We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip Ever to USVI” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
wilkesboro, north carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Trip Ever to USVI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2010

Improvements to this resort are ongoing as with any place in the USVI. I found the resort clean, comfortable, and much improved. The staff was excellent and worked quickly and efficiently to make sure we were well served. I had a fantastic time and an enjoyable interaction with the staff from top to bottom.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    101
    34
    28
    50
See reviews for
44
119
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I should have followed my mind after reading the reviews before I traveled , management is the worst , she does not care about your concerns and needs to go back to school for hotel hospitality and management. She is only concerned about making an extra dollar by what ever means necessary. The rooms are not clean and unsanitary, mildew around the tubs and shower curtains. Isolated hairs from previous guest, guest towels with darken old stains, and to say the least ants and bugs all over the sink areas with television with three fuzzy channels. No activities for guest all activities had a price attached. You had to pay a taxi to take you to the beach , then pay to get in the beach, then pay for a beach chair. Never Never ever will I go there again or reccomend this hole in the wall except to the owner to read and do something

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

This has got to be if not THE worse, at least on the top (?) 2 list!

This is an RCI Resort which is available both as a timeshare and a hotel. Neither provides a deal except for those who were lucky enough to purchase here and trade in RED across the RCI Network. But for those looking for a stay in paradise, I'd suggest go elsewhere!

This setting is nestled in what could be an ideal setting as it is just within .5 miles from world's famous Magen's Beach/Bay (which does live up to the hype)!

Pirates are still active in the Caribbean and a motley crew of them have found shelter/refuge at Magen's Point. It is being run like a fleecing station: everyone is in on the kick-backs and cronism. From the front desk which insists that only certain taxis be used even going as far as to admonish guest/owners when they call anyone else, to the Randy randy director of Events -- who was generous to get up to the resort to arrange for his group of sightseeing and excursion providers to sell their wares directy to us and who stayed around long enough to ensure that he got his cut.

There are no amenities to speak of. Never mind that the resort's website lists a free shuttle (it's actually $4 to the beach and back per person); or that internet service is not available in the suites/rooms, but must be purchased and then the signal is only available within the confines of the Front Desk's office space. The exercise room has been undergoing construction (as they so gracefully put it), but isn't there a point (say at the 1-year mark when this lie should be put to rest). According to one of the staff members at the venue, it's been over 5 years since the fire! Forget the convenience store: pick a time to go down and you'll find it closed. A 25-cent bag of chips for a $1.00; oh the greed!

So, the group of guests which were there during the week I was found the rooms without phone service, the hot water on the fritz, no heat in the hot tub (oh to be fare, I'll count the one day!), various electrical problems, snowy cable reception (it's situated near the top a mountain -- where's the obstruction?!)

And alas there is no potable water, but you can buy some for $6.00 a bottle at the restaurant's concession -- where the servers have been told under no circumstances to allow you to drink any tap water. If you're that concerned about our collective health -- get a filtered water system!

Housekeeping is scaled back -- trash is picked up daily -- or so they claim (NOT!) -- but beds are only changed/made on Wednesdays.

So what was the worst of it -- the cats -- hordes of them. Everywhere, many sick and suffering from mange and defecating anywhere (including the paths and along the poolside)! No they weren't added to the description of the resort, because I would have forgone the selection. And down at the beach -- didn't see a one!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

This resort has gotten such a bad rap from so many poor reviews that I was fearful of our stay there. We went as part of an RCI points vacation and were so surprised - relieved- that everything bad we read was totally unfounded. Most of the staff were more than friendly and helpful and the room was perfectly acceptable and very clean. The resort is under renovations but you can plainly see that everything is handled to make up for any shortcomings. Our A/C worked almost too well! The rooms are small but you are well informed of that and a one-bedroom is plenty for a couple. The grounds and pool were beautiful and the restaurant and bars above average. The food was some of the best we had on the island during the entire week stay. You cannot beat their happy hour anywhere on the island! The trips and activities offered by the resort were fun and organized well. Friends of ours who toured the island with us but stayed at a higher end resort were jealous and joined us for many activities.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

Our trip was fabulous. I was nervous after reading some of these reviews which made me all the more surprised to stay at such a lovely resort. The room was clean, had a great balcony, and serviceable kitchenette. The pool was so nice we spent one day just lying there and enjoying it instead of going to one of the spectacular beaches. There is a restaurant on location that serves some of the best food we found on the island. Overall, the customer service was excellent, from the front desk to the attentive bartenders. Even the maintenance team would great us in the mornings as we passed by. I would strongly recommend this resort as an affordable lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This beautiful mountain hideaway is paradise found. There are no imitations here. The airy colorful rooms are truly Caribbean in decor and layout. The amenities are over the top and every balcony, with its perfect view of Magen's beach, is an island visitors delight.

The resort will capture you. The staff will overwhelm you with their friendliness and attention to your every need.
A visit here will make your final words a promise that "I'll be back'.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, NV
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

Well, I will start with the good things, the food is excellent and the place and the rooms were very clean....

Now. Oh dear. We were very very disappointed in our room. The first night we got there the electricity went off-apparently it goes off a lot which isn't the hotel's fault, but the generator was right under our room, and it was so loud that it literally shook the floor and kept us awake all night. Twice. Then the alarm clock in the room was broke and went off every 15 minutes. We laughed and unplugged it. The curtains were broke and we finally had to just leave them shut. The toilet was broke-it ran all the time; my husband just turned the water off and we turned it on when we wanted to use it-the hotel did finally come in and fix that. And the ants-we figured there would be some ants because this was an older hotel in the middle of the jungle, but they got into everything; we finally had to rent an ice chest to put our drinks into and put all of our food, nuts, chips, etc, in the ice box. And the ants got into all of our luggage too (yes, we have shipped food in our luggage in the past.) And don't get up in the middle of the night because you will disturbe the ant party going on on the counter top. We finally got ant spray, but that only kept them at bay for about two days.

The hotel is on a hill and not close to anything, and there is nothing to do at night except sit in the bar and drink (my husband did his share of that). The TV is horrible here, when the cable does work and the electricity is on. Oh, and from what we heard from some of the other guests, we had one of the better rooms. One couple told me that their cable did't work at all, and the air conditioner was broke, as well as their drapes too.

Beware; this place looks all nice when you first get there, but the rooms are very bad. I don't recommend it. Oh, and if you stay here, you will need a car as it will cost you at least $40 plus one way to go anywhere from here. And Magens Bay really is only 1/2 mile away, but it is a steep 1/2 mile, and you will have to pay a nice fee to get in.

Take my advise; save your money and go to a better hotel; we loved Secret Cove and St. John.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.