We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - well beyond expectations. Many changes since past bad reviews.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer 55% Off + $100 Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay - well beyond expectations. Many changes since past bad reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

After reading as many reviews as a I could, I decided to take a chance that things were getting better here and we booked 3 nights at Sugar Bay following a bareboat charter in the BVI. We were immediately impressed with the cleanliness of the grounds and the resort buildings as we drove up. Many renovations were happening in the main building (including building a new restaurant) and it looked as if it will only get nicer once these were completed. Our room was clean and well appointed. Having never been to an all-inclusive resort, I was not sure how great the food and drinks would be, but again we were impressed. Plenty of bars to choose from and all the drinks you would expect. Their were at least 2 food options for every meal and the food quality was fine. In fact the Italian restaurant open for dinner poolside had food that would rival nice restaurants on the mainland. There are SUPs and kayaks for use on the beach, mini-golf, tennis, and bumper boats for those looking for other things to do around the resort. The spa is very nice and the fitness center is top notch with private hot tubs. Most impressive however, was the service. Every staff person we met was courteous, helpful, and friendly. Perhaps there were some growing pains here when Wyndham left, but they seemed to have worked through those. The resort is great and I would return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    789
    446
    376
    323
See reviews for
504
990
43
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Just want to say Thank You so much to Heather at the Sugar Bay resort she was amazing!! We look forward to seeing you again!!! She was so friendly, kind and just really made the whole experience there amazing :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked this thinking it would be an elegant choice. The room was so dirty and poorly maintained. There was filthy carpet, torn shower curtain, cracked tiles, a toilet paper roll hanging off the wall, dusty shelves, and many amenities missing. But the worst part was waking up to find ourselves covered with bed bug bites. The service overall was terrible as well-- most (but not all) the staff seemed put out to be there. Management was barely apologetic about all the issues we had. I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: There is a long set of stairs down to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year at the same time as we did this year.. Right after thanksgiving! This year it was awful.. Poor service! We were never told if the occupancy is low we couldn't have a buffet.. I paid for all inclusive. The club was closed the entire time the casino was cut in half! The hotel and food is excellent I wouldn't complain about that! We had a great ocean view!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My Husband & I stayed at Sugar Bay for a long weekend trip. Very bad experience! The staff called our room at 1AM!! the first night because they wanted to see who was staying in the room (they had apparently not marked it down in the computer system when we checked in earlier that day). On the 2nd night of our trip we had to switch rooms at 1:30am b/c of a loud banging noise from an electrical utility closet one floor below. We tried to call the front desk a few times about the noise with no answer, so we ended up going thru hotels.com who arranged our change to the new room. The beach is rocky and practically un-swimmable! The breakfast was crowded, with a long line (despite several empty tables), and they ran out of items. We're glad we didn't do all inclusive for the trip. We didn't spend much time at the resort other than to sleep, but wished we had saved our money and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided to move to this hotel after a bad experience with another hotel on the island. The hotel staff was awesome. They were beyond helpful and the hotel atmosphere was phenomenal. Our flight out of the Virgin Islands got cancelled and we had to stay an additional 8 days at the resort. We felt like family by the time we left. We did not have one bad experience with staff members. The hotel rooms were clean and quiet with awesome views. The food was great. There were many different options at the buffets. They also had sit down options as well. The pool and the beach were absolutely beautiful. There was construction going on while we were there but I couldn't hear anything from my room. This is a family friendly resort that goes out of their way to make sure your stay is top notch. It is also extremely safe. I cannot say enough good things about this resort and the staff that work there.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok, Let me start out by saying that we never expect the best or worst in hotels. We go with open minds. The hotel is under Major construction. LOTS of noise at night.. Jack hammering going on from 11:30pm until 4 a.m. or beyond[ we finally drifted off to sleep at that point]. When we called the front desk at 1:30 a.m. the person at the front desk said" well there is construction going on." Yeah I know that, but do you have to run the jack hammer at 1:30 in the morning. She said" ok, well the construction is going all day and night." That was her only response. Not a sorry or anything. We decided not to go all- inclusive, and we are glad that we didn't. We heard a bunch of couples throughout the week saying " the food was cold, didn't taste good[ uncooked or overcooked] or the menu NEVER changed in the week," The hotel kept running out of Coke, Diet Coke and all they had to do was refill the syrup.. We hung out with a few couples and they complained about the noise[construction],food, and how the resort could use the money that they are spending in construction on things like: food, replacing the mini golf course greens, and getting some decent basketballs[ one you couldn't even use/ one was sort of deflated], the pool table in was missing one ball and the cue didn't have the top piece[ where you hit the ball with]. Also beware that the beach has sand fleas [known as no-see-ums], so you shouldn't EVER bring your towels back to your room or watch out[you will be bitten throughout the night]. If you are afraid of giant iguana's- this isn't the resort for you. The pool and Jacuzzi need updating.. the Jacuzzi is really one big hot water bath- the jets don't work. And we were only able to use the pool and beach once while we were there[ water was too cold]. There is a please do not disturb that you can put outside of your door, however, if you keep it on the door too long: the housekeeping knocks on your door, or they call you. We needed to sleep in, as the construction kept us up all night.

I will say that the activities[ karaoke, bingo, and iguana feedings were great!!] the views were incredible, the weather was warm[ although if you compare anything to New England winters- anything is great] and the rooms were nice with granite, dark furniture, and plenty of space for clothes and whatever. There is a good size mini fridge, and a coffee maker[ single or double cup dispensing only] in your room. The mini convenient store is wonderful- the staff in there- very pleasant and nice!! they have drinks[ coke/ diet coke in 20 oz bottles for 1.95 each]. Some staff were wonderful and very pleasant-- others- didn't say anything and looked miserable. if you do need to go to Redhook, or almost everywhere else- go down to the street level and get the safari ride[ $1.00 each way per person- have correct change] Overall, we WON'T be back to this resort. and the island didn't sit well with us either.

If you are looking for good food and a nice view- go to "Caribbean Saloon". Jessie and Shelby was wonderful. the food was great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.