We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time around...much better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Elysian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Elysian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“2nd time around...much better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I visited here back in 2009 and the rooms are much better! We had an upgraded bed and kitchen area and nice bathroom. The beach is deinfitly ok to lounge out for a day but I would highly recommend visiting the nearby beaches of Sapphire Beach and Lindquist beach. Only about 3 or 4 miles away...so beautiful!!! You can rent snorkel equipment here, eat lunch, rent chairs and enjoy the most beautiful view I have ever seen. We went here twice. The restaurants on the property are great, but expensive. There is a grocery store down the road to stock up on mixers and rum and chips and stuff for the room. We rented a car, but wanted to be able to have fun a few nights so we easily got taxis into red hook from the hotel no problem. There is no cleaning service here which was fine for us as we expected it. I was charged $132 for the daily electric charge for 6 days which I also expected. We were in building Z this time and it was a bit of a walk, but not terrible. Front desk ladies were very nice and helpful, but difference from the crabby women last time! We will definitly be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    207
    82
    49
    36
See reviews for
102
230
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have owned a time share at Elysian for over 10 years, and while we enjoy the beautiful, tree lined beach, lovely Cowpet Bay and the magnificently manicured gardens, the resort is tired looking, not shiny clean and you never know what will happen if you ask for something: sometimes a promise which goes unfulfilled, but often, a surprisingly quick resolution. The new restaurants on the property are excellent. We ate at the Caribbean Fish Market twice, and had "to-go" food from Sangria's twice ... the food was very, very good and the service at Caribbean Fish Market was amazing. Our waiter, "Mr. Big Life," is a great guy, an entertaining and efficient server. We will make it a point to sit in his section when we return.
You have to drive (on the left) or cab almost anywhere. There are no sidewalks and walking on the roads is extremely hazardous. You can buy almost nothing at the resort, so you need to visit the Food Center to stock up on cooking ingredients, snacks or beverages. The Marina Market in nearby Red Hook, which used to be excellent is now in a state of disrepair and looks awful, There is nothing on the shelves .... very sad.
We always have a nice time at Elysian but wish it were a bit cleaner, and that the staff were more accommodating.

Room Tip: Access to rooms requires lots of mountain climbing and many steps. Anyone who has difficulty walkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The Elysian is very clean and well maintained. The beach is good and the swimming pool is great. Having two restaurants on the grounds is wonderful if you don't feel like cooking. The Sangria has a lighter, more affordable menu and the food is very good. The spa is very expensive so we by-passed that amenity. We go to dive and golf and the location is great, however It is about 1/2 hour east of town. It is quiet with nice people working and staying there. They can arrange snorkling trips (highly recommend the sail boat trip). We rent a car which is the best way to go where you want, when you want. It is our third visit so we obviously like it.

Room Tip: The lower buildings get you to the pool and seaside faster (buildings A-T?). The hills are steep so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culpeper, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great stay in the Carribean at the Elysian. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed. The view from the room was spectacular. we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere at the resort. Staff was friendly and helpful when requests were made. the Carribean Fish market is an excellent restaurant on site with a wide variety of entrees and excellent service. We recommend asking for " Mr. Big Life" as your server, what a great server!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location and love the restaurants! So nice to have a choice of beach low key dining or higher end fish restaurant. Pool was very nice and easy to walk to but the iguanas were distracting. The beach was good for a chilling out day and the resort is very close to all east end beaches. Our condo was spacious but a little tired looking. Being close to Red Hook was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Elysian. Awe had a room with a King size bed, kitchenette etc and had to move to another room because the air conditioning was leaking. The other room was nice however our fridge didn't work and the food that we brought never was cool. So the ice maker didn't freeze and there the ice maker on the property didn't work. However, when we needed something they were accommodation. The beach on the property was beautiful. All in all I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My first time and it was awesome. The beach was awesome with a lot of toys to rent. Have a great pool with pool bar and two great restaurants to eat at. Wish I could go back know. Great place to be with family or a great friend. Very relaxing and fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.