We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool nature area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangrove Lagoon

Mangrove Lagoon
00802, St. Thomas
Update attraction details
Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in East End
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Forests, Bodies of Water
Activities: Kayaking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The southern coast of St.Thomas is endowed with the attractive and protected Mangrove Lagoon Wildlife Sanctuary & Marine Preserve of exceptional natural resources and is filled with scenic contrasts: manglar islands, rocky cliffs, shallow clear waters with sea grass beds, salt ponds and panoramic ridge lines. These natural areas provide a rich nursery habitat for offshore coral reef fish and invertebrates, and homes to nesting egrets, pelicans, herons and terns.
KY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very cool nature area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mangrove Lagoon is a really cool area to see nature and wildlife on St. Thomas. We went on a snorkel venture one afternoon and saw many conch, lobsters, and fish. One of the islands is crawling with hermit crabs. You would think the ground is moving! This is a neat place to come and see a lot of wildlife and spend an afternoon.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    17
    4
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
Top Contributor
1,101 reviews 1,101 reviews
276 attraction reviews
Reviews in 219 cities Reviews in 219 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have had some bad cruise ship excursions but they were never as bad as this.. We were in St. Thomas the year before and did an excursion with snorkeling but on little speed boats out to a nice beach and snorkeling area. This guide sent us (4 of us).. To a mangrove that was SOOO boring.. Then he kayaks over to the end where its blocked off from the ocean and there is NOTHING Living below but one lobster with a claw missing. Actually there was more stuff living.. Tons of Jelly fish..My kids were petrified. We got out to snorkel but with the life jackets on made it impossible to see anything.. I took mine off and dove down and saw NO corral or living things. It was a HUGE waste of money and surprised that there is not more outrage for this. We went to purser and ship to complain about it and we got nothing back.. Big disappointment.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Kayak-Snorkel-Hike TOur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Go for the Extreme Tour. We had four people in our group and our own guide - Chuck! She was very attentive to our questions and shared a lot of information. She even took us out to an area where we spotted a small shark! We spent five hours on the tour from 9-2 and it included a good lunch from a nearby Marina Deli. We had a choice of Roastbeef, Ham or Turkey on a delicious wholegrain sub roll.The candy treat after snorkeling was a nice treat also.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, quiet - a secret water garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The lagoon is a retreat from busy island life. It is quiet, and you can almost pretend you are in the wilderness. You can actually hear yourself think here.
The birds, especially the herons are spectacular. Little crabs crawl around on the tree limbs.
The lagoon isn't for everyone, but if you are outdoorsy, finished shopping and want a little excercise, check out a kayak tour of this relaxing treasure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway on a busy island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Take the kayak tour. My guide was excellent. You will see nature in an up close and personal way. Be sure to take your mask and snorkel. Also take an underwater camera.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangrove Lagoon also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Magens Bay, St. Thomas
 

Been to Mangrove Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangrove Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.