We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Point Pleasant Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 30% through 12/31/14
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

At the end of July (2014) we enjoyed one of the best vacations of our lives, 8 days and nights in unit E-15 at the Point Pleasant resort.

E-15, located near the top of Point Pleasant, is a cozy, clean and updated studio-sized condo with a very comfortable king bed, full kitchen equipped with utensils, plates, glasses and cookware, and a separate seating area with a satellite flat-screen TV and DVD player. There is free wi-fi. The upper swimming pool (one of 3 at Point Pleasant) is a short walk away. And what a view!

Normally I am a late riser, but I was up early every morning to gaze at the vistas and plan the day. To the side of the wrap-around balcony is the bay, where Jimmy Buffet's new resort Margaritaville is set to open in the next year or two, and across the bay, Coki Beach, famous for its snorkeling and Coral World. From the front of the balcony, you can see St. John and, in the distance, Tortola and the BVI.

Point Pleasant itself, with units rising steeply from the bay to the top of the hill, is beautifully landscaped and well-maintained, with a pleasant, courteous and eager-to-please staff. The cab ride from the airport to Point Pleasant is about $15 per person. All cab rates are set, and published in the free magazine "This Week" which you can pick up at the airport.

At present at Point Pleasant, there is a bar on the bay, Panga, which serves casual food (burgers, tacos, etc.) and superb tropical cocktails; the restaurant Blue Agave, once one of the top-rated on St. Thomas, will hopefully re-open soon.

There is a small beach at the bottom of Point Pleasant where you can snorkel, adjacent to the Sugar Bay resort, which holds a carnival party you can attend on Thursday nights.

Only minutes away from Point Pleasant on the East End of the island is the village of Red Hook, which offers the best variety of dining and drinking establishments on St. Thomas. I highly recommend the Italian restaurant Pesce, and a stop for a drink at Duffy's Love Shack is mandatory. A mile or so past Red Hook is the Food Center supermarket, which sells a tasty array of delicious steaks, fresh fish and live Caribbean lobster. Also, wine, beer and a wide range of liquors, including the excellent local Cruzan rum, which is a real bargain. We saved ourselves quite a bit of money cooking and eating breakfast and dinner at the condo.

At Red Hook you catch the half-hour ferry to Cruz Bay on St. John. The ferry leaves on the hour and costs $14 round trip. From Cruz Bay, take a cab (inexpensive) to Trunk Bay, one of the best beaches in the world with legendary snorkeling. There is a $4 entry fee, it's $5 to rent snorkeling gear, and when you're done beaching it, take a shower there, change back into your street clothes, and take a cab back to Cruz Bay for drinks and dinner. Try the "oyster happy hour" at The Terrace.

As mentioned, Coki Beach is right across the bay; besides the snorkeling, they serve fantastic fresh Mango daiquiris (and beer) as you sit on the beach. Also close by is Sapphire Beach, which has good snorkeling and plenty of shade trees. At the entrance to Sapphire (with limited hours in the off-season) is the highly recommended barbecue truck Off the Grid.

Also at Sapphire, you can catch a day sail to St. John and various snorkeling spots aboard the 57-foot sailboat Nightwind (340-775-7017). For $115 (if paid in cash), you sail from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m., make at least two stops, with an open bar all day, fresh fruit and pastries when you board, and a delicious lunch. They take up to 15 passengers, but there were only six of us the day we sailed. I have been on many day sails to go snorkeling, in St. Thomas, Puerto Rico, the Florida Keys and Barbados, and the trip aboard the Nightwind was the best.

Point Pleasant offers complimentary transportation to Coki, Sapphire and Red Hook. (Be sure to tip!) And avoid Coki after dark.

Another caveat: When the cruise ships are in port at Charlotte Amalie (as many as 9 a day in-season!) the beaches – Coki, Sapphire and Magen's Bay on the other side of St. Thomas – can be overwhelmed with people from about 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The magazine "This Week" and the local paper the St. Thomas Daily News publish cruise ship schedules so you can avoid the crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cherryville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Everyone has been wonderful here. From the moment we stepped onto the property!! We have been catered to and taken care of by all of the staff. The views are 5star. The condo is perfect. The little beach they have is perfect. The location in reference to things to do is perfect. The lower swimming pool right by the ocean is beautiful. A shuttle to everything is an added plus. They have taken us to Megan's Bay Beach and to the ferry to St John and on another day to shopping and to eat dinner. We are extremely happy. Coming . Back next year !!!

