We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point Pleasant Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
Point Pleasant Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
newton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great location, we can just walk to coki bay, which has great snorkeling spots and not far from red hook ferry either. But the room does not look as nice as it's pictured and there is no wi-fi in the room as it says in the description when we booked online. But overall, it's quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry S, General Manager at Point Pleasant Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our Resort. Your comments are important and help us continue to improve our guest experience at Point Pleasant. This year we have made several improvements and upgrades to enhance our guest’s vacation stay. Coming in December 2013 the Blue Agave Restaurant and Point Wellness Spa will open. Our waterfront restaurant Panga is just completing renovations and will be open in November. We hope you visit us again soon and enjoy the new amenities Point Pleasant has to offer.
Best Wishes from the Caribbean’s best!

Larry Stokes
Resort General Manager
lsppoamanager@yahoo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    146
    62
    48
    34
See reviews for
77
140
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went to Point Pleasant on our honeymoon and have been back since. This time we went back with our 2 young sons. We rented a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit way up high on the hill. It had gorgeous views, lots of space and was beautifully appointed. We really enjoyed our time there...it's so quiet and secluded but close to lots of things to do and beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I wish I could give this place 10 stars!!! We had a fantastic week! We stayed in newly renovated B4, which has the best views... We would wake and watch the turtles feed on the turtle grass, then go to the Private beach (a short walk from our room) and go snorkeling right there! We loved breakfast, lunch,& dinner at Jack's. Everything on the menu AMAZING, my favorite was the breakfast burrito-I have never had a better one! There are 3 pools & each one has different views, we took a short walk to Coral World. The property has a shuttle to assist you down to the main gate to get a taxi, or even a dollar shuttle, a short 2 minute ride into Red Hook. Catch a ferry over to St. John's for the day, enjoy the beach & shops, and of course a sunset dinner. We brought our 5 year old son with us & he had the greatest time!! My son loved all the iguanas just hanging out in the trees and the little lizards roaming around, I asked him waht his favorite was "Swimming with the fish". We cannot wait to go back to Point Pleasant on St. Thomas & most def staying in B4 again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Best views on the island ... smaller boutique condo resort ... every unit has a spectacular view of Water Bay - St. John and the BVIs ... shuttle and watersports equipment provided to units that are rented thru ERM Hotel management ... if using VRBO you need to check with owner to see if they are an "official" renter ... Waterfront cocktails and dinning at Jacks ... three (3) pools but no beach ... all beaches (including private hotels) can be used by guests.

Room Tip: Junior suites and studio style. Superior suites are 1 bedroom units. Hilltop units have a seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This resort was amazing! Don't let the appearances fool you, yes it is a bit old, but most of the condos have been totally redone and are beautiful. I also loved that our condo had a balcony (as most do) that had amazing views, was less than 2 minutes walking to the beach, the pools, and the restaurant. Jack's has an amazing and friendly staff, delicious and reasonably priced food, and the best happy hour ever! The meals I ate at Jack's were the best I had on my entire trip, and we ate at other resorts, in Red Hook and on St. John. The resort is super convenient to red hook and the staff will help you set up taxis, hook you up with towels and snorkels, plan day trips for you, whatever you need, everyone was so friendly, helpful, yet also so laid back. So refreshing compared to the stiff resorts! I really enjoyed the environment and it is close to Red Hook (less than 3 miles), the shuttle comes right to the entrance, and there is free parking and wi-fi in the lobby! My stay was fantastic and I looked forward to returning to my St. Thomas home every night to relax in our condo. The condo owner was also very helpful and in touch with us the whole time making sure we were having a good time and that everything was good! (Apt B-4, Paradise on Water Bay!). Everything was amazing and I can't wait to go back and would def stay at Point Pleasant again!

Room Tip: B-4 #434714 on vrbo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I'm all about views and Pt. Pleasant didn't dissapoint. Hands down, the best views on the island. The staff was extremely helpful; Jack's restaurant was relaxed and had some of the best food on the island. It was easy to rent a jet ski, go para-sailing and even charter a boat so we could explore some other islands; Trunk Bay on St. Johns being my personal favorite. If you're not into para-sailing or jet skiing, you can sit on your balcony and watch others. We stayed in Unit B-4, which had been newly renovated from top to bottom making what little time we spent inside, just as enjoyable and comfortable. The views were amazing from literally EVERY room. A private, seculded beach was only a short walk from our unit. Right outside the resort, we caught a jitney into Red Hook for a buck, it's about a 6 minute ride. From there, ferry rides to other islands allowed us to explore. It was convenient to go or do anything we wanted from this location.
We've stayed in other resorts on St. Thomas, but Pt. Pleasant and B-4, hands down has been our favorite. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We loved our room, updated with new everything but the entire resort was built so it didn't matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I had such a great time; you will not be disappointed. The staff at Point Pleasant are very friendly and accommodating. The concierge team is really cool and down to earth; we pretty much planned our whole trip according to their suggestions and we were happy with all of them.

Unit E6 is great because the views are incredible, it's private yet close to the pool and Jack's Bight, the onsite restaurant. The owner of the unit, Alan, responded to our emails within the day and provided lots of helpful information. The unit was clean, had extra pillows, good water pressure and plenty of hot water, playing cards, a kitchen with most supplies you can think of, and the decor is just pretty and super relaxing. We left the sliding glass doors open almost all the time and relished in the ocean breeze and sound of the waves below us.

Jack's Bight is super awesome - the staff is happy to serve you and will chat you up or give you privacy depending on what you're going for. We ate there so many times (3 meals in one day, plus happy hour!) and never got sick of it. The food is good and reasonably priced.

We also visited Coki Beach, which is beautiful and easy to walk to from the resort. In Red Hook, we had drinks and dinner at Duffy's Love Shack. Again, great staff, good music with a dance floor, and amazing drinks that come in souvenir cups that are really cute.

St. John is a must-stop while in St Thomas. The ferry leaves from Red Hook, which is only a five minute drive and the beaches in St. John are just gorgeous. I recommend renting a car right in town where you get off the ferry and driving along the coast stopping at all the beaches at your own pace.

We also had a great night at Iggie's, a beachside bar/restaurant in Bolongo Bay. It's about a 10 minute cab ride from the resort. There was a live band playing covers that was awesome and we played beach volleyball with a really fun group of "mainland" Americans that are living down in St Thomas now (lucky ducks!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Point Pleasant Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Pleasant Resort

Also Known As:
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel East End
Antilles Point Pleasant Hotel
Point Pleasant Hotel
Hotel Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 6600 Estate Smith Bay | St Thomas USVI, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Point Pleasant Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to your own private paradise at Point Pleasant Resort, situated on the hillside 15-acre preserve overlooking beautiful Water Bay, Caribbean Sea, and the British and U.S. Virgin Islands. Experience unmatched service from the resort's team of professionals with over 30 years of service and knowledge of the island. 128 Independently but attractively designed villas make up our resort. With four room types from which to choose, discovering suitable accommodations is guaranteed. Each spacious villa features a fully equipped kitchen, A/C, cable TV, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, and astonishing ocean views from private balconies. Guests indulge in on-resort recreation, including three pools with sundecks, nature trail, small and secluded Sugar Beach, and the waterfront Panga Restaurant. A second restaurant and spa will open soon. Point Pleasant Resort is located on the east end of St. Thomas just five minutes from Red Hook, home to the ferry boats to neighboring islands and the best nightlife and restaurants on the island. Less than three miles away is the number one tourist attraction and best snorkeling beach on St. Thomas: Coral World and Coki Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Point Pleasant Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Pleasant Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Point Pleasant Resort to your Saves list