We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Point Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Magens Point Resort to your Saves list
Magens Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
BELLINGHAM
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We've been staying at Magens Pt Resort for 2 weeks, and have been having a great time. Everyone is friendly and helpful. We were here as Tropical Storm Isaac came through, and the day before the storm we received info on the storm, what to do, who to contact, plus a gallon of drinking water in case the power went out (it didn't). We've been having a great stay, and I just wanted to post this while we're still here. Thank you, Mike and Mercedes, for everything!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phebess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Raleigh
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our recent five night stay at Magens Point Resort. The people were very nice, upgrading us (without request) from a studio with inland view to a one bedroom with a pretty good view of Magens Bay. The place however is showing its age. We had maintenance in twice in the first two days, first when we found the bathroom sink was completely stoppered up (no lift mechanism), and then to replace a broken shower rod (most likely the original from many years ago) the next day. We scrounged for ice from the bar and from the guy cleaning the pool one morning, since the ice makers were out of order during our stay. The layout of the resort buildings is pretty strange, as we were one floor up from the ground but had 42 steps up and down each way to get to our room. This place tries really hard, but we will be looking for another place to stay if we ever return to St. Thomas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomc0523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I just returned from an amazing vacation in USVI. We stayed at Megans Point Resort, which is on the quiet side of the island. I cannot wait to return. The staff was friendly and responsive to all of our requests. Our room was gorgeous and clean. There was a breathtaking view of Megans Bay Beach right from our balcony and the sunsets at night could make you cry. Most of all, the people were so warm and welcoming that I can't wait to return next year and visit my new friends. I should mention that they have just finished renovating most of the rooms and are building a whole new spa and wellness area. Any negative reviews that you've read are probably outdated. I'm very excited to see Megans Point Resort once they finish all the updates!

Room Tip: Rent a car. The taxi fares will add up super quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My daughter and I were there last week, and I agree with Lisa B. It was our first visit to St. Thomas, but it won't be our last. Beautiful view from our balcony, clean comfortable rooms and grounds, friendly, helpful staff (Viola, Tom, Nick, etc.) good food and drinks! Tom, the Activities Director planned local events for the guests: musical entertainment poolside, dinner at Brooks (Delicious!), a bbq on Magens Bay, to name a few. Viola in Member Services consistently checked with guests to make sure that they were okay. We didn't rent a car, so we took taxis wherever we wanted to go. The cab drivers were friendly and the prices were reasonable (though they charge per person). We even took a day trip by ferry over to St. John, which is another beautiful island. The only down side (for lack of a better phrase) was that we were on the lush, north side of the island, away from "public" transportation. All in all, we had a great vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterPan1056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went with my family and this resort serves both, family and intimate vacation. The staff was very kind, friendly and very accomodating, compared to other "upscale" hotels we have visited. The room had a magnificent view, very clean,comfortable and very unique. Tha A/C and fan combination is heavenly. Beds were extremely comfortable and ahh, the hot water was not an issue, which ussually becomes an issue on these islands. The minor renovations goimg on did not intervene at all with our stay. To the contrary, there up to a fine remodeling and improvements. Yes, it is excellent and they are working to make it better!!The staff have daily activities to make your stay fun and refreshing. The owners are awesome people and are there to asist you. The best is the peace and quiet and beautifull views all around the hotel. I fully recommend it!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
road town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Let me from the outset say that I hadn't great expectations regarding this hotel and its amenities....this mindset having been shaped by visits to quite a few hotels of supposedly similar rating in St Thomas over the past thirty years.

i was pleasantly surprised.

My stay was merely an overnight one, but every interface i had with the property and staff during my short visit proved to be overwhelmingly positive: in fact, in my opinion, friendliness and courtesies extended to me exceeded in many cases, that which i experienced in the past at other hotels deemed more 'upscale'. good job there.

my room was scrupulously clean, spacious and pleasingly unique in its design execution. the bed was a dream....and the air conditioning flawlessly effective.

i fully recommend this resort.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dapenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Some of these reviews must have pictures from ages ago...

The place is a tad dated, but nice. It is not a four or five star resort, it is a solid three star resort. I really pretty much echo everything the last reviewer said, except we really didn't eat at the restaurant.

Honestly, I'd choose some place else next time because I really like to be right on the water, but other than that I would return for relative value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slrossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magens Bay
5.1 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
5.5 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.8 mi away
Marriott Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magens Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magens Point Resort

Address: Magens Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Magens Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magens Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magens Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magens Point is a two and a half star, unpretentious and very relaxed resort facing Magens Bay. Our facilities include two restaurants, one Italian finer dining featuring a wine-mojito bar, and the pool sports bar with burgers, bbq, pizza and sandwiches. We offer two jacuzzis, tennis courts, a coffee-deli-wine on site shop with breakfast, a gaming room, a small fitness center offering also yoga, zumba and massage services. All our studios and villas have been tastefully redone, and are fully equipped with kitchenettes, microwaves and small fridges, plus energy efficient air conditioning units. Most units also face Magens Bay, and you can wake up to spectacular views of the bay, or watch the sun set from your balcony while sipping the cocktail of your choice.Last year RCI awarded us recognition for excellence in hospitality services, and since 2010 we have spent hundreds of thousands of dollars upgrading our facilities. We may not be for everyone, true. But if you are looking for that "limin" effect that locals brag about.. come stay with us. We promise you an unforgettable experience. Magens Point is what the islands should be all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Magens Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magens Point Hotel Magens Bay
Magens Point Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing