We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo B4” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Save Saved
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Point Pleasant Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Condo B4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I rented condo B4 through VRBO. com-- it was an awesome location ( closet to the water, right by the small beach, and a 3 minute walk to the restaurant/pool) with an incredible view! Shawn, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating. This condo was updated with a newer kitchen/bathroom, very clean-- he also is one of the owners that has access to the kayaks/snorkel gear/shuttle service. Beware of renting other units because if they don't pay certain fees you have no option to use the activities/ shuttle/ even talk to the hotel. The shuttle service was great and picked us up at any movement (thanks Willie) and brought us to the front to catch the open air bus to Red hook etc. There is also a free service to Lindquist beach which is worth taking advantage of. We loved Panga's (used to be Jack's)- great Pain Killers, great views, and good food, although a small menu. The resort is very close to Lindquist Beach, Red Hook area with great restaurants and the ferry to St. John, which was definitely worth a day trip. Also, Sean the activities coordinator was great at organizing boat trips (New Horizons day trip to the BVI was awesome), as well as any information we needed. Overall, the trip was very relaxing, and I HIGHLY recommend renting unit B4 for the best stay!
One caution is that the hotel seems to use the same taxi guy ( Terrell)-- he was timely, but we felt like he was ripping us off as he charged us 15 dollars for a 3 minute ride while the airport 30 min away cost 30$ with another cab company. It was a little awkward to discuss pricing with him, especially since he was closely affiliated with the resort.

Room Tip: Unit B4 is great! Be cautious of the D units ( VERY high up and a hike to the restaurant etc), and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    146
    62
    48
    34
See reviews for
77
140
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudsonville, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Point pleasant was a nice place to stay. The location was perfect-east end near red hook which has lots of shopping, restaurants and boat dock to the BVI. Staff was very friendly. The resort is nestled into a hillside/mountain=lots of stairs and walking up and down hills. Lots of pools at different levels in the hill to choose from. Private beach with only 5 lounge chairs, perfect swimming area and great snorkeling. Waterside restaurant with good drinks, good food and love music most days. Would recommend a car while on the island and at this resort as you are far from Charlotte amale and the airport and taxis can get expensive. We had other friends in a different room which was much more updated and nicer (marble countertops and all re done bathrooms)-ours was pretty outdated and not "luxurious." The view made up for the lack of amenities. You do have to pay $4 a day for a safe in the room. Overall though was very pleased with the value, the view, location and staff. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a hilltop suite. It was an beautiful view with a huge wrap around balcony overlooking the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned back from two weeks at Point Pleasant Resort E6 condo. Alan was great to deal with and very helpful with information.The condo was clean onn arrival and the views are amazing.Very friendly people at the office,lots of exercise their climbing the hills which felt great at the end of the 2 weeks.We ate at the resturant Pangas a few times,food was good and very convenient to get to.We had a car and travelled over to St. John's saw the beautiful beaches their.It was a great holiday and would return again sometime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

checked in on 01/23/13 left 01/30/13 people rave about building C ~~ yes , there's million dollar views ~ but in living there you're just getting by with the bare basic's - I felt as if I were camping out in the condo - the condition of the bathroom & kitchen we're not-so-good. The sliding doors misaligned as the old building's are settling- with the doors completely shut -there were 1/8 in "gaps" in the door frames , allowing spiders/ sand fly's to get in - - I got bit to pieces the first night.. until we paid $14 for some bug spray (the desk ignored my request to spray) for St Thomas prices this property is probably still a good value ( if you don't care about living in style) But, P.P. Seems safe and "Jacks" is a great place for a $14 burger (I found out later from a guy at the MIA airport it would be better to get a VRBO condo at P.P. -they are a cleaner condo & better price). or better yet, just go to a different island -Perhaps Antigua ( city of St. John's) we did take the ferry to the island of St.John in USVI ~ Seem's like we were "steered" to visit Cinnamon bay for snorkeling by the activities director at Point Pleasant. He said the Snorkeling was "great" there. It wasn't ` for the most part - sandy bottom ~+ no fresh water shower at the facility's either. So we paid $28 a piece RT to get there.. for no snorkeling. The reefs I did see = we're just ok. The intensity of the color of coral has been diminished over the years from the thousands& thousands of tourists wearing sun-tan oil - which helps kill off the reefs. Still - Cinnamon bay, like the rest of St. John is a beautiful place to be. I guess I should have done more homework on getting to the best snorkeling there. The Budget place at the airport STT did not tell me I had an upgraded car when I checked it out _-so.. it's $200 more than I thought I was paying for that week of rental . .( seriously, they just said: we've got another car for you . with a larger trunk & handed me the keys - no paperwork) but I was lucky I got a car anyway because there were so many people in line. So, watch your rental contract. We fought & fought with them through Orbitz & they refused to take the charges off - they even hung up on Orbitz & us (twice) trying to get assistance from them.

Room Tip: it would be better to get a VRBO condo at P.P. -they are a cleaner condo & better price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

View Great but so is the need to improve. Room was only spot cleaned at our arrival, with TV left on. The sliding doors and blinds need to be worked on and cleaned. Front desk and activities staff warm and friendly, along with being informative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Point Pleasant and absolutely loved it. Most relaxing vacation ever. Stayed on the hilltop and could lay in my bed and look out at the bay. There was a lot of hiking up and down the hill, but it felt good to be getting exercise. Jacks has been renamed Panga's and food is okay, but they don't serve breakfast. Had to walk to Coki beach and didn't mind the walk at all. Beach was beautiful and did fill up when the cruise ship traffic arrived. Locals more than willing to provide chairs, umbrella's, food and drink for a price.

if you're looking for action then this is not the place for you. If you want to enjoy some quiet time and relaxation, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful view. Then stay here. Views in StThomas never change. Hotels, well that is different. I was here in the late 1980's. Here is the good.
The view, the view and the view.

Not so good is mostly everything else. No beach so if you think there is one you can think all you want...because there is no beach. Take the ferry over to St John or go to Megans Bay.

The Hotel sit's on what I would call "cliff" so getting around is not easy. This is a very low key enviorment so please do not expect them to roll out the carpet with ooddles of night life either.

I'll put it this way Point Pleasent needs an major update to become more pleasent to me. Overall it was clean but come one ownes...lets update and make the effort for return guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello my name is Larry Stokes, the new Resort General Manager here at Point Pleasant in the US Virgin Islands. First I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property and your stay with us. Your comments and concerns are very important and will help our owners, partners and management team make the changes necessary to create a true Caribbean vacation destination. Point Pleasant is a beautiful hillside 17 acre Resort with breathtaking Ocean views, three newly updated large swimming pools, on site Sailing Charter service, water sports and two newly remodeled restaurants that will reopen November 2013. I hope you will consider staying with in the future, If you chose to give Point Pleasant Resort a second chance I guarantee you will experience a positive deference in customer service and the overall quality of your visit. Give Point Pleasant Resort a second chance and upon your arrival I will present you with a $100.00 dinning certificate as our way of saying thanks for your support, redeemable at the new Panga and Agave restaurants. Again thank you for your comments and support.

Sincerely,

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, situated on the hillside 15-acre preserve overlooking beautiful Water Bay, Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, small and secluded Sugar Beach, and the waterfront Panga Restaurant. A second restaurant and spa will open soon. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.