant Resort where I could select the room we wanted.
We were there during the slow season and there were not that many activities going on however, we were not there for the activities, we were there to enjoy the beaches and the island. The shuttle (or more like personal drivers) took us to Red Hood 5-10 mins away and to Coki beach 5 mins away. Coki has some good snorkeling however Honeymoon beach in St. Johns was our favorite. At Honeymoon beach, we saw schools of fish, sting rays, a turtle and best of all we had the entire beach to ourselves and another 3-4 other people.
I look forward to coming back and having some rum and root beer with Jeff, the staff was excellent and the already great resort is continually improving by expanding the on-site amenities. Jeff in the Akers Ellis management company has a great vision for the resort and understands that the guest's satisfaction is what will keep them coming back to Point Pleasant. The resort is great,the staff is excellent and of course the beaches in the area are the best in the world.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Eddie, Thank you so much for the review. We enjoyed getting to know you and look forward to your return. (We will always have rum waiting for you but I am not sure about Aaron's rum and root beer concoction. :) )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to St. Thomas in August 2014 for a 6 night Honeymoon and we stayed at Point Pleasant Resort. The resort was very quiet and our villa was clean and had awesome views! The island as a whole is very hilly, so staying in one of the top villas gives the best view of the pristine, clear blue waters. Every morning we woke up to water views without getting out of bed and ate breakfast on the balcony. There is a security guard at the entrance of the resort for added safety. At check in you are greeted and given a packet that gives you an abundance of information about amenities/activities on and off the property. Someone from the staff sits down with you personally to go over the information and answer any questions. The entire staff was very professional and helpful at all times. The villa was decorated nicely and furnished with everything similar to a timeshare. The kitchen was supplied with everything you would need to prepare and eat meals including a full sized refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, etc. There is a complimentary on site shuttle service, which can also take you to places off property for a donation. There are only two places on property to eat, but we went grocery shopping and either cooked or ate out in town. The grocery stores can be quite pricey, but in comparison to eating out every meal it was a good option for us. There is a small private beach on the property, but there are many beaches on the island that you would want to explore including the internationally known Magens Bay Beach. The resort itself does not really offer much with regards to activities/entertainment other than snorkeling, swimming and kayaking. So, we especially enjoyed taking an island tour, going to neighboring Sugar Bay Resort's Carnival Night on Thursday, going swimming/snorkeling at Coki Beach, taking a ferry to St. Johns for the day, going downtown talking with and buying items from the vendors at the straw market and eating at restaurants serving local cuisine. The fish at Coki Beach swim up about 10 ft from the shore line and we fed them biscuits that can we bought from a vendor.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are thrilled that you had a great time and we would love to be your hosts again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Enjoyed the most amazing birthday weekend at Point Pleasant Resort! The villa I stayed in, D23, was pristine, with a gorgeous view and ALL the comforts of home - not to mention Point Pleasant Resort boasts a top rated and fully accommodating management staff. Truly paradise - a wonderful property all the way around. The Resort has new amenities on the horizon ... with Point Wellness Spa Grand Opening - October 25th - Aerial Yoga and more. Also proximal to Red Hook, great beaches and shopping. Don't miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff A, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Cyndi, Thank you so much for your review. We cannot wait to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

The resort was very nice and we had a Good view. We stayed in C6. The only problem was that the air conditioning unit was not working very well and would not cool the room properly. The bedroom ceiling fan was also broken. Other than that, everyone was very nice and the service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for the comments. We have been working very hard getting the AC unit in the villa fully repaired. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Mr. Acker and his team do an excellent job of providing personal service at this resort!!
My villa was clean, comfortable and had a view one can only dream of. They do not have direct access to the beach, but the shuttle drives you down (about 5 min) to Coki and picks you up on request at no charge. I also stayed another corporate hotel (because it was too late to cancel), and the rooms and service could not compare. They were actually quite terrible (I will review them next). I would recommend staying at Point Pleasant but playing on St. John Trunk/ Cinnamon beach. All beaches on St Thomas are public so you can still visit the beaches at other resorts if you desire. I will definitely be back and will stay at this resort when I do.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. Your stay of one night was way to short. We wish we would have had more time with you because somehow you must of missed our very own beach, Sugar Beach. It is small but we think it is cool because it is private and secluded. Oh well, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, and private and secluded Sugar Beach. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa and the waterfront restaurant Panga. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.