We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Bay Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Wifi does not work in all rooms. The menu is very modest and the wait is very long. Hotel should be renovated. Everything else is quite ok but not worth the money that you pay. Hotel beach I did not like. Iguanas are everywhere. I do not recommend

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    838
    482
    409
    363
See reviews for
549
1,069
44
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is the worst 'resort' that I have ever been to. It's slow service, dated interiors and bad food leaves something to desire. The beach is not a beach. The pool area is larger than the beach area, but I will give credit here: The pool is nice.

They have a gift shop where a regular bag of Doritos, despite the company price of 4.99 has a sticker of 8.95 marked on the bag. Someone needs to call Frito-Lay about this.

They have a Bistro on the first floor with the worst food ever. NOTHING there tastes the same since no one there seems to know how to make anything consistently. AWFUL. I even overheard someone in the gift shoppe say something about roaches and rats.

I also find it funny that there are so many good reviews here. I am sure that they are propagated by the hotel management as this 'resort' really is awful. I have found that any of the really bad reviews listed here are the most accurate. The Lobby even smells like smoke most of the time due to there being no ventilation for the food outlets in the lobby.

I did not come on vacation to smell like grease, sit on a rock (beach) or be robbed blind by the taxi drivers that the hotel call to take us to our destination. I later learned that the $1 cabs called safari's would charge regular cab fairs to unknowing tourists - of course the guys working the door must be in on this as they never told us any different. Yeah.. scam. As is the "All Inclusive Package." Avoid that too. There is not much choice and the food and wine is awful. Unless you can eat tons of bad food and drink, it is MUCH cheaper to eat out.

AVOID AVOID AVOID.

Room Tip: To get a good room, board some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our stay at Sugar Bay was wonderful. The staff was pleasant and helpful (especially Heather at the pool bar, Renee in the dining room, Gloria for music) and went out of their way to make our vacation special. The room was beautiful, clean and comfortable--the view amazing! We totally enjoyed the food and drink offerings. We took advantage of the amenities and had a great time. The sand fleas were a nuisance but that's an island issue not the resort. Be sure to use the safari taxi for cheap ($1) transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel was amazing. Although they are in the midst of renovations, the accomadations are still breath taking. The service is first class and the food is amazing!!!! The only bad comment I can give to the hotel is that they could use new beach towels- so minor. The beach and pool are fantastic. The spa is beautiful and each restaurant caters to a different type of cuisine. I am definately bringing my entire family back!!!! Loved it. Each dinner was better than the night before and the waitstaff was phenominal. They gave excellent suggestions and were always accomodating. Kima at the front desk was super in helping us print our boarding passes and Katrina in the main dining room was a sweetheart. The food and beverage director was so pleasant and was always floating through the many dining facilites on property. The gift shop is to die for. You really wouldn't need to go off resort if you didn't want to. Marie that made the omlets was a magician each morning. She is top notch. The gentlemen out front were always friendly and offered us a tropical drink as soon as we got out of our van. My friend and I could not have had a better experience. The facilities were clean and we felt very safe on the resort.

Room Tip: We upgraded to an ocean view room and the view was amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wedding - We were only here for the weekend to attend a wedding. The wedding Sugar Bay offered was okay, the cake they gave us was horrible. It tasted like white cake with butter all over it. The wedding wasn't in a separate or a location on the side of the beach, it was literally right smack in the middle of everyone laying out and walking about.

Hotel & Pool - The hotel was very pretty and had a nice good wind flow through out all the buildings and walkways. The pool was very big and beautiful.

Beach - The beach however, was small and a little rocky on one side so you try to enter into the water on the least rocky side but this is the same area they load passengers for the sail boat. It ends up making it a little inconvenient if you want to get in the beach water without walking on the bigger rocks. The guys driving the small boats were also a little inconsiderate to those swimming and sometimes would just blast past you. it would be more ideal if they block off an area they prefer to load the passengers for the sailboat, then it would eliminate any confusion and keep peoples safety in mind.

Cats - I am a cat lover and this place is loaded with cats. They have cat trees all over and will feed the cats. This may be something you might want to be aware of if you are allergic. The cats do not come up to you by any means, they just live on the resort.

Service - The people working on the facility really were not that friendly, nor did they try to help my fiance and I get to the airport first thing in the morning. I found them quite rude or just didn't care. It did not matter if I was being nice, trying to strike up a conversation or just saying a friendly "Hello", I felt they were a bit too rude for my taste.

Would I go back here? Most likely not.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation. The resort was small & friendly. There was plenty to do., The beach was smaller, but still nice. The water was awesome! The rooms were very nice and the food was good. We would return.

Room Tip: As far as we could see, all the rooms had a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sugar Bay Resort and Spa is great. The staff couldn't have been more friendly. As soon as we arrived we were greeted outside and shown into the lobby and check-in. Once checked-in we were taken to our room and explained everything by the bell boy. Couldn't have been happier. I'm a travel agent and would recommend Sugar Bay to all my clients. It was very clean and the food was great! Thank you Sugar Bay for a great experience.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend a room overlooking the Caribbean and outlying islands - that was magnificient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Bay Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Resort & Spa

Address: 6500 Estate Smith Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Bay Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, you can enjoy amenities including gorgeous inter-connecting pools, an award-winning spa, and private balconies! This St. Thomas resort is located just 15 minutes from the famous Mahogany Run Golf Course. Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is located on a secluded white beach with breathtaking, panoramic ocean, bay, and mountain views. The Sugar Bay Resort & Spa is the perfect destination for your next St. Thomas vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sugar Bay Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Sugar Bay Hotel
Wyndham Sugar Bay Resort St Thomas
Wyndham Hotel St Thomas
Wyndham St Thomas
Wyndham East End
East End Wyndham
Wyndham Sugar Bay St Thomas
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Bay Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.