We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredial Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Save Saved
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Magens Bay
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Incredial Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Magen Point Resort during Holy Week of this year. We would like to single out several employees that sooooo took great care of my wife and myself. Wanda and Stephan at the front desk were always so polite and made us feel so welcome during our week stay. They were there always to address our questions/concerns. As a matter of fact, we got in our 1st night late because of air travel delays and Wanda was there @ 11:45 pm to help get us checked in. The maid service was awesome also. Susi and Cha Cha took care of our room and you never knew when they were there. Because of the these staff members at Magens Point, our rest time during our weeks stay on St. Thomas was very rejuvenating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    99
    33
    28
    50
See reviews for
43
115
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our three week vacation at Magen's Point Resort. We found the accommodation clean,tidy and well maintained.Clean pleasant pool and deck surround, we also liked the tub whether hot or cold! Fabulous views of the bay and surrounds from the appartments .We enjoyed walking to the beach and back although a taxi would be a help for some.
The bonus part of the stay must be the superb staff who do everything to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The website is very deceiving. They have a very limited selection of photos of the property which WILL mislead you into thinking Magens Point is close to the beach or that they have a spa. No spa. No beach. As a matter of fact, this may be one of the only resorts in St. Thomas without beach access of some sort. Magen's Point is about as close to the beach as Oklahoma City is, comparatively speaking. Nothing about this place is honest or clean.

I don't even know where to begin. I stayed at Magens Point for about 6 months. 75% of the time there was no hot water, if there was water at all. Lori should be replaced, she's rude and crass and doesn't hesitate to speak her mind/confront you with the issues she has with you after hours at the bar... gosh, that's awkward. The buildings are dilapidated and in desperate need of MAJOR repair, I'm talking every aspect of repair. Thefts were reported by the guests almost daily. There is a government housing project next to the resort so that may explain the thefts? The wifi service is run by an individual who will steal your credit card/bank info. Since the owners wife "took over", all corners have been cut on materials needed for repairs. Roaches and ants are all over the place. The machines in the laundry room are expensive and work only half the time. The ice machines are all broken. There are cats and cat feces/vomit everywhere. The security guard can get you "hooked up" with what ever you may be looking for. I'd say there is a severe lack of professionalism all around.

There is MOLD EVERYWHERE and when the mold is exposed they just paint right over it! Ha! (Someone call the health inspector, please.)

The people who make this place bearable: Wanda, Tom, Viola, and the Cup and Cork. If it weren't for them, this place would be a complete joke.

There are also a lot of situational issues that I'm missing. I would go back to the bar for a drink but would never give it a second thought on staying the night.

I would suggest keeping your expensive items with you at all times, your bags will be searched for valuables. Don't try to hide valuables in the room or in the closet safe, just keep it with you because Lori and Mercedes do not care if your things are stolen.

I am living on island and have been here for 2 and a half years now. If you would like to have a stress free time while on island, I suggest going to Bolongo Bay or Blackbeards instead of Magens Point, see for yourself before you make the commitment.

Good luck!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent three weeks at Megens in Feb. We were joined by great friends we have made over many years of vacationing at Magens. The resort is like a fine wine it gets better with age and is best when shared with old friends and new friends we meet every year. The resort is safe,quite,clean,casual and a great central location to explore the island from. Make sure you get a car. DRIVE ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE ROAD !!!

Room Tip: The studio units are small try to get a one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

One can't chose a better location when staying in St Thomas. This is a beautiful resort with quite a few amenities. However, not only is this a great location, the facilities from the front desk, the restaurant, the bar and pool are great. One of the attributes that make Magen's Point are the employees, which are all great. There is one stand out by the name of Viola. I first met her at the orientation. She provided helpful information from an islander perspective in a very nice way. I also had questions about my ownership. She is so knowledgable and she took the time to respond to all my questions in a very positive way. She is a breathe of fresh air and is pleasant. She is the epitomy of customer service at its best. You couldn't find a nicer, more understanding and compassionate person anywhere, who takes her job very seriously.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the main pool are the largest with a fantastic view of Magen's Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks here in Feb 2013. We were joined by family and got to see friends that come the same time each year, everybody had a great vacation. The property was everything we have come to expect, clean, friendly,safe and fun fun fun.Congradulations to all the staff, Lori in reservations always spot on,Tom, activities director, beach picnic food was great and beer and rum punch flowing, and last but not least, Viola, always a pleasure to visit with and stay up to date on what goes on with the resort. This resort treats their guests like family, not something I've experienced at other resorts on the island. The restaurant SIMPLY ITALIAN was great, espically for a late night dessert. I will and plan to return to Magens Point every time I come to St Thomas. Do not miss an opportunity to stay at Magens Point Resort.

Room Tip: One bedroom units are spacious and nicely located near pool and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donchamp
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have stayed here before, and this year, the hotel is better than it ever was. Staff keeps rooms clean on a daily basis. Can't beat the view and the pool. Bar is great, active scene all day. New restaurant on site (Simply Italian)one of the best on the Island now.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.