Room Tip: Up on the hill or down on the bottom doesn't matter, still a great view !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for this five stars review! We are happy you are happy and hope we have another opportunity to treat you again! Come back and see us soon:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed at Point Pleasant Resorts on August 1-3, 2014, I am familiar with this property because I worked there for 9 years with the two previous management companies. However, the current management company Ellis Akers under the direction of Jeff and Laurie have taken Point Pleasant Resort to the stratosphere. I was amazed by the improvements made to both lobbies. I was greeted by Anthony and Vincia and within 10 minutes I was in my room admiring the views from the highest point of the property. The legendary bellman Charlie and Willie were awesome when I needed to go elsewhere on the property there were prompt and so charming. The room was spotless – Marie your still the best. I must mention the property manager Larry Stokes he has revealed the true hidden beauty and magnificent views of Point Pleasant with the improvements made to the landscape, beautification and signage. To the maintenance crew and Claudine I enjoyed myself….I will be back next month. I would encourage everyone to make Point Pleasant Resort your vacation spot on St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. call 888.619.4010 and tell them Shellie Tobias sent you.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room for magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We came here for our 30th anniversary,What a GREAT place to stay,3 pools, bar, help desk. It was just amazing,the beauty,the views,all spectacular,We will be back again,you can bet on that!! Loved it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
What an honor that you chose to spend your 30th anniversary with us at Point Pleasant! Thank you for that and of course, CONGRATULATIONS again from all of us here!! We wish you all of the best and another 30 years of marital bliss- Keep in touch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This resort has the best view and truly unique and affordable villa-style accommodations. The staff members were quite friendly and helpful (especially Anthony). I loved the free snorkeling/kayaking adventure and would recommend it it to anyone who chooses to stay at the hotel. Now, our room had a bit of an ant problem that I did not enjoy and that detracted a bit from the overall experience. The hotel provided us with ant spray, but I think they may really need to invest in better pest control. I am more understanding of it in this humid, tropical environment, however, than I would be back home in the states. The hotel also lacked wifi, but they are apparently planning on rolling it out soon.

On transportation, please know that it is not terribly easy to just walk around this area of the island for exploration.I recommend taking the local "safari" ($1/$2 bus) for transportation and great views of the community during the day. The hotel also has a shuttle that runs until the early evening, but we found the service to be somewhat sporadic and slow. (10 minutes is never 10 minutes).

All in all, I would definitely consider staying here again if I were looking for another budget-friendly stay on St. Thomas.Nothing beats going to sleep and waking up to the sound of waves lapping against the shoreline.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your stay, We too prefer the sugar birds to sugar ants but would love to know which unit you stayed in so we may better address this specific room. We hope you keep in touch and come back and see us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have never been to the Caribbean and was unsure of what St Thomas had in store for my boyfriend and I. Let me start off by saying that St Thomas is amazing and that we are already looking to visit again! Point Pleasant Resort is our new home away from home. The staff is amazing and works tirelessly to make sure you are enjoying your vacation to the fullest extent. They offer free amenities such as snorkel gear, yoga, kayak tours, and shuttle services around the east end of the island. The staff is extremely flexible and it shows that you are their number one priority. My boyfriend and I really wanted to do the kayak tour but unfortunately it was full. However, the kayak guide, Anthony, offered to give us our own private tour later that afternoon. It was an extremely cool experience to be able to Kayak around Water Bay and learn about the history. Anthony is hilarious and will make sure you have a wonderful time. Fair warning, he loves to joke around; he tricked my boyfriend into tipping the boat so that we both fell into the water! Aaron the activities manager is someone everyone should get to know! He set us up on an incredible charter to St Johns through Morning Star. It was easily the best day of our trip. Through the charter we got to snorkel with sea turtles and stingrays and have a delicious meal on a sailboat. He can also set you up on other amazing trips to almost any island you can think of! The resort is set on a hill and walking can get extremely tiring. However, Charlie and Willie, the drivers of the free shuttle service, will pick you up from anywhere on the resort and take you to one of the many local beaches, the local nightlife Red Hook, or even to a grocery store. The resort is on the East End of the island, which according to locals is the "country side". However we found Point Pleasant's location to be much more entertaining than the tourist trap we found the downtown to be. The resort is in the perfect location where it is steps away from Coki beach, Coral world, and jet skiing. It is also minutes away from other beaches and the nightlife. Our villa (D30) had just been renovated and it showed. The gorgeous interior enhanced the already spectacular view of water bay. Waking up to a view like that was surreal. The villa owner, Robin, made sure that anything you needed was already there including sunscreen and towels. The resort itself is going through major renovations that will definitely enhance the look of the resort. The spa will be open in October and my boyfriend and I are super excited to try aerial yoga, something we had never heard of before. The spa owner, Beverly Goodwine, is very accommodating and while the spa itself isn't open yet you are still able to receive massages in the comfort of your own villa. Also if you ask nicely she is more than willing to give you a tour of the gorgeous space that will soon host the spa! The staff is extremely close knit which makes the resort feel more homey. We ran into all of them at one of the local bars, Duffy's, and they all pulled up chairs like we were old friends. It made for a great night out. ​All in all the experience I had while visiting St Thomas was incredible and I thank the wonderful staff of Point Pleasant for that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are so happy to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us so much! Its magical to hear your detailed experience and we hope your plans to return are quickly coming to fruition! Who knows, maybe we will even see you at Duffys again;) Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Will Stay here again and again... Good deal and worth every penny...Point Pleasant is located on the east end of St Thomas, just past Red Hook. All of the condo's have a view of Water Bay - Wake up to watch a spectacular sunrise from YOUR BALCONY .. watch the tree iguanas relax from your perch... you can see about thirteen islands... fantastic. We rented a vehicle, easier to get around. Only takes a couple of minutes to get down to town Red Hook. Lots of good restaurants there - Molly Malone's Irish Pub - A great place to hang out and have a few -Duffy's Love Shack - Grocery store, etc.... You can catch the ferry to St. John in Red Hook. Do It !!! Full kitchen... restaurant on site, pools.. We did our own cleaning, etc....

Room Tip: When we checked the various options we looked for a upper floor (only two / three story) for better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincia S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you and your family for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your feedback! We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, operated by Akers Ellis Resort Management. Situated on a 15-acre hillside preserve, the resort overlooks beautiful Water Bay, the Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, WIFI, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, and private and secluded Sugar Beach. The resort is home to Point Wellness Spa and the waterfront restaurant Panga. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.