We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliness” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% Off Spring Special
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was friendly no matter where I went. It was a great atmosphere with excellent service and nice, strong drinks! The hotel was nice with a nice ocean view. The food was good. I will be coming back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
We truly appreciate hearing from our guests and thank you for posting your review about your stay at the Resort.

It was a pleasure to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient and that your enjoyed the atmosphere of what the Resort had to offer.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the future!

Judi Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    763
    433
    364
    311
See reviews for
480
952
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fun is the name of the game! The staff at this resort, so many to mention, make a vacation and holiday REAL FUN!

This hideaway on a sheltered bay with beautiful sand and snorkeling right at the waters edge is really cool. So easy to just enjoy.

Our room faced the pool side so we always felt like the party was going on. Lots of action and the beach on Smith Bay was so peaceful to take in. Rooms are good with plenty of space, especially the bathrooms.

Food was good and they did have plenty of beverages to make the partying easy. The staff was as I said very obliging. Guess they know what people want because we sure got it. We met the manager Ron and he too was friendly and very accomodating.

We will be returning later this year...can't wait!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing St John have spectacular views!! Rooms are all about the same so it is all which view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Resort.

We were pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable time and found our staff not only helpful but fun!

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort later this year!

Judi Bryant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The bartenders were wonderful! That's the only positive comment I have for this resort. Our room was dirty, the faucet and fixtures in the shower were filthy and corroded. We had no bath towels. We waited in line to be seated for dinner the first night for at least fifteen minutes. I went to the made-to-order salad station, and the server started to assemble my caprese salad with the same gloves as she wore when she assembled the previous seafood salad. I have an allergy to seafood so my trust in the food service plummeted. The next morning, we waited to be seated for breakfast for 1/2 hour. Once seated, we waited another several minutes for a server. The breakfast buffet was nice, but by 10:00, most of the buffet is empty. We had to wait for silverware for another several minutes after we received our food. We had the all-inclusive package. DON"T plan on using the all-inclusive feature on the day of checkout. The staff is like all-inclusive nazis about this. AND it's $75 if you leave the resort without having the all-inclusive bracelet cut off and returned! The grounds are beautiful, and the staff, for the most part, friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments from your recent visit to the Resort.

We wish to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with regard to the food service, lack of towels, cleanliness of your room and your overall disappointment with your stay. We are sorry if it was not courteously communicated to you that on the day of check out the all inclusive services end at 11:00 a.m. (check out time). This is definitely not the type of service we wish to offer our guests.

Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our Management Team so that these issues will be addressed and resolved as quickly as possible.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Judi Bryant, on behalf
of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a great time at Sugar Bay Resort. Our best experience there was the Catamaran snorkel trip with Captain Donny and Hollywood. We've taken several of these excursions and this was by far the best one yet. The lunch and bar were great. The boat was clean and the guys made it a wonderful relaxing trip. Wish we had done the all day trip with these guys.
The resort itself was very nice as well, very friendly staff. We did the all inclusive package and tipped anyway because service was so good. Bartenders made great drinks-and we were ordering stuff that wasn't on the "menu". The only negative the 7 in our party came up with was the coffee wasn't good.
The beach and pools were fantastic. Overall a great place to spend a week!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate learing about our guests' experiences and thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We were pleased to learn that you had a great vacation, particularly enjoying the Catamaram snorkeling trip and our friendly staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort sometime in the future.

Judi Bryant
on behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our family typically goes on a winter retreat once a year. Sugar bay was our designation this year again. Now this is our second visit to the resort and was pleasantly surprised by the changes.
The food was amazing. Kudos to the chef. Steak and fish dishes were really great tasting. Love it!
The bartenders were really friendly and always surprised us with some different cool drinks. Luv the turtle rock drink. Ross and Felix can seriously mix a drink! The best night we had was Carnival Night. The fire show was insane! If you ever go, make sure your there Thursday night for that show. Also make sure you take advantage of the snorkeling on the beach. But if you get a chance take a cab to Coki beach and spend an afternoon there. Its only a 5 mins cab ride.The best snokerling I've ever done! I'm always about the nightlife. Take a cab to redhook. Its a great little strip to walk down and grab a drink at Duffys. Fishtales is a cool seafood place, they bring out massive fishes from the boat to show you before they cook it.

Room Tip: Make sure you wake up early to watch the sunrise from your balcony. Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Resort.

We were delighted to learn that you had such an enjoyable time and that you had noticed the improvements being made as we are constantly trying to enhance the guest experience. We also greatly enjoy having returing guests!

We hope that you will visit us again in the not to distant future!

Judi Bryant
for the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

It usually takes me 10 days minimum to unwind and relax... NOT at Sugar Bay Resort and Spa. In just two days I was totally chilled out, loving the sun, room, view, and water! The staff was amazing from the front door throughout the beautiful resort! What a view it has overlooking the bluest of blue waters. Close to everything and the food is great too! I just can't say enough... enjoyed everything there was to enjoy and will definitely go back! Perfect place for all ages, entertainment for all as well!

Room Tip: All rooms were perfect with a view of the water. You could hear the waves throughout the night when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Resort.

It is pleasure to learn that you were able to relax so quickly on our beautiful island and that you received excellent customer service along with enjoying all the Resort had to offer!

We sincerely hope that you will visit again sometime in the future!

Judi Bryant
for the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful setting .....38 acres for natural beauty ...they have streams and ponds which host everything from iguanas,White-cheeked Pintail,Snowy Egrets,Tricoloured Heron,Antillean Crested Hummingbird and Hermit Crabs. A must see for any outdoor enthusiast. The snorkelling is also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi B, Executive Assistant to the Managing Director at Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for sharing your views on your visit to the Resort.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and so delighted in the natural beauty of the island along with the wild life that is present on the property!

We hope that you will visit us once again in the future.

Judi Bryant
on behalf of the Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort Spa
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.