We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Elysian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
New York, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved staying here. The room was pleasant and relatively spacious, comfortable bed, decently equipped kitchen with microwave and adequately sized fridge, dishes etc. The AC was whisper quiet and our bathroom didnt have slats to the outside, so we didnt have a major mosquito problem like some other reviewers. However, our friend had an old, noisier AC unit in her room and the aforesaid slats. The walk down to the beach is short but very steep - totally fine if you're young and healthy (I'm youngish and lazy and it was fine). The beach is lovely and uncrowded, which we appreciated even more when we saw the mobs at Magens Bay and Coki Beach. Location is really good and close to the ferry to St. John from Red Hook as well as to a decent supermarket, Food Center. (It's not close to Charlotte Amalie, but we didn't feel the need to go there more than once). We also liked the pool (also not crowded at all) and the hot tub (more crowded). The two restaurants provide two differently priced good options. Note that at the casual one -Sangria - the kitchen closes at 9. Service was pleasant and efficient. We arrived early and they graciously gave us our room right away, and response to requests - e.g. for fresh towels - received a speedy response. Renting a car was pretty necessary, but it seems that although you can mange with taxis, having a car is way easier anywhere on St. Thomas / St. John. Note: signage on the island is abysmal and we got lost using a GPS, so get directions and follow them. There were some additional costs - the daily power cost, the gym (which closed early and wasn't great at all for something like $12 per day), and cleaning the room is extra (although clean towels and linens are not) but in all it was a really great place to stay and a good deal.

Room Tip: If you don't want a bit if a short-but-steep climb back from the beach, try for a room closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    192
    74
    48
    34
See reviews for
91
203
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited here back in 2009 and the rooms are much better! We had an upgraded bed and kitchen area and nice bathroom. The beach is deinfitly ok to lounge out for a day but I would highly recommend visiting the nearby beaches of Sapphire Beach and Lindquist beach. Only about 3 or 4 miles away...so beautiful!!! You can rent snorkel equipment here, eat lunch, rent chairs and enjoy the most beautiful view I have ever seen. We went here twice. The restaurants on the property are great, but expensive. There is a grocery store down the road to stock up on mixers and rum and chips and stuff for the room. We rented a car, but wanted to be able to have fun a few nights so we easily got taxis into red hook from the hotel no problem. There is no cleaning service here which was fine for us as we expected it. I was charged $132 for the daily electric charge for 6 days which I also expected. We were in building Z this time and it was a bit of a walk, but not terrible. Front desk ladies were very nice and helpful, but difference from the crabby women last time! We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have owned a time share at Elysian for over 10 years, and while we enjoy the beautiful, tree lined beach, lovely Cowpet Bay and the magnificently manicured gardens, the resort is tired looking, not shiny clean and you never know what will happen if you ask for something: sometimes a promise which goes unfulfilled, but often, a surprisingly quick resolution. The new restaurants on the property are excellent. We ate at the Caribbean Fish Market twice, and had "to-go" food from Sangria's twice ... the food was very, very good and the service at Caribbean Fish Market was amazing. Our waiter, "Mr. Big Life," is a great guy, an entertaining and efficient server. We will make it a point to sit in his section when we return.
You have to drive (on the left) or cab almost anywhere. There are no sidewalks and walking on the roads is extremely hazardous. You can buy almost nothing at the resort, so you need to visit the Food Center to stock up on cooking ingredients, snacks or beverages. The Marina Market in nearby Red Hook, which used to be excellent is now in a state of disrepair and looks awful, There is nothing on the shelves .... very sad.
We always have a nice time at Elysian but wish it were a bit cleaner, and that the staff were more accommodating.

Room Tip: Access to rooms requires lots of mountain climbing and many steps. Anyone who has difficulty walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Elysian is very clean and well maintained. The beach is good and the swimming pool is great. Having two restaurants on the grounds is wonderful if you don't feel like cooking. The Sangria has a lighter, more affordable menu and the food is very good. The spa is very expensive so we by-passed that amenity. We go to dive and golf and the location is great, however It is about 1/2 hour east of town. It is quiet with nice people working and staying there. They can arrange snorkling trips (highly recommend the sail boat trip). We rent a car which is the best way to go where you want, when you want. It is our third visit so we obviously like it.

Room Tip: The lower buildings get you to the pool and seaside faster (buildings A-T?). The hills are steep so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great stay in the Carribean at the Elysian. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed. The view from the room was spectacular. we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the resort. Staff was friendly and helpful when requests were made. the Carribean Fish market is an excellent restaurant on site with a wide variety of entrees and excellent service. We recommend asking for " Mr. Big Life" as your server, what a great server!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location and love the restaurants! So nice to have a choice of beach low key dining or higher end fish restaurant. Pool was very nice and easy to walk to but the iguanas were distracting. The beach was good for a chilling out day and the resort is very close to all east end beaches. Our condo was spacious but a little tired looking. Being close to Red Hook was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Elysian. Awe had a room with a King size bed, kitchenette etc and had to move to another room because the air conditioning was leaking. The other room was nice however our fridge didn't work and the food that we brought never was cool. So the ice maker didn't freeze and there the ice maker on the property didn't work. However, when we needed something they were accommodation. The beach on the property was beautiful. All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.