We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time snorkeling and they were great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Lagoon

Mangrove Lagoon
6526 Estate Nadir, 00802, St. Thomas
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Mangrove Lagoon like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
St Thomas Mangrove Lagoon Kayak and Snorkel Tour
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in East End
Activities: Kayaking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The southern coast of St.Thomas is endowed with the attractive and protected Mangrove Lagoon Wildlife Sanctuary & Marine Preserve of exceptional natural resources and is filled with scenic contrasts: manglar islands, rocky cliffs, shallow clear waters with sea grass beds, salt ponds and panoramic ridge lines. These natural areas provide a rich nursery habitat for offshore coral reef fish and invertebrates, and homes to nesting egrets, pelicans, herons and terns.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“first time snorkeling and they were great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

My fiancee is into snorkeling which I've never done. I went along and we were lead by the women guides. Nice and knowledgeable as I'm sure the guys are. Jodie helped me understand the whole snorkeling deal and I'm glad I gave it a try as there were some great things to be seen. The tour started with a kayak tour and then snorkeling and a kayak tour back. They brought water and ice cold chocolate candy. I definitely recommend.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Union Lake, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 hour Tour well worth it! Do it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

Out with Sean on a spectacular and very educational kayak tour. We hiked, snorkeled, and ate lunch at Cas Cay. Learned so much about the plant and animal life in the area, made the expirence that much more enjoyable. Sean was exceptional, lost the camera while snorkeling Sean retrieved it! Lunch with the Hernit crabs was tasty for all!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach Bottom, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3 hour kayak, hike , snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

This tour through the mangroves was great! Our family of 8 (6 twenty something kids & 50's parents) were joined by one other couple in a group. Easy paddle through mangrove, short hike, and easy snorkel for all of us who had never done it. Saw lots of beautiful fish and sea life. Our guides Maggie and Lindsay were knowledgeable about marine life and local history plus fun. Enjoyed talking with these two engaging young women who a very well educated and who have been all over the world. Our only issue was my husband's mustache-mask doesn't seal well on thick mustache's! Not the tours fault but know that this is an issue(divers are clean shaven!) Still this was the best excursion of the week! Other reviews have stated the $45 for the picture cd is a rip off. I totally disagree! These girls worked at getting great pictures for us and quite frankly you can spend that much on dinner and drinks somewhere and have nothing to show for it!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinecrest, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

We have never kayaked not been in the water in an actual Mangrove lagoon. The Guide from Eco tours, Jake was funny and extremely informative. The water was surprisingly clear ( we are from Florida and the mangroves are usually murky) The wildlife was abundant and the snorkeling fun. The hike was short but interesting. There are thousands if not hundreds of thousands of Hermit crabs scurrying. You can hear them moving about. Really cool. The end of "the hike" took us to a blow hole. The scenery and water are truly beautiful.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mangroves are magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2014

I've done mangrove paddle tours in 2 locations besides this, and it never fails to be magical. I saw this on the 2.5 hour VI Ecotours trip to through the area, and I could easily have explored all day. In most of the lagoon the water was crystal clear, and on the bottom you could see a type of jellyfish that farms algae (super cool!). Mangroves are fascinating and beautiful plants, and this would be a great area to paddle around on your own if you had the chance (though the tour moves at a good pace and provides lots of interesting info, so that's an excellent option).

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Lagoon also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mangrove Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.