We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Turtle

Fat Turtle
9100 Port of Sale, Charlotte Amalie 00802, St. Thomas
340.774.5030
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you are looking for a fun place to dance on friday nights, Fat Turtle is the place to be. Professional Dj's & Laser Lights Shows, set the tone for the best island vibe on St. Thomas. Surrounded by mega yachts, beautiful women, and cold drinks, Fat Turtle is the number one friday night hotspot on the island of St. Thomas, in the united states virgin islands. Also look for the Fat Turtle concerts
Centervill
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Restaurant in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Staying out of town, we avoided this place when the harbor was full of cruise ships. Ate here two nights and enjoyed the view of the many opulent yachts moored there. You definitely get a flavor of how the other half lives. The waitress was especially pleasant and in conversation we learned she is getting married in June. If you are visiting on your own and not on a cruise ship check this place in the evening right on the water for a cocktail and appetizers.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Georgia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed on St. Thomas for a week and chose to go into Charlotte Amalie one day during our stay. We just happened to choose a day when there were five cruise ships in port. There were people every where in the shops at the port. We walked over to Fat Turtle from Havenside shopping area, hoping to find a little quiet. It was a short walk (less than ten minutes). We were seated right away and had our drinks within 3 minutes.

While we waited on our orders, we enjoyed looking at the yachts and activity in the harbor. Our orders came in 20-30 minutes. My husband had the grilled Mahi Mahi sandwich and I ordered the nacho appetizer as my meal. The sandwich was wonderful and a very large portion. My nachos were good. They were a little "dry" compared to what I usually get elsewhere, but very tasty and again a good sized portion.

The price was comparable to other places on the island and the service was better than the other places we visited. The sandwich plate was $15 and the nachos $12. We will definitely go there again next year.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Food - Bad Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Waited over an hour and a half for our food. Burger (ordered well done) came out raw, cold, and oozing with bright red blood. Sent it back politely and tried to eat fries. After eating a couple I found melted plastic stuck to them. Service was bad - food was horrendous! Do not eat here. Go to Hook Line and Sinker instead.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Sandwhiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stopped in proir to leaving the island. The wait staff recommended the grilled fish sandwhich. I really was one of the best I have had. The bread was perfect and the fish was blackened and very tasty. Good for kids as well, and you view the bay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The food is just OK, but the view is spectacular. If you're a cruise passenger and looking for a good lunch before getting back on the ship, go here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Turtle also viewed

Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 
South Coast, St. Thomas
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
 

Been to Fat Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Turtle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.