We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, casual and in a great setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Small, casual and in a great setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've owned a timeshare at Magens Point for 10 years. We stayed there three times before we bought our unit and we love the location, quietness and community of the resort. Yes - we've have an occasional cockroach or gecko in our room, but this is the caribbean and the staff have been very responsive. The cats on the property make a fun addition to the experience. My husband always stops to pet Princess when she is sleeping in the palm tree planter across from the front desk and Bradley wherever he may be lounging on the pool deck or in an unoccupied chair.

The rooms are simple, but clean and the views can't be beat. Being so close to Magen's Bay is fantastic - we walk to the beach. If you're looking for an elegant resort - this may not be the place for you. But if you want a small resort that lets you connect with what the caribbean is all about - this is a great choice.

We also need to give a big thumbs up to the Pool Bar and Simply Italian! They double checked some recipes because I can't eat wheat. Hubby said the Conch Fritters were fantastic and they even gave my him the recipe for their mango hot sauce.

The reviewer who says this place is rowdy - must have been there on a very rare night. The Pool Bar closes at 10pm. We've been there for the past few Super Bowls and the small crowd is friendly and fun - but not what I would consider rowdy.

We've brought three sets of friends with us on vacation and they all enjoyed Magen's and want to visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    34
    28
    50
See reviews for
44
120
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week on an RCI exchange at Magens Point Resort. We had an absolutely wonderful time! The staff all deserve honorable mention. Tom was a great activities coordinator, always providing accurate, unbiased information down to directions and parking to the best restaurants on the Island. He also provided us a lot of insider information, like getting down to Magens Point Beach before 8 AM in order to avoid the parking charge. Lori was also a great host and front desk manager as well as Maria and Steffan. Could not have asked for nicer more helpful staff. The guest orientation on Sunday morning was exceptional and gave us a great start to planning our week. They had vendors from all over the island provide brief presentations and opportunities to sign up for trips and excursions. Our room was very basic but served its purpose. Very well kept and clean! We always felt safe and the cats were actually very friendly and never bothersome. Food available at the resort was good. Italian Restaurant attached to the resort was very good with great mojitos and nice staff ! Old Stone Farm House (right down the road is a must). A car is a must and a fun adventure if you are coming from the states. Would highly recommend visiting St. John and the BVI as was recommended by the staff at Magens. All around this was a great place to stay. We would come back in a minute, especially now since we are back on the frozen tundra, with -9 degree air temps. You don't even want to know what the wind chill is! Magens Point Resort is a great place to stay! Thanks again for making this a wonderful vacation!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort was very nice. Clean rooms, everything is here in the kitchen to cook meals. Good A/C. Really big balcony overlooking the bay. Staff is always around . I felt safe the whole time I was there. I can't wait to come back here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sitting on the deck of our unit we watched the sunrise over Magen's Bay. Although reference to construction was mentioned we saw no signs of it during our visit except for the occasional maintenance man working around the property. We were upgraded from a studio to a one bedroom without asking for it. Although signs stated the Internet may not work it was working while we were here. The resort was clean, people were very friendly. The on site Italian rest. Was very nice and had an excellent wine bar. One note.... It's not a property for those who want tons of easy access activity. Although you can walk to Magen's bay you'll need a car or taxi to get other places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Megan's bay ... ( building 3) There are no elevators but staff wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilkesboro, north carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Magens Point Resort is my kind of place. Laid back, wonderful view of Magens Bay. A small convenience store and coffee shop fill in when the restaurant and bar is closed. I can't say personally that the Italian restaurant is the place to go, but many many visitors say it is great. I can say that the food served at the bar is fantastic, and the drinks are reasonable, especially for St. Thomas. Nice Pool, with a second opening soon. Wanda S. and Viola M. can point you to where you want to go and get you the transportation you need. If you are looking for a palace to stay in for your visit, "this is not the place". But, it you want quiet and comfortable, and a view, this is it. I love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second and third floor if available. These have the best views of Magens Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed for a little over a week in October. We brought several family members with us and had three, one bedroom units overlooking Magens Bay. We have been to this resort multiple times over the years and it is by far our favorite place in the Caribbean and in St. Thomas - preferred over Hawaii any day. Our accommodations were clean and comfortable. They have been undergoing some remodeling of the rooms and property, and the changes are very nice. I know that some have complained about the cats and the chickens and roosters on the property but I find these charming characteristics of island life and absolutely not a negative. Additionally, they serve a purpose - this is a tropical location and they serve to keep the insects and such to a minimum. The pool and bar area is very nice and a wonderful place to enjoy a drink and enjoy the beautiful Caribbean nights. The store on-site, the Cup and Cork, is fully stocked with almost anything you need and serve an awesome breakfast burrito. The resort is just a hop-skip & jump from Magens Bay and Magens Bay Park which is an absolutely perfect beach and Udder Delight, with the best milkshakes you have ever tasted. However, I think the crowning point of this resort, is their staff. The front desk staff was pleasant and accommodating. We found that we needed an extra night in order to take advantage of cheaper airfare and Lori Baskin was fantastic in making sure that happened. The bar/restaurant staff was extremely pleasant and the food excellent. If you think you may want a little piece of this heaven, ask to speak with Viola Morten, Director of Member Services. What a charming lady and she will work hard to find something that works for you.

This is a quiet, small resort away from the usual tourist areas. I recommend renting a vehicle if you stay here - although it is only a short drive to Charlotte Amalie and Red Hook, having a car makes getting around easy. We will be back as soon as we possibly can! Love it!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

First a disclaimer... I am a travel snob as my expectations are high due to traveling 40+ weeks a year with my career. Be warned that there are no elevators so it isn't the ideal place if mobility is an issue. My 77 yo grandmother owns a timeshare on the second floor but hasn't been in many years. Upon our arrival, it was apparant that she wouldn't be able to handle the stairs so we asked to be moved. Initially, the front desk lady wasn't accomodating insisting that she knew there were no elevators when she purchased the unit (15 years ago). The next day, Viola got us set up with a ground floor unit.

My mother became severely ill in the middle of the night and we attempted to go to the emergency room in our rental car; however, once outside (3 am) there were no security lights on making it pitch black. We decided to wait until daylight to take her.

Overall, our stay was pleasant with exception of the initial hickups. The resort is very QUAINT. It is older and in desperate need of some repair. I didn't get in the pool but it was nice. We'll def be back to St Thomas but am not crazy about returning to Magens Point Resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.