We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Lynden, Washington
1 review
“Awesome location friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for a week and explored all over the resort. Each experience varied greatly.
Checking in was pleasant and easy.
Sunset grill was terrible all 3 times we ate there. We kept hoping for more because of the location and convenience but should have stopped at the 2nd poor meal with service so slow it made island time time seem like a New York minute.
Coco Jo's was great. Friendly staff, great service, and good food. Sheldon and Yvette always took care of us. Fun location with good drinks.
Havana Blue. Incredible. Food, service, location, ambiance was all excellent. Due to work functions we ate there 4 times and each time i tried something different. Everything was perfectly cooked with a beautiful presentation. Fish melted in your mouth, air potatoes were unique, Joshua made great drinks, Heather and Travis were great servers. The surf and turf was good. I'm usually not a fan of carribean lobster but it was cooked perfectly. Personