We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-Inclusive Honeymoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Sugar Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Sugar Bay to your Saves list
Dreams Sugar Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“All-Inclusive Honeymoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for our honeymoon, the all inclusive package is a great deal for the money. The majority of the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Ross the bartender was the Man. All the locals were very friendly. Food was good but not great, The Barking Shark in the lobby had good food but was not included in the all inclusive deal. Staff was very helpful planning activities. Lots of activities available at the resort, snorkling off the resort beach, Coral World is a must see. Scott and Whitney do an excellent job running the Sea Lion Swim.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    850
    489
    416
    380
See reviews for
564
1,085
45
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Where to begin ! We where so impressed with our stay at this resort ! The food was GREAT ! The staff was so accommodating and friendly. The bartenders where funny and entertaining. Always friendly, nice, and FAST ! Look up Ross and Kai ! The pools were clean and there were always plenty of seating at the pool and the beach. Definatly recommend the resort shuttle back up to the hotel. The walk down is fun but a workout going up lol ! We are going back again ! Wouldn't even think of looking around. Loved seeing the GM of the hotel walking around, jumping in behind the bar, and making sure you are completely satisfied. All I can say is this was a great resort !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

the rooms were dated like a clarion hotel or holiday inn. the front desk staff was slow like they were on strike. The beach was rocky but Lindquist or Smith Bay near by was spectacular. Koki beach and Coral World were very close and it was the greatest place to stay as far as location. We were on our honeymoon and the room always seemed hot or the AC wasn't working. Not real sure. The only cool thing was the girl that i think owned the Barking Shark Cafe helped us find the cool stuff to do like koki and lindqist plus find some really cool spots to hang, one beach clothing optional (which was the bomb)l. Their cake was just okay but better especially after they poured chocolate syrup on top, their food and the service was great (order the special breakfast sandwich btw (just kinda a hanmburger spot)and they were better tour guides than the tour desk service on where to go. The pool was great but they close at 11 i think. it took us forever to get a shuttle down to the pool. When we finally did get the shuttle i thought my life was going to be in danger as we went into some parking lot first then the driver went up a huge hill doing what seemed to be 80. Overall it was just ok. It had potential to be great but somehow failed us on every level as we were expecting a real resort. Maybe it's the best on St. Thomas but I would def stay somewhere else next time or just go to St. John if we had it in the budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I spent our first anniversary here. We are easy going people. We got a deal through Living Social for the All Inclusive package. We had an ocean view room which was clean and comfortable. The view was spectacular. The hotel property was also clean and pretty. The pool was gorgeous. The beach was fine for something they basically created from the existing rock exterior. We snorkeled there with the free rental of gear and really enjoyed it. Most of the staff was great. Find Ross the bartender. He's the best. The islands have plenty to do so I think no matter where you stay, you can have fun and easily reach places. Visit the BVIs, Coki Bay and Coral World! So onto the not so great information. The food was below average. You could only get it at certain times and certain places. Half the time the wait staff was unattentive and often the food was room temperature. The drinks were good. I know other reviewers mentioned not enough liquor, but if it is all inclusive, just drink more! :-) Honestly though I felt all the drinks, both the mixed and the shooters, were just right. The beer selection was disappointing. No draft and only 4 options (Coors Light, Bud, Amsterdam, and Caribe). I made due with Coors Light. The iguanas were cool. My husband and I are animal lovers though so they didn't scare or bother us at all. We liked them and they did not intrude like some reviewers have mentioned. All in all, we would stay here again. We do recommend it, just wait for a deal. We would not pay full price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at this resort for a girl's trip over Veteran's Day weekend. The property is neat, clean and well run. Several of the staff made us feel right a home. No matter what was going on the staff was pleasant, responsive and efficient.

Room Tip: If you can swing it definitely go for an ocean view room. The views are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wifi does not work in all rooms. The menu is very modest and the wait is very long. Hotel should be renovated. Everything else is quite ok but not worth the money that you pay. Hotel beach I did not like. Iguanas are everywhere. I do not recommend

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the worst 'resort' that I have ever been to. It's slow service, dated interiors and bad food leaves something to desire. The beach is not a beach. The pool area is larger than the beach area, but I will give credit here: The pool is nice.

They have a gift shop where a regular bag of Doritos, despite the company price of 4.99 has a sticker of 8.95 marked on the bag. Someone needs to call Frito-Lay about this.

They have a Bistro on the first floor with the worst food ever. NOTHING there tastes the same since no one there seems to know how to make anything consistently. AWFUL. I even overheard someone in the gift shoppe say something about roaches and rats.

I also find it funny that there are so many good reviews here. I am sure that they are propagated by the hotel management as this 'resort' really is awful. I have found that any of the really bad reviews listed here are the most accurate. The Lobby even smells like smoke most of the time due to there being no ventilation for the food outlets in the lobby.

I did not come on vacation to smell like grease, sit on a rock (beach) or be robbed blind by the taxi drivers that the hotel call to take us to our destination. I later learned that the $1 cabs called safari's would charge regular cab fairs to unknowing tourists - of course the guys working the door must be in on this as they never told us any different. Yeah.. scam. As is the "All Inclusive Package." Avoid that too. There is not much choice and the food and wine is awful. Unless you can eat tons of bad food and drink, it is MUCH cheaper to eat out.

AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Room Tip: To get a good room, board some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Sugar Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Sugar Bay

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Sugar Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Sugar Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Dreams Sugar Bay St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Sugar Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.