We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but needs a face lift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice resort but needs a face lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This resort has an all-inclusive package and non all-inclusive. We didn't get the all-inclusive package because we read some of the reviews before going and the were right. Everyone we spoke to at this place, that had it, was disappointed with it. As a whole the place is very nice but was probably a lot nicer when they first opened. If you just want to just lay by the beach or pool and have some drinks then its fine. If you expect entertainment, other then karaoke, then you have to go elsewhere.

The pros
Beautiful pool and beach area. The pool has a swim up bar with a friendly bartender.
Rooms have a balcony with either a partial or full view of the pool area and beach.
Very friendly staff
Free Rum punch in the lobby every day

The Cons
the resort needs lots of upkeep. They are faint stains on the carpets in the room, cracked tiles, faulty shower faucets, etc.
Air conditioning in the room was either at freezing or you had to shut it off.
About 100 steps to go up and down to the pool/beach area. There is a shuttle to bring you down but the steps are faster.
Very pricey drinks and food. That goes for all of the island.
Taxis charge fares per person and $2 per bag.
Poolside music depended on wether the speakers worked that day or not.
Menu selection in both restaurants were very slim.

Overall we had a great time but for the price you would expect more.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    804
    463
    383
    334
See reviews for
525
1013
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After reading as many reviews as a I could, I decided to take a chance that things were getting better here and we booked 3 nights at Sugar Bay following a bareboat charter in the BVI. We were immediately impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds and the resort buildings as we drove up. Many renovations were happening in the main building (including building a new restaurant) and it looked as if it will only get nicer once these were completed. Our room was clean and well appointed. Having never been to an all-inclusive resort, I was not sure how great the food and drinks would be, but again we were impressed. Plenty of bars to choose from and all the drinks you would expect. Their were at least 2 food options for every meal and the food quality was fine. In fact the Italian restaurant open for dinner poolside had food that would rival nice restaurants on the mainland. There are SUPs and kayaks for use on the beach, mini-golf, tennis, and bumper boats for those looking for other things to do around the resort. The spa is very nice and the fitness center is top notch with private hot tubs. Most impressive however, was the service. Every staff person we met was courteous, helpful, and friendly. Perhaps there were some growing pains here when Wyndham left, but they seemed to have worked through those. The resort is great and I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just want to say Thank You so much to Heather at the Sugar Bay resort she was amazing!! We look forward to seeing you again!!! She was so friendly, kind and just really made the whole experience there amazing :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this thinking it would be an elegant choice. The room was so dirty and poorly maintained. There was filthy carpet, torn shower curtain, cracked tiles, a toilet paper roll hanging off the wall, dusty shelves, and many amenities missing. But the worst part was waking up to find ourselves covered with bed bug bites. The service overall was terrible as well-- most (but not all) the staff seemed put out to be there. Management was barely apologetic about all the issues we had. I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: There is a long set of stairs down to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year at the same time as we did this year.. Right after thanksgiving! This year it was awful.. Poor service! We were never told if the occupancy is low we couldn't have a buffet.. I paid for all inclusive. The club was closed the entire time the casino was cut in half! The hotel and food is excellent I wouldn't complain about that! We had a great ocean view!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My Husband & I stayed at Sugar Bay for a long weekend trip. Very bad experience! The staff called our room at 1AM!! the first night because they wanted to see who was staying in the room (they had apparently not marked it down in the computer system when we checked in earlier that day). On the 2nd night of our trip we had to switch rooms at 1:30am b/c of a loud banging noise from an electrical utility closet one floor below. We tried to call the front desk a few times about the noise with no answer, so we ended up going thru hotels.com who arranged our change to the new room. The beach is rocky and practically un-swimmable! The breakfast was crowded, with a long line (despite several empty tables), and they ran out of items. We're glad we didn't do all inclusive for the trip. We didn't spend much time at the resort other than to sleep, but wished we had saved our money and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided to move to this hotel after a bad experience with another hotel on the island. The hotel staff was awesome. They were beyond helpful and the hotel atmosphere was phenomenal. Our flight out of the Virgin Islands got cancelled and we had to stay an additional 8 days at the resort. We felt like family by the time we left. We did not have one bad experience with staff members. The hotel rooms were clean and quiet with awesome views. The food was great. There were many different options at the buffets. They also had sit down options as well. The pool and the beach were absolutely beautiful. There was construction going on while we were there but I couldn't hear anything from my room. This is a family friendly resort that goes out of their way to make sure your stay is top notch. It is also extremely safe. I cannot say enough good things about this resort and the staff that work there.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.