We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it really is that great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Bay

Magens Bay
St. Thomas
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Magens Bay
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hailed as one of the world's most beautiful, this breathtaking bay along St. Thomas' rugged north coast is ideal for swimming and snorkeling with all the conveniences of parking, lifeguards, equipment rental, freshwater showers, restaurants and bars.
Akron, Ohio
1 review
“Yes, it really is that great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Believe the hype! We stayed in St. Thomas for a week and this was my favorite of the 5 beaches we visited. In my opinion, Magen's had the best combination of beautiful water, amenities, snorkeling (on the far left), scenery, and most of all, it wasn't too crowded. If you like the crowd, stay by the bar/snack bar, if you want more open beach, head to the left and the crowd thins out quickly. And make sure you fit in a stop for a milk shake at Udder Delight which also lives up the reviews and is on the road to Magen's bay.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    832
    402
    151
    38
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Mi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Beach for pleasure or recreation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Took cab for $8 each way from town and spend $4 to enter the park.
If you are on a budget take your own stuff like food, drink, snorkel / mask because rental is a bit pricey. There are also kayaks and paddle board available by the hour $20 -$30.

One end of the beach by the entrance can get crowded but head to the other end and there will be solitude. Many people seem to like to walk the complete length of the beach and back which is probably a half mile stroll. We too did this at the waters edge and it was very relaxing with great scenery.

The beach is clean and has lifeguards for about 3/4 of the length. Snorkeling is basically minnows that swim in the shallows because there is no reef just sandy bottom for swimming so don't expect too much. We did see a barracuda looking for the fish and a sea turtle came as far as the swim rope.
The funniest thing to watch is people swimming stir up the fish and Brown Pelicans will dive bomb for food within 10 feet of the unsuspecting people. The screams they will let out will keep you laughing for 5 minutes.

Great day - very pretty - very relaxing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views Of Ocean And Mountains, Take Safari Taxi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We were cruising on the NCL Epic and one of our ports was the island of St Thomas. Based on my extensive research on Trip Advisor, I knew that our family should visit Magens Bay while docked in St Thomas. There is no need to book an overpriced excursion with your cruise line. It is so simple to just make your own excursion ( and that goes for any port on your itinerary). Just do a little research on trip advisor and you can plan a fun and safe tour for your family. It will be less crowded, less rushed and less overpriced. Here in St Thomas, as soon as you disembark your ship, you will see the open air safari taxis. Just tell one of the local taxi drivers that you would like to go to Megan's Bay. They will take you right onto the taxi and allow some of your fellow cruise passengers on as well. Cost is only $8 pp each way. This is an excellent value. Your ride to Magen's Bay is like a tour on its own! Even if you just took the taxi for a ride there and back it would totally be worth while. The views are breathtaking!!! Unbelivable views of the turquoise ocean, mountains, cruise ships!!! Have your camera ready. The pictures I took look like those you see on a calander. There are no windows, doors or seat belts on the taxi. Doing those sharp turns on a cliff was scary with no seat belts, doors etc! But my kids and husband thought it was fun. Entry into the beach is only $4 pp and kids are free. Water is clear and calm. Beautiful scenery with huge mountains surrounding the beach. There are chairs, floating mats etc available for rent. Washrooms and showers available. Bar and snack shop on the beach. Prices are really high so we just bought our kids a hot dog and onion rings and we waited to eat until we got back on our ship. There are plenty of safari taxis waiting for you when you want to leave. The ride back is just as much an adventure as the way there. Would love to return to Megans Bay again!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Magens Bay is one of the greatest beaches to spend a day (or several) just enjoying life. They have a restaurant and bar to complete your day

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, Bahamas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice if there are not too many cruise ships in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Even though this is a tourist trip it is a nice beach and good for a day trip to St. Thomas if you aren't up for shopping. You can get a Safari Taxi bus for about $7-8 pp each way from the ship or town. The park entrance is $4 pp. If you want anything to eat considering bringing it with you as the prices at the bar aren't cheap. Beer is $5.50 and Mixed drinks are $6-7. We had a few rum punches and felt great! The beach was pretty full when there was just one cruise ship in. I wouldn't recomment going if there are several boats in. Keep an eye out for the wild iguanas. When you enter the park if you turn left and go past the bar you will come to a mangrove area. I found many iguanas there. There is nice restroom facilities but note the showers are salt water.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magens Bay also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Magens Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magens Bay to your Saves list