We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy...Went Twice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pesce

Pesce
American Yacht Harbor, 00802, St. Thomas
+1 340-714-7874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in East End
Price range: $9 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy...Went Twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We found Pesce while driving through Red Hook looking for a place to eat after a disatrous meal at our hotel restaurant (Sunset Grille). We were shocked that the same people own both places. Where Sunset Grille was rude and overpriced, serving sub-par food at NYC prices, Pesce was warm, delicious, and reasonable. Our server (Jennifer) was adorable, knowledgeable, and attentive. We ate there 2 times during our stay on St Thomas, and the food was fabulous on both nights. No wonder they were packed! Check it out when you're there...

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    113
    53
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best meal of trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We visited Pesce on our second night in St. Thomas. It is located in Red Hook, only a $5 cab ride from the Ritz, so it was very convenient to get to. We arrived and sat in the back room which was more quiet than the bar area. The sauteed calamari appetizer had the most scrumptious sauce and was light and fresh. One of the misconceptions of this restaurant is that it only has linguini and typical Italian fare, e.g., lasagna etc. We actually picked this restaurant on the recommendation of the concierge at the Ritz and after seeing the pictures of the food in the concierge menu book. Since we were in St. Thomas, we wanted to try fish entrees. Two of us had seared tuna for our entrees. One had a pomegrante sauce and the other entree was the standard on the menu with the spicy sauce. Both dishes were outstanding and just what we had hoped for. If you like sushi, you will really like this dish. Also, the portions were hearty and large, the size you'd expect from an Italian restaurant, even for the non-Italian style dishes. Some of the other restaurants we went to served pea-sized portions. The waitress was very friendly and although not as formal as some of the other restaurants, she provided excellent service throughout the evening. The tiramisu dessert made the night. It was probably the best I have ever had. Three of us shared one and we were full by the end of the meal. Know that the menu is quite varied and is 5 times or so larger than most of the other restaurants we visited. This ensured there was something delectable for everyone in our party. We were going to go back for the second time in a week and regretted not doing so when we went elsewhere. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What happened to the consistency?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was a celebration lunch with 12 of our friends as my husband and I launched our 50th wedding anniversary. I called about 3 weeks before and made reservations for 1:00 pm. when I thought they would be less crowded. They were expecting us but we had one waitress (who was very pleasant and tried to please) but it took two hours for us to be served and finish our meal. I would not rave about the meal - food was mediocre.

We have dined at Pesce's many times over the years they have been open and have always enjoyed their food and pleasant atmosphere. This was a disappointing experience, but we will try again. Unfortunately we cannot redo the celebration with our friends who came from the states to celebrate with us.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic italian food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Our meal here was delicious!!! My husband and I are vegetarians and they has a good number of options for us. Our waitress was very sweet and the service was quick. They had the yummiest garlic butter with their bread...yum yum yum!! Their portions are huge...and the food is very good! Deserts are great too...we had a great kahlua choclate cake with icecream...was the perfect end to a fantastic meal!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake County, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Do not miss weekend brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

A bartender at another restaurant recommended Pesce for the weekend brunch and it did not disappoint. The restaurant itself is lovely, but not large. There is a nice bar area. Brunch was delicious. I had huevos rancheros and could not finish my meal. It was served "stacked," with slices of spicy chorizo between the tortillas. Most impressive, however, was the $10 do-it-yourself bloody mary & mimosa bar. Unbelievable! There were several liquor and mix choices, more ingredients than I could imagine putting in a bloody mary, and garnishes galore. In a word: genius!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pesce also viewed

 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Frenchtown, St. Thomas
 

Been to Pesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pesce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.