We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over all great experience !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Elysian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Elysian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Middletown, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Over all great experience !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian through Wyndham Jan 26- feb 2 , After reading some posts we were a little nervious But Pleasantly surprised ! If you like quiet private places this is the one . Not like a sandles resort. Never major crowds for beach chairs or pool chairs . We had an updated room but old tv. Previous posts saying there was alot of stairs they were not lying . The energy fee seems alittle high 154.00 for 7 days . Must agree renting a car is a must cabs are very expensive 10-20 pp 1 way . We went to the food center about 5 mins away prices are high but worth it . 2 places to eat Sangrias great little beach grill , Pizza is really good . Carribean fish market more expensive but all had great food . Not alot to do at resort .property well maintained and clean . Honestly the whole island is gorgious would definatly go back .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    199
    79
    48
    34
See reviews for
96
213
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
boston ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Elysian Beach Resort over New Years....and simply had the best vacation ever. We rented our unit through VRBO directly from an owner and it was amazing. Two people in our party stayed through the Wyndham time share and their studio unit was very nice also. We have stayed here before and will be staying there again if possible. The beach is small but lovely, with calm water and gentle breezes....very relaxing. The pool is refreshing and the hot tub is great too. There are two restaurants on site - Sangrias for casual beachside food and the more upscale Caribbean Fish Market....both of which were delicious. The grounds are very well maintained, clean and private. The resort is very hilly with lots of steps (as is just about everywhere on the island) so be warned.... Also, great location with Red Hook right next door to jump on the ferry to St. John or other islands, and 5 minutes from the big Food Center for supplies. I can't say enough about how lovely our stay was...and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The buildings higher on the hill have the best view but farther from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport, ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Elysian rooms were very spacious, clean and well stocked. We had a murphy bed and it was quite comfortable. We were also suprised about the $110.00 energy fee that seemed a little excessive.. The beach was beautiful and you could sit outside at both resturants and watch the sun set. One resturant was low key with snacks and sandwiches the other resturant was more upscale. The food was decent. The staff at the resturants were very nice an always pleasant especially Buck"Mr. Big Life" Who went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We did rent a car so we were able to get around easily but without one it would be difficult. The staff at the activities desk were very helpful and recommended a wonderful sailboat /snorkel tripwith a 20 dollar discount if you were staying at the resort. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and really enjoyed the resort. We had a large studio room with Murphy bed that was far more comfortable than we had expected. We also had a small view of Cowpet Bay from our balcony. Our room was clean, the kitchen and appliances looked new, and the air conditioning worked great. The bar on the property, Sangria's, had decent food and friendly staff. The restaurant on the property, Caribbean Fish Market, was one of the best dinners we had on the whole trip. The resort also has a nice beach and a big pool and hot tub. For us, one of the best parts of the Elysian was it's location - it's very short drive to Red Hook, with its restaurants and bars. Red Hook is also where you can catch the passenger and car ferries to the other islands, which made our day trips very convenient, especially since we rented a car. Overall, we'd go back to the Elysian again and would have no hesitation recommending to someone planning a trip to St. Thomas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Elysian Beach Resort [part of Wyndham Timeshare] is located right on the beach. With easy beach access the pool seems to be unnecessary. There are no real activities at the resort. You must use a taxi or rent a car to do any shopping or sightseeing. Literature indicates that there is Internet access but we could not connect the entire time we were there. You really need to be sure to bring insect repellent because there are not screens on the doors to the lovely balconies and the mosquitos are hyngry! You should remember that all flld needs to shipped to the island so food costs are 2 time what you expect.

Room Tip: The best views are in A, B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

When we first arrived we didn't realize that there was a fee we had to pay for something with energy so that caught us off guard a bit. But after arriving to where are room was located I have to say I was impressed with the room. Looked a little run down, but I noticed that most of the places on the island looked that way but the resort was still kept in good shape! The view from where our room was was great! Never was able to see the sunset or rise but had a great view out to the ocean and to see an island way off in the distance. The pool... LOVED IT! Only thing I had to get use to was the iguanas... they were everywhere but they never got in the pool so I felt safe in there. LOL! They are friendly if you keep your distance. I did see another guest try to pet them and they just ran away but I wouldn't be that gutsy with a wild animal. The beach was alright. Wasn't a very big beach and kind of a small area to swim. The view wasn't that great from sitting on the beach because you had a bunch of boats to look at. We ate at the Sangria's Beachside Bistro and it was the best place there! We ate there I think 5 times and we had the same waitress except for one time. God I wish I could remember her name but she was part of the reason we would always go back. She knew our drinks after visit two and she made you feel very welcome. The only reason I gave this place a 3 is because all other service like from the front desk, getting more towels or trading in beach towels, they always made it seem like we were bothering them. And it would take forever for them to even bring it up to you. We also had an early flight to leave and I noticed that the desk was only open at a certain time (I thought it was 24hrs like most hotels and resorts) but I guess it wasn't. You had to return your beach towels and if not then you would be charged for them. Also for the energy fee we wanted to pay another way and couldn't pay until check out. When the woman arrived and the taxi to get us to the airport through traffic, lets just say we barely caught our plane. So that is a huge inconvenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved staying here. The room was pleasant and relatively spacious, comfortable bed, decently equipped kitchen with microwave and adequately sized fridge, dishes etc. The AC was whisper quiet and our bathroom didnt have slats to the outside, so we didnt have a major mosquito problem like some other reviewers. However, our friend had an old, noisier AC unit in her room and the aforesaid slats. The walk down to the beach is short but very steep - totally fine if you're young and healthy (I'm youngish and lazy and it was fine). The beach is lovely and uncrowded, which we appreciated even more when we saw the mobs at Magens Bay and Coki Beach. Location is really good and close to the ferry to St. John from Red Hook as well as to a decent supermarket, Food Center. (It's not close to Charlotte Amalie, but we didn't feel the need to go there more than once). We also liked the pool (also not crowded at all) and the hot tub (more crowded). The two restaurants provide two differently priced good options. Note that at the casual one -Sangria - the kitchen closes at 9. Service was pleasant and efficient. We arrived early and they graciously gave us our room right away, and response to requests - e.g. for fresh towels - received a speedy response. Renting a car was pretty necessary, but it seems that although you can mange with taxis, having a car is way easier anywhere on St. Thomas / St. John. Note: signage on the island is abysmal and we got lost using a GPS, so get directions and follow them. There were some additional costs - the daily power cost, the gym (which closed early and wasn't great at all for something like $12 per day), and cleaning the room is extra (although clean towels and linens are not) but in all it was a really great place to stay and a good deal.

Room Tip: If you don't want a bit if a short-but-steep climb back from the beach, try for a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.