We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Elysian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Elysian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Some of these reviews are bogus.... The resort is nice as far as I'm concerned. the issue that I had was w/the smell of the room when we got there it wasn't stink but smelled like it had been closed off w/o fresh air in awhile. The room was clean, comfortable and nice place to come and relax after being in the tropical heat all day. I had no noisy air conditioner, Leaky water, loud fans or any of the other complains that some "Critics" have had.The stairs are manageable if your used to walking "But the whole island is one big mountain" so no matter where you go you will either be walking up an incline or stairwell. The beach was clean comfortable and calming w/the sound of the shore. I just wish that their was some kind of entertainment like a live band on the beach w/maybe a night or two w/ some beachside BBQ'n .........other than that I would go back in a heartbeat........

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    194
    78
    48
    34
See reviews for
93
208
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massillon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We exchanged a timeshare for this resort. I always say you have to take the good reports with the bad. Some people want perfection and pampering. If you want this, do not stay at a timeshare.

I only have two bad things to report 1) it took us 2 hours to find it - they need to send you better directions. Just look for the Lattitude 18 sign and keep going. I kept calling and she kept saying "Come to me" and I said "I would love to come to you, but I can't find you". Anyway we made it and never forgot where it was after that. 2) They did not have clean beach towels everyday to exchange, you had to go back in the morning or when they came in.

That is all of the bad things I can say for the place. We had a hotel style room in the building when you enter the property - not much parking up top and had to park on the next level. When we did this there were 55 steps up to the front of our building and then up one flight and down two to enter our condo. Sucks to carry luggage, but when your in paradise who cares. Just practice doing stairs before you go. Our room was very clean and our view was nice. We did not live in our unit, just slept, ate some meals, showered and sat on our deck. We only went to the beach here on our last day. There is so much to see and do on the island that we really did not stay in the room much. The pool is nice and the location is great. We do plan to come back to the island and will stay at this resort if it is available. The beds are really as comfortable as everyone says they are. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in the W building, nice view but lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

always a wonderful time at the Elysian. People are so nice and very helpful. Ms Vicki is a warm and lovely woman. She is the Heart of everything at the Elysian. When you arrive she is there to help with anything you need and when you leave she makes you feel like your leaving your home away from home. i am not sure what some of the people are complaining about. why don't they just stay at the Ritz Carlton next door if they are so unhappy. pool is great. there is a beach and two restaurants also. the rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have had a fixed week timeshare unit for close to 15 years. We have seen this resort rise and fall after sales to different owners. Most of the time our unit(s) fared better than others as it was used for shows to prospective owners-but the service and the amenities sagged all around us. Since Wyndham bought this property it has gone through a major overhaul and is better than ever! The pro pictures on the website are outdated-all the furniture seems to have been replaced. Fixtures and decor are updated and/or renewed. It is very clean and each kitchen (granite counters, tile backsplash) is fully equipped. They have replaced the rackety old A/C units with some whisper quiet ones that work sooo much better The view from the upper units is phenomenal. Yes, it is a "hike" to the beach and pool- but why not rent a car to get to this East End resort-save a fortune in taxis and drive to the beach if you like. The website mentions a fitness center, sorry, this is not true...OK Wyndham..are you addressing this? Also free wifi is only available in lobby- these few things keeps me from an excellent rating. The staff is friendly and helpful. The East End is so close and has lots of restaurants & stuff the do at night-a lot safer here than going downtown. Take the Horizon sail cruise, go to Coki & Sapphire beaches and St John-short drives to all. ( Take car ferry to ST John) The restaurants are great. We look forward to this little piece of paradise now each year.

Room Tip: Rent a car with a GPS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

To get to the resort don't use the hotels address in your GPS . You will be sent to the wrong place. GPS the Ritz up the hill and you will get better directions. The hotel is very clean and the food in the on site restaurants is very good. They have snorkel gear and some water toys for rental, but honestly for what they charge for renting a snorkel kit you are better off bringing one with you . The beach is RIGHT there you don't have to trek at all and they provide fresh beach towels as often as you want. Be prepared for iguanas especially around the pool. They love to sunbathe too! They mostly ignore the humans so don't worry.

Our only "complaint" is the room while clean was not as pretty as the rooms pictured on the website and the kitchen was not well equipped. Now in the hotel's defense most people don't come to a resort to cook their own meals. But we travel as a family on a budget and eating out 3 times a day for 4 people for 7 days just was not affordable. The grocery store was pretty close and easy to find. (but expect to pay double to triple for everything vs your at home grocery pricing)

the wifi however was terrible for us. the island seems to support AT&T more and there is still a pretty poor signal most of the time. This kept the kids off facebook for a week though so that was not exactly horrible to us parents.

