We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magens Point Resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Plainfield, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magens Point Resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were bummed when we arrived to Magens Point Resort. Maybe I just had a false sense of what island life was like! Our room and the resort were pretty run down. Cobb web with large spider in shower, light bulb out over the sink, stains on couch pillows, large stain on bed sheets, stains on couch, curtains broke, clear finish on table chipping off, toilet clogged every day, both hot tubs were more like "warm tubs," upper pool dirty and cloudy, two chairs on our porch were broken, and power went off multiple times (side note: power runs their water, as well)! So, that was disappointing to start the trip and then power was off from 11:00pm - to 4:00pm the next day! Bad way to start our honeymoon, for sure! Also, there are roosters/hens on the property that start making their noises around 4:00am and don't stop. It was absolutely ridiculous! Again, maybe this is just island life - definitely not my idea of a relaxing honeymoon! Meredith, the activities director, was a nice breath of fresh air. She made us feel a little more at ease on an island that is extremely difficult to get around and find things! If you like very nice and clean rooms, you won't want to go here! If you don't really care, go for it!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    109
    35
    28
    52
See reviews for
46
127
10
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

More then 24 family and friends stayed at Megan's Point Resort- last week. The staff was accommodating, pleasant and friendly. The pools were clean and planting's beautiful. We had a dinner/ BBQ at the lower pool for 60 people.. It was perfect! A special thank you to Lori, for getting the rooms together, especially in off season. The pool bar- THANK YOU- for feeding so many people all the time- day and night- the food was great and the service even BETTER. Also, a great big thank you to CUP & Cork, you made the morning's great. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver WA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We love this place. We go every two years or so and stay here. We walk to the beach and love the location. Humming birds are flitting around enjoying the flowers. We have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I have observed tired travelers being demanding and rude who don't get the same over the top service we get, wonder why? The kitchen is small and we don't feel it meets our needs for cooking, so we don't. The restaurant seems to change every time we are there but is always good. This is a small friendly resort not like your grand resorts. We like this place and other fancier places and know what we are getting when we go. I look forward to our return visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Magens through an RCI trade, but I researched regular pricing before we left. This is a wonderful option for families on a budget. It's certainly not the Ritz, but that's not why you come to the islands anyway. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which gave us plenty of space (TIP: If you are getting a 2 bedroom, call the resort and see if they can put you in an end unit - it features 2 completely separate bedrooms rather than the loft style found in the middle units) Very large shower (enough room for two if you're on a romantic getaway). Amazing view of Megans Bay. It was a shame that both the bar and restaurant were closed while we were there, but I'm sure the renovations they are working on will make the place much better. Staff was very friendly. Meredith absolutely made our vacation. She is the best thing about the resort. Every day she provided us with great tips about the island, dining options, and others. If you get a chance join her for the historic tour of Charlotte Amalie, just be prepared for those 99 steps!

The resort is about a half mile from Magens Bay in the middle of the jungle/rain forest. If you do stay here I highly recommend you get a rental car. You are away from most things which is great for privacy and getting away from the crowds, but that does mean it will get expensive if you have to taxi everywhere. Rent a car, it will be worth it.

Also - regarding posts about wild life (including the cats) - you are in the jungle/ rain forest on a tropical island. The wildlife was WONDERFUL. Chickens, Iguanas, and yes even the cats 1) added to the experience and 2) really weren't that many in numbers - I saw a few cats, a few iguanas, and several chickens while there - it made the experience more authentic and the work the resort does for the cats is great!

In all this was a WONDERFUL experience. I would recommend it for anyone and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If getting a 2 BR call and ask for one on the end - All other rooms call and ask for one facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

In July 2013, we (4) spent one week at the MAGENS POINT Resort in St. Thomas (U.S.V.I.). It was a Very PLEASANT experience in our 2 bedroom VILLA, with one bedroom being on the upper level. We benefited from a small but complete kitchen. Ceramic tiles cover the floor everywhere; it does look clean. I was told by resort personnel that all the carpets were removed 2-3 years ago. We had a SPACIOUS balcony, as the four of us could sit comfortably, at the same time, and still have room to spare. On it, we enjoyed BEAUTIFUL views of the surrounding mountains, and of MEGANS Bay, including Lovely sunsets. The resort is located on a mountainside, thus offering AWESOME views. At the resort, the grounds are Really Nice and quite cozy, with its tropical vegetation. The pool area offers a good decor with a small waterfall, and views of the mountains. The spa's location is Great, somewhat secluded, peaceful, surrounded by rocks and a green area. The entire staff treated us very well! And when we requested some repairs, they were quickly done! Also, we were ALL IMPRESSED by the TOP Quality service, well above average, of Meredith, the activities director. She is Very FRIENDLY and HELPFUL! Throughout our stay, she assisted us in a number of ways. GOD WILLING, we will return to this resort and its Quality staff, in the not too distant future.
Pierre and Sybil A.
Toronto, Canada

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoope, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Our party of four had a relaxing week at the resort. The staff were helpful and the rooms were more than adequate. Meredith, the activities director, goes above and beyond to take care of the guests. We went on a tour/shopping trip led by Meredith and had a wonderful time. The restaurant/bar were under renovations the entire week, I did not eat on-property. Excellent location overlooking the bay. We had a rental car and drove to Megan's Bay, rather than walking the steep hill. I was pleased with the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

That is what this resort is. Its just what you need in a place to stay on St. Thomas. If you are looking for a grande resort with its own beaches, people to massage you while you lay poolside, or any other frivolous luxury, this isn't the place for you. This is a cozy little place right up the street from the beach for you to put your things down and feel relaxed and content. There is a small bar that they were working on putting in new floors while we were there so we didn't get to enjoy it every night but we had fun the first three nights. There is also an italian restaurant that is reasonably tasty. There is a lovely little pool and hot tub that is working (I read other reviews that said it wasn't so I wanted to include that). There is a little coffee shop/convenience store that has delicious coffee and tasty breakfast foods. The staff is very warm and will hang out with you if they are around at night. It is just very quaint and friendly and has all of the essentials but you don't feel trapped there. That is the best way to put it. We were on our honeymoon and had a great time and are looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.