We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Elysian Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Valley Stream, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Elysian and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very well appointed. King size bed, small kitchenette, balcony and large bathroom with shower. We had a great view from the 2nd floor. The property is situated right on the beach and it is beautiful. White sand, clear warm water and lots of wonderful sun. There are two restaurants on the premises, Sangria, where you can get breakfast, lunch or supper and the Caribbean Fish Market available for Sunday brunch and dinner. Both serve excellent fare. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and are happy to assist you in any way. We highly recommend it.

We rented a car instead of taking taxis or the local transportation. It gave us the freedom to go where we wanted, when we wanted. It took no time at all to adjust to driving on the English side (wrong side for us Americans). The island is solid hills, mountains and curves so driving requires you to pay attention to what you are doing and to keep you lead foot, very light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    188
    74
    48
    34
See reviews for
88
200
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was really nice. The beach here couldn't have been more beautifull. The service was very good from front desk to housekeeping.
It was pricey, and could have been a little cleaner, but all in all we would come back and suggest it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented independently through Nancy's Condos.com. Had a two BR, three BA in unit B and loved it. Our view was awesome! The pool was great! There were two queen beds in one room and a nice comfy king in the other BR. Airconditioning worked great. Kitchen was fully equipped and even had some staples for our use. The eating places on the resort have improved greatly in the last year - new owners. The only negative to this resort was the fitness center. I am a runner and running in St. Thomas is hard with the narrow streets and hills so a fitness center is important. This one is not good and needs up-dating. Most folks don't care though since they are on vacation. Would highly recommend New Horizons full day snorkel trip and sunset cruise. Also recommend Heavenly Days half day snorkel trip. You will see several turtles.

Room Tip: Units B, C, D, E, & F have great ocean views. Unit B is closest to the pool too. Nice pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location close to Red Hook and about 30 minutes from Charlotte Amalie....note there is a $22.00 PER DAY amenity charge on all rooms.....rooms difer greatly in size so be sure to check before you go....great little beach on resort and good pool......food available on property......you need a car when at this location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited The Elysian in 2011 for a week and loved it so much we decided to return for 2 weeks this year. We were there Oct 13 - Oct 27, 2012. What a relaxing and fun time. The location is perfect, close to both Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie. It's easy to catch the ferry from Red Hook to St. John for the day.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere The Elysian is the perfect place. Located on Cowpet Bay you feel like you are alone on a private beach. Being a smaller condo, you never have to fight for beach front lounge chairs or space. What a nice bonus.
We stayed in one if the studios with a small efficiency kitchen and it was the perfect size. Pretty much every room has some type of beach or ocean view. We love eating on out balcony. The only problem we experienced was the fridge not working and the staff replaced it within 15 minutes of our phone call.
You can snorkel right off the shore and it's great. If you need snorkel gear or other beach toys you can rent them right at the beach.
The Sangria beach side bar makes awesome loaded fries and has several good dishes to offer plus drinks. New this year is the Caribbean Fish Market restaurant. Very nice! They are working on the pool side bar. Looks like it will be open very soon.
Their staff is friendly and helpful. Thanks to Vicki who always makes us feel welcome.
We will be back. Love y'all!

Room Tip: Hillside condo. If you are handicapped or not in good physical shape for all the stairs, call the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city MO
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this resort in October. Had read that it was hilly so was prepared for that. We had a 2 bedroom loft on the top level...2 balconies looking directly at the ocean! Absolutely breath taking! The room was really nice , colorful and clean. The kitchen was more spacious than Ihad imagine, with all brand new appliances. I slept like Goldilocks in the murphy bed! Very ,very comfortable and it was a real eye pleasing piece of furniture! Very easy to pull down and put up. The a/c units were loud when watching TV,but not a problem when sleeping
I notice both the beach towels and room towels were on the fluffy ,thick side which was a plus. I found the staff to be pleasant. Two resturants on site, both are very good. Carribean Fish Market more upscale than the Sangrias Beachside Bistro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

On an 11-night vacation in St Thomas / St John we spent our 1st 4 nights and our last night at the Elysian Beach Resort. We used WoldMark points to both stays. Our first stay, we had reserved a King Studio, but were upgraded to a Parlor Studio (the Parlor studio has a full kitchen and a Qn size pull down Murphy Bed). We were nervous that the murphy bed would not be comfortable (I had visions of a sleeper sofa mattress) but it was a full, pillow top mattress and very comfortable. We didn't use the full kitchen, but it was nice having a full fridge to shop for our week on St John. We had a 3rd floor unit in Building Y which is at the top of the hill right near the entrance. Yes, it was a hike down to the beach and restaurant, but not has strenuous as I thought. The unit was very clean, comfortable and kept cool by the AC (something we did NOT have on St John). The bathroom was pretty small (sink & closet outside with toilet and shower inside), but it worked fine. I don't know how full the resort was, but the beach remained fairly empty (there was always a place in the shade and a hammock to relax on in the afternoon). We had a romantic dinner at Caribbean Fish Market, which was 5-star. You absolutely have to have a car and driving in STT is an adventure (I agree with the roller coaster comparison in the last review). Getting fresh pool towels was easy. In fact, we thought the pool and bathroom towels were very plush. All in all, it was a great way to begin our vacation. We returned to Elysian for 1 night at the end of our trip since we had an 8:30a flight and did not want to deal with getting a ferry from St John. We were given a King Studio room in Building X this time. Smaller kitchen, bigger bed and much bigger bathroom. Our room was on the bottom floor, so there really wasn't a view, but for 1 night we didn't care. Overall, we had a very good time. The units are very comfortable. The grounds are clean, the beach is nice (smaller than it looked in pictures), the beach bar & restaurant were great and the service was very good. If you're looking for a something with a kitchen, in a convenient part of the island, feel confident that the Elysian will meet or even exceed your needs.

Room Tip: the buildings at the low end of the alphabet (A-L) are closer to the beach, but the higher rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00082, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elysian Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.