Best thing...the beds! Loved the mattress and pillows. I actually slept well every night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Elysian Resort in St. Thomas is in need of a serious overhaul physically and a re-training on customer services. We went to the resort during what is considered the "low" season in St. Thomas. We arrived on the island early in the morning and proceeded to the resort. Although we knew check-in was not until 4pm, we were hopeful that we could check-in earlier and use the resort amenities until our unit was ready. We were told by Vicki (the only person covering the front desk at the time (and checking people out and distributing towels and accepting towels...was the resort operating with a skeleton crew?) that she would work with housekeeping and didn't see a problem with and earlier check-in. Having flown through the night with no sleep we let her know we appreciated the effort to try and check-in early as we were exhausted. We then spent several hours on the beach and at around 1pm walked to the front desk to ask about the status of our room. The response: "...still working with housekeeping..." Back to the beach we went, exhausted and frustrated. At 2pm we checked status again. The response was: "The room is not ready." Long story short: We were unable to check-in until 4pm. Why lead an exhausted resort guest on like this for the entire day? Why not just say to us that it will not be possible to check in until 4pm? We could have driven into town and start our vacation sightseeing, etc. But dangling the promise of an early check-in and then never delivering is unacceptable. The unit was supposed to have a view of the ocean but it was completely blocked by a pool, palm trees and shrubbery. Thus no ocean view whatsoever. The refrigerator in the unit, although looked new, was not working and had to be changed. Mid-week the changed refrigerator also began not working fully. In 100% of the resorts I have stayed in there is at least one day during the week where housekeeping comes in and refreshes linen and towels. At the Elysian this service was an extra fee. Towels and linens were made available to us at no charge but it was up to us to service or own room. The refreshed towels were stained and had that burnt looked (like when you over-dry white clothing and they take on a burnt look from the extreme heat). The resort did have a guest laundry room but it was in the same space that resort staff kept linens and towels and I was treated, one morning, to how the staff prepares dirty linen before laundering. They spray Tilex (a bathroom cleaning spray) on visible stains in linens and towels before washing. It appears that Wyndham cannot afford regular clothing and linen cleaning supplies and make due with whatever is available or handy.
When we are on vacation we expect a certain level of quality (even at timeshare resorts) and most of the time that standard of quality is met but, unfortunately, not at the Elysian. I thought that at Wyndham properties there were a minimum set of quality standards. If there are, then customer service re-training is necessary in this resort. Throughout the week, the resort seemed empty. Not very many guests and, even more alarming, not very many staff. RCI Timeshare Company and the Wyndham websites both list resort amenities including a fitness center. This is often the first amenity I look for in a resort, foregoing beautifully pictured resorts for less attractive ones simply because they don't have a fitness room. That is how important a fitness room is to our vacation experience. At Elysian, although a fitness room is advertised, there was none at the resort. Resort staff explained that the fitness room was owned by owners and not Wyndham and is no longer operational. I don't even know what that means and the bottom line is that it was falsely advertised and there was no note or email sent that indicated a fitness room was not available. We went to the Ritz-Carlton resort next door to ask if we can pay to use their fitness room and amenities since the Elysian was unable to deliver on what they advertised. Sadly, the Ritz-Carlton indicated that they stopped offering passes for non-guest use of facilities. When we communicated this to Elysian front desk staff, the response was: "Guests run on the property and swim in the pool." No other offer or even an attempt to identify a local gymnasium we could use. Other observances: beach chairs and beach accessories were worn, old, in need of repairs; beach towels were faded and frayed and at one point not even available because for some reason someone forgot to wash them to make them available to guests on demand. The experience felt like we were trapped and duped. The positive: The two restaurants on the resort "Sangria's" and Caribbean Food Market" offered wonderful menu selections and very good service by wait staff. Upon paying our bill we were unable to charge the bill to our room account. We were informed that they were not owned by Wyndham and thus were unable to charge the room for the meals. Given the distinct difference in quality and customer service between the restaurant and the resort, we were not surprised Wyndham had no hand in this dining experience.
As far as security goes; a guard was posted at the resort entrance only at night and the guard made no attempt to check the credentials of any guest upon entrance. Anyone could have driven in and helped themselves to any unit. Unit doors were old, in need of repair and overall security was questionable. During the day there was no security guard posted and the resort was accessible to anyone driving by.
I have to say that once before we stayed at a Wyndham property and did not experience this level of amateurish customer service. So, I know the company is capable of better. But someone has "fallen asleep at the wheel" at Elysian and dramatic changes are required as soon as possible.
The resort's advertised amenities and services fell far short of quality expectations and/or did not exist at all on this property. Dramatic changes in upkeep, security and customer services are in order for this resort. I know there must be a Wyndham standard of quality it is just not exercised at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We Stayed through timeshare at Elysian for our anniversary the week of July 18th! This resort was incredible. I was a little scared after reading some negative reviews but was 100% satisfied with our stay! We Loved Sangrias the on sight bar and grill! Lilly and Courtney were amazing! The room was impeccable. Some nights we went down to Sangrias and had our own little blast on the resort! We loved the pool and the small beach it sits on. We rented a kyak and found the coolest little cove. I definitely recommend Elysian! There is an energy fee but we were expecting fees. When you rent a condo you are always going to pay resort fees.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.