We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last year..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer 55% Off + $100 Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year at the same time as we did this year.. Right after thanksgiving! This year it was awful.. Poor service! We were never told if the occupancy is low we couldn't have a buffet.. I paid for all inclusive. The club was closed the entire time the casino was cut in half! The hotel and food is excellent I wouldn't complain about that! We had a great ocean view!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,523 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    589
    789
    446
    376
    323
See reviews for
504
990
43
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My Husband & I stayed at Sugar Bay for a long weekend trip. Very bad experience! The staff called our room at 1AM!! the first night because they wanted to see who was staying in the room (they had apparently not marked it down in the computer system when we checked in earlier that day). On the 2nd night of our trip we had to switch rooms at 1:30am b/c of a loud banging noise from an electrical utility closet one floor below. We tried to call the front desk a few times about the noise with no answer, so we ended up going thru hotels.com who arranged our change to the new room. The beach is rocky and practically un-swimmable! The breakfast was crowded, with a long line (despite several empty tables), and they ran out of items. We're glad we didn't do all inclusive for the trip. We didn't spend much time at the resort other than to sleep, but wished we had saved our money and stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided to move to this hotel after a bad experience with another hotel on the island. The hotel staff was awesome. They were beyond helpful and the hotel atmosphere was phenomenal. Our flight out of the Virgin Islands got cancelled and we had to stay an additional 8 days at the resort. We felt like family by the time we left. We did not have one bad experience with staff members. The hotel rooms were clean and quiet with awesome views. The food was great. There were many different options at the buffets. They also had sit down options as well. The pool and the beach were absolutely beautiful. There was construction going on while we were there but I couldn't hear anything from my room. This is a family friendly resort that goes out of their way to make sure your stay is top notch. It is also extremely safe. I cannot say enough good things about this resort and the staff that work there.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Ma
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Ok, Let me start out by saying that we never expect the best or worst in hotels. We go with open minds. The hotel is under Major construction. LOTS of noise at night.. Jack hammering going on from 11:30pm until 4 a.m. or beyond[ we finally drifted off to sleep at that point]. When we called the front desk at 1:30 a.m. the person at the front desk said" well there is construction going on." Yeah I know that, but do you have to run the jack hammer at 1:30 in the morning. She said" ok, well the construction is going all day and night." That was her only response. Not a sorry or anything. We decided not to go all- inclusive, and we are glad that we didn't. We heard a bunch of couples throughout the week saying " the food was cold, didn't taste good[ uncooked or overcooked] or the menu NEVER changed in the week," The hotel kept running out of Coke, Diet Coke and all they had to do was refill the syrup.. We hung out with a few couples and they complained about the noise[construction],food, and how the resort could use the money that they are spending in construction on things like: food, replacing the mini golf course greens, and getting some decent basketballs[ one you couldn't even use/ one was sort of deflated], the pool table in was missing one ball and the cue didn't have the top piece[ where you hit the ball with]. Also beware that the beach has sand fleas [known as no-see-ums], so you shouldn't EVER bring your towels back to your room or watch out[you will be bitten throughout the night]. If you are afraid of giant iguana's- this isn't the resort for you. The pool and Jacuzzi need updating.. the Jacuzzi is really one big hot water bath- the jets don't work. And we were only able to use the pool and beach once while we were there[ water was too cold]. There is a please do not disturb that you can put outside of your door, however, if you keep it on the door too long: the housekeeping knocks on your door, or they call you. We needed to sleep in, as the construction kept us up all night.

I will say that the activities[ karaoke, bingo, and iguana feedings were great!!] the views were incredible, the weather was warm[ although if you compare anything to New England winters- anything is great] and the rooms were nice with granite, dark furniture, and plenty of space for clothes and whatever. There is a good size mini fridge, and a coffee maker[ single or double cup dispensing only] in your room. The mini convenient store is wonderful- the staff in there- very pleasant and nice!! they have drinks[ coke/ diet coke in 20 oz bottles for 1.95 each]. Some staff were wonderful and very pleasant-- others- didn't say anything and looked miserable. if you do need to go to Redhook, or almost everywhere else- go down to the street level and get the safari ride[ $1.00 each way per person- have correct change] Overall, we WON'T be back to this resort. and the island didn't sit well with us either.

If you are looking for good food and a nice view- go to "Caribbean Saloon". Jessie and Shelby was wonderful. the food was great and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury Park, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and i decided to go on a last minute getaway. We choose Sugar Bay because the price was reasonable and a passport was not required. I start with the food...It was not great. We arrived on a Sunday and sit down dinner was provided with some good entree options. My husband wanted filet mignon and of course we were told they ran out. Every night for the next 2 days were buffet style dinners The food was always cold or room temperature. One night they had a pasta station, I ordered shrimp with alfredo sauce and my shrimp was undercooked. Breakfast was okay...It was buffet style and again it was always cold or room temperature. Lunch was pretty much the same everyday. It's only one restaurant that provided lunch.

The rooms were average; nothing to write home about. We were upgraded to an Ocean View. We did not request an upgrade but I'm glad they gave it to us. The view was beautiful! The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable.

The hotel is undergoing renovations some it was some noise in the lobby area but nothing too bad. The steps that lead to the pool are not as bad as some people say. Yes there are a lot but if you decide it's too much for you a golf cart can take you from the lobby of the hotel and pick you up. The cart comes about every 5-10 minutes so the wait is not long.

I've been to resort with better landscaping and curb appeal but we assumed that would get better once the renovations are completed. The drinks serve their purpose but if you want top shelve liquor this is not the place for you.

I would definitely suggest all inclusive because the food and drinks are expensive. The price difference for us was only $37 so of course we choose the all inclusive.

Now on to the good stuff....The staff was GREAT! They treated us like royalty from the minute we drove into the property until the day we left. I did not encounter one unpleasant employee the entire time there. This made up for the not so good food and the average rooms. If you are looking for a five star resort this is not for you. If you want a relaxing place that treats you well this is a must go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed there the first week of January. The service was great. Even a staff off duty help us out at one point! The hotel is clean and nice. The new renovation is nice. Food is good, we did get the all-inclusive and it worth it. Breakfast is good. For Lunch, we did get a buffet couple time, beside that it was ok. Supper is great, food delicious. Wine selection was great. My young daughter had a blast, they have Kids Klub which is nice and safe. Next to pool and beach. Pool super nice, beach nice but rocky when you get it for couple feet. Once passed that, it all good.
We stayed they 6 nights and they had entertainment like shows, dance, karaoke....
Staff were so nice.


Room- so quiet. We didn't hear any neighbor, view is wonderful. Didn't have any issues.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The trip was very good, there was nine of us and we all had a wonderful time. The service was wonderful , a little hint when you tip you get better service. I did get a little tired of eating the same lunch everyday, we were there for five days. At dinner there were many choices, and there were many people on staff to help, we had prime rib one night and it was cut as thick or as thin as you wanted it . I do think if there is several people going the all inclusive is the way to go, the food, drinks, and alcohol are included in the inclusive. I brought my grandson's with me and they had a blast.

Room Tip: The ocean view is the way to go, I booked three rooms and all had the most beautiful view of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.