We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming resort, great Spa Services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming resort, great Spa Services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A friend arranged for us to stay in a studio room for a long weekend at Magens Point Resort, and it was lovely. Charming, beautifully landscaped, and a friendly accomodating staff. The Deli there is fantastic, with fresh coffee bar, baked goods, breakfast and lunch sandwiches, nice wine selection, sundries and very reasonable prices! A wine tasting "dinner" at Simply Italian was out of this world delicious. A 2 minute drive from beautiful Magens Bay beach, less than 10 minutes "over the hill" to Charlotte Amalie, Magens Point is ideally located for exploring the best of St. Thomas.

Spa operator Gary Rosenthal offers the usual spa services but he is much more of a well-rounded holistic healer, and in addition to massage he uses a variety of techniques and energy work to clear blockages and put you on the road to better wellness..as well as showing you these techniques to 'take home' and continue the healing! A session with Gary was the highlight of my weekend and I highly recommend you contact him.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    101
    34
    28
    50
See reviews for
44
117
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very apprehensive at the beginning turned into a very pleasant and nice experience by enjoying one of the 2 great pools, transportation readily available when requested and finally a very dynamic/knowledgeable activities director. I think I am planning my trip back to the resort already.
Let your mind and body relax and enjoy the different opportunities you will get at the Magens Point resort and the different excursions you can enjoy while you are there.
Maggens beach within walking distance and easy access.

Room Tip: I had an upgrade from a studio to a one bedroom....excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Let me first say that me, my wife and 2 small children did NOT stay at the resort. HOWEVER, we found ourselves visiting the resort each and every day we were on the island. We had rented a condo on Magens Bay itself, but came to Magens Point Resort each day for our morning espresso at their coffee shop. We would at the same time pick up a bottle of wine (all reasonably priced from all over the world) for our evening. Had a lunch at the pool restaurant one day and a dinner at the great Italian place another night. Even spent a day at the pool (You can get a day pass for $10) with the kids in an effort to mix it up versus the ocean. Kevin, the GM, was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. We hope to have the luxury of coming back to St. Thomas in the near future, and if we do, we will likely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Depends on what you like. This was our frst time here. We are not people who generally "vacaton"...... more into travel so willing to put up with more "rustic" accomodations. The grounds are very nice, the 2 pools clean & well cared for, the staff wonderful,,,,,,, an overall very nice setting. The rooms themselves leave something to be desired. We stayed in a studion and then moved to a 1 bedroom. Little things have been ignored....... screen doors off track and in need of oil, drawers askew, headboard of bed loose (BEFORE we used the bed), water (hot & cold) reversed, etc. However, we did recommend it to some friends. It was a nice atmosphere (for our taste) for relaxing. It probably would be wise to rent a car as it is somewhat remote.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The bar & pool area were always clean and in great shape. The staff was always courteous & will to help out. The rooms were cleaned timely and the activities director was very cheerful & always had activities that everyone could enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I spent a week at Magens Point Resort the first of March. The staff was wonderful, especially Meredith, Kevin, and Violia! The view was fantastic overlooking Magens Bay. The room (313) was another matter however.

The door dead bolt didn't work, the cabinet door fell off, the outlet for the hair dryer went out, and housekeeping took all the dirty towels but left us nothing. We had to go to the front desk three days in row and ask for pool towels so we could take showers.

We ate at Italian restaurant the first night. For $55/each it was really bad. We ordered two appetizers and a salad each. Sent back the drink I ordered, it was awful. Order tap water because they stick it to you for bottled water. One night I ordered a pizza to go from the bar at the resort and it took 45 minutes after I stood there for 15 minutes to get someone to wait on me. I was not impressed with it.

There is a little convenience store/coffee shop on the property that is great! Be sure to visit them while you're there. They have a little of everything. Oh and if you plan to go to Magens Beach rent your chair from them rather than on the beach. Be aware there is charge to enter Magens Bay Beach. $2/person & $4/car

Overall, I enjoyed my stay but don't expect a 5 or 4 star experience. I would stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a newer room on the resort. We were in the older part and it is showing it's ag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed here the rooms were clean and maintained rental cars is needed due to location on the island. the bar and pool area was clean and the food was good. Will stay again at some point in the future. room had a nice veiw of the bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.