We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Beach for the Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magens Bay

Magens Bay
St. Thomas
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 3 attractions in Magens Bay
Type: Beaches, Bodies of Water
Activities: Swimming, Snorkeling, Sunbathing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Hailed as one of the world's most beautiful, this breathtaking bay along St. Thomas' rugged north coast is ideal for swimming and snorkeling with all the conveniences of parking, lifeguards, equipment rental, freshwater showers, restaurants and bars.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Beach for the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The beach was a little crowded but the very soft sand and beautiful water more than made up for it. I wish we brought shoes to explore the hiking trails in the area. There were lots of water activity rentals, clean bathrooms, and snack vendors.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    428
    161
    39
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rough waters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We went to Magens bay expecting calm waters and a great beach for the kids. Apparently there was a storm at sea and the waves were 4- 10 ft high along the beach, so there was little actual beach to sit/play on. It was still beautiful though!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Rough surf means great people watching!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Were at magens last week. Surf was rough but the people watching was very entertaining! Check the surf schedules before going to make sure no water issues. Great pizza from the bar though!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Beach Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Great beach for the entire family. It was busy but it was March break and we were one of 4 ships in port this day. Very clean with washrooms and showers available. Beautiful sand and water. It had some nice waves the day we were there so the kids enjoyed it. Food from the restaurant was excellent and service was great. They even had servers who came right to your lounge chair to take your order. Great way to spend a half day. The taxi ride is also fun as you climb up and down the hills to get there. No regrets here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Beautiful cerulean Blue Caribbean bay--postcard perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We saw this beach on a driving (sometimes scary) tour of St Thomas. And found our way down to it, and spent the rest of the day and afternoon there.
Good snorkeling, though a bit cloudy.
A mile long beach which we walked, twice.
Good facilities, restaurant, bar, plumbed bathrooms with semi-fresh water rinses and dressing rooms, water rentals, and beach shop.
Also had tables and sand to rest on under shade of Sea Grape Trees.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magens Bay also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to Magens Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magens Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.