We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer 55% Off + $100 Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at Sugar Mill for 2 nights after a yacht charter. What a great, relaxing place. Great for a couple of nights but think you would be bored staying there much longer. The decor of the room was a little tired but spotlessly clean. Very comfortable and air con. etc. worked well. The food in the restaurant was brilliant, although the menu was quite limited. But in my opinion , it's better to do a few dishes well than a lot of dishes poorly. The service of the staff was excellent, they were all very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Lovely beach and pool. We would certainly go back on our next visit to B.V.I.s.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    789
    446
    376
    323
See reviews for
504
990
43
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Staying for 5 nights and we are quite happy with the resort. 90% of the staff is always trying to please you. Food is good enough I cannot think of a complaint. Usually you have two places or more to choose from for meals. Rooms are clean and are nice and large with marble flooring in bath area. No construction has bothered us. It is happening while we are here but it has not been in the way. The lobby has recently been painted a beautiful blue and look fabulous. Pool area is wonderful. For a resort undergoing renovation they are covering that up quite well. I have been to resorts that say they have things, but when you get there you can't use things you were looking forward to. Here everything I saw listed is clearly available. I recommend it. The bad reviews I saw have not been my experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was a decent resort. The pool was a little annoying to get to every day as there were three- four flights of stairs. The snack bar had decent pizza and meals but the restaurants were definitely not the best. The beach was pretty small. Overall it wasn't bad as St. Thomas and the other neighboring islands were gorgeous. We would highly recommend going on the tours for the British Virgin Islands ( Jost Von Dyke was GORGEOUS). We would also recommend taking the ferry over to St. John's on your own. We rented a car on St. John's and drove all over the island. You can't get lost as it is a tiny island and there's only 1-3 main roads. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This resort has an all-inclusive package and non all-inclusive. We didn't get the all-inclusive package because we read some of the reviews before going and the were right. Everyone we spoke to at this place, that had it, was disappointed with it. As a whole the place is very nice but was probably a lot nicer when they first opened. If you just want to just lay by the beach or pool and have some drinks then its fine. If you expect entertainment, other then karaoke, then you have to go elsewhere.

The pros
Beautiful pool and beach area. The pool has a swim up bar with a friendly bartender.
Rooms have a balcony with either a partial or full view of the pool area and beach.
Very friendly staff
Free Rum punch in the lobby every day

The Cons
the resort needs lots of upkeep. They are faint stains on the carpets in the room, cracked tiles, faulty shower faucets, etc.
Air conditioning in the room was either at freezing or you had to shut it off.
About 100 steps to go up and down to the pool/beach area. There is a shuttle to bring you down but the steps are faster.
Very pricey drinks and food. That goes for all of the island.
Taxis charge fares per person and $2 per bag.
Poolside music depended on wether the speakers worked that day or not.
Menu selection in both restaurants were very slim.

Overall we had a great time but for the price you would expect more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After reading as many reviews as a I could, I decided to take a chance that things were getting better here and we booked 3 nights at Sugar Bay following a bareboat charter in the BVI. We were immediately impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds and the resort buildings as we drove up. Many renovations were happening in the main building (including building a new restaurant) and it looked as if it will only get nicer once these were completed. Our room was clean and well appointed. Having never been to an all-inclusive resort, I was not sure how great the food and drinks would be, but again we were impressed. Plenty of bars to choose from and all the drinks you would expect. Their were at least 2 food options for every meal and the food quality was fine. In fact the Italian restaurant open for dinner poolside had food that would rival nice restaurants on the mainland. There are SUPs and kayaks for use on the beach, mini-golf, tennis, and bumper boats for those looking for other things to do around the resort. The spa is very nice and the fitness center is top notch with private hot tubs. Most impressive however, was the service. Every staff person we met was courteous, helpful, and friendly. Perhaps there were some growing pains here when Wyndham left, but they seemed to have worked through those. The resort is great and I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just want to say Thank You so much to Heather at the Sugar Bay resort she was amazing!! We look forward to seeing you again!!! She was so friendly, kind and just really made the whole experience there amazing :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this thinking it would be an elegant choice. The room was so dirty and poorly maintained. There was filthy carpet, torn shower curtain, cracked tiles, a toilet paper roll hanging off the wall, dusty shelves, and many amenities missing. But the worst part was waking up to find ourselves covered with bed bug bites. The service overall was terrible as well-- most (but not all) the staff seemed put out to be there. Management was barely apologetic about all the issues we had. I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: There is a long set of stairs down to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.