We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Save Saved
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romance Package for $239!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The resort was very nice and we had a Good view. We stayed in C6. The only problem was that the air conditioning unit was not working very well and would not cool the room properly. The bedroom ceiling fan was also broken. Other than that, everyone was very nice and the service was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the comments. We have been working very hard getting the AC unit in the villa fully repaired. Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mr. Acker and his team do an excellent job of providing personal service at this resort!!
My villa was clean, comfortable and had a view one can only dream of. They do not have direct access to the beach, but the shuttle drives you down (about 5 min) to Coki and picks you up on request at no charge. I also stayed another corporate hotel (because it was too late to cancel), and the rooms and service could not compare. They were actually quite terrible (I will review them next). I would recommend staying at Point Pleasant but playing on St. John Trunk/ Cinnamon beach. All beaches on St Thomas are public so you can still visit the beaches at other resorts if you desire. I will definitely be back and will stay at this resort when I do.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for the nice comments. Your stay of one night was way to short. We wish we would have had more time with you because somehow you must of missed our very own beach, Sugar Beach. It is small but we think it is cool because it is private and secluded. Oh well, hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the ONLY place I will ever stay during my trips to St. Thomas! The value alone is remarkable! The REAL deal is the amazing rooms, which are more like your own private condos. Complete with a full kitchen, dining area, living room space and a great size bedroom. The staff on site are ALWAYS willing to go above and beyond to help with transportation, answers questions, and make suggetions on attractions. I felt as if I were staying with my very own family. I would postpone a trip before I stayed anywhere else! This is the perfect place to make your St. Thomas stay flawless!! A+ resort!!

Room Tip: All rooms are equally amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at Point Pleasant August 9-15. It was the best 7 days we have ever encountered on any vacation! The trip was booked thru AAA Travel and the suite we were given was A-16. We had to check in off -site with the 'old' management company. I was mildly disappointed with suite assignment until we actually saw it. The resort is on the side of a mountain literally, in an excellent location- close but yet far away enough from the crowds; somewhat rustic, and it offers tranquility that a lot of the other upscale resorts do not...
Negative= When we arrived at the suite we found that the AC did not work. After several phone calls ( and several hours waiting) to prior management company they got someone to come and get it running.. We cooled off with a suggested"painkiller" at dinner and suddenly forgot all the problems! (make it a point to book accommodations directly through Point Pleasant). The suite was very clean, kitchen had plenty of utensils, plates, etc. for cooking meals and the bed had a great mattress for the travel weary to flop on...and of course there was a panorama of the islands from inside the room...
The People= Mr. Jeff Akers, Aaron, Emma, Willie, Charlie, Ralph, Patsy, Anthony, and many others made sure we were taken care of after our check-in; whether suggestions for sightseeing, shopping, and then getting us there safely! We felt as if we were out-of-town family here...We learned a lot about the Virgin Islands from Willie and Charlie in our rides to and from the many places we visited.Their patience, advice, and service was appreciated greatly (Restaurant alert: Tap & Still in Redhook has the best hamburgers rivaling or bettering Five Guys. .And, Magens Bay is the most beautiful beach we have ever seen...
We would suggest that you take in the Morningstar Sailboat charter with Mike, Captain Michael, and Macy and it was hands down the highlight our vacation; especially when a local barracuda tried to eat my Go Pro camera right out of Macy's hands! The sail, the snorkeling, the food & drinks; our sailing mates Mark and Katie, David and Amanda all made the trip a very memorable one.
Sugar Beach is a hidden gem at the resort- it was a great place to learn to snorkel for the first time without a lot of people watching you choke on sea water! Should have tried it first in the pristine lower swimming pool.. I will stop my review here... You have to take ours and many others word for it... you can only read so much about how nice the resort is, how great the staff is, and how beautiful this place is. We made the decision to see it for ourselves. Boy are we glad we did....so get to the Point...soon!....... Homesick in VA for the islands :(

Room Tip: If you want close to the water go with B suites. A suites are higher up the hill but offer good vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We miss you too. We really enjoyed getting to know such a wonderful and delightful couple. We keep looking around the lobby for you! Please hurry back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Akers Ellis Management provides free kayaking, snorkeling, shuttle service and awesome cocktails for happy hour. ..Use Akers Ellis to reserve your room
And you will find a place you want to come back..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here the last week in July 2014. After doing minimal research on this resort prior to booking it , we were somewhat skeptical upon arrival. However as soon as we got to the resort we were greeted by Anthony. He was very welcoming and made us feel right at home. He took us kayaking, helped us plan our our trip day by day and even planned a surprise special anniversary dinner for us. Anthony was hands down the best coordinator I have ever had on a vacation. He was funny, personable and very down to earth ! We can not thank Anthony and the entire Point Pleasant staff for making our trip a very memorable one. The rooms were very clean and had amazing views. We will definitely be back in the future :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

At the end of July (2014) we enjoyed one of the best vacations of our lives, 8 days and nights in unit E-15 at the Point Pleasant resort.

E-15, located near the top of Point Pleasant, is a cozy, clean and updated studio-sized condo with a very comfortable king bed, full kitchen equipped with utensils, plates, glasses and cookware, and a separate seating area with a satellite flat-screen TV and DVD player. There is free wi-fi. The upper swimming pool (one of 3 at Point Pleasant) is a short walk away. And what a view!

Normally I am a late riser, but I was up early every morning to gaze at the vistas and plan the day. To the side of the wrap-around balcony is the bay, where Jimmy Buffet's new resort Margaritaville is set to open in the next year or two, and across the bay, Coki Beach, famous for its snorkeling and Coral World. From the front of the balcony, you can see St. John and, in the distance, Tortola and the BVI.

Point Pleasant itself, with units rising steeply from the bay to the top of the hill, is beautifully landscaped and well-maintained, with a pleasant, courteous and eager-to-please staff. The cab ride from the airport to Point Pleasant is about $15 per person. All cab rates are set, and published in the free magazine "This Week" which you can pick up at the airport.

At present at Point Pleasant, there is a bar on the bay, Panga, which serves casual food (burgers, tacos, etc.) and superb tropical cocktails; the restaurant Blue Agave, once one of the top-rated on St. Thomas, will hopefully re-open soon.

There is a small beach at the bottom of Point Pleasant where you can snorkel, adjacent to the Sugar Bay resort, which holds a carnival party you can attend on Thursday nights.

Only minutes away from Point Pleasant on the East End of the island is the village of Red Hook, which offers the best variety of dining and drinking establishments on St. Thomas. I highly recommend the Italian restaurant Pesce, and a stop for a drink at Duffy's Love Shack is mandatory. A mile or so past Red Hook is the Food Center supermarket, which sells a tasty array of delicious steaks, fresh fish and live Caribbean lobster. Also, wine, beer and a wide range of liquors, including the excellent local Cruzan rum, which is a real bargain. We saved ourselves quite a bit of money cooking and eating breakfast and dinner at the condo.

At Red Hook you catch the half-hour ferry to Cruz Bay on St. John. The ferry leaves on the hour and costs $14 round trip. From Cruz Bay, take a cab (inexpensive) to Trunk Bay, one of the best beaches in the world with legendary snorkeling. There is a $4 entry fee, it's $5 to rent snorkeling gear, and when you're done beaching it, take a shower there, change back into your street clothes, and take a cab back to Cruz Bay for drinks and dinner. Try the "oyster happy hour" at The Terrace.

As mentioned, Coki Beach is right across the bay; besides the snorkeling, they serve fantastic fresh Mango daiquiris (and beer) as you sit on the beach. Also close by is Sapphire Beach, which has good snorkeling and plenty of shade trees. At the entrance to Sapphire (with limited hours in the off-season) is the highly recommended barbecue truck Off the Grid.

Also at Sapphire, you can catch a day sail to St. John and various snorkeling spots aboard the 57-foot sailboat Nightwind (340-775-7017). For $115 (if paid in cash), you sail from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., make at least two stops, with an open bar all day, fresh fruit and pastries when you board, and a delicious lunch. They take up to 15 passengers, but there were only six of us the day we sailed. I have been on many day sails to go snorkeling, in St. Thomas, Puerto Rico, the Florida Keys and Barbados, and the trip aboard the Nightwind was the best.

Point Pleasant offers complimentary transportation to Coki, Sapphire and Red Hook. (Be sure to tip!) And avoid Coki after dark.

Another caveat: When the cruise ships are in port at Charlotte Amalie (as many as 9 a day in-season!) the beaches – Coki, Sapphire and Magen's Bay on the other side of St. Thomas – can be overwhelmed with people from about 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The magazine "This Week" and the local paper the St. Thomas Daily News publish cruise ship schedules so you can avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Pleasant Resort is proudly operated and managed by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, situated on the hillside 15-acre preserve overlooking beautiful Water Bay, Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, small and secluded Sugar Beach, and the waterfront Panga Restaurant. A second restaurant and spa will open soon. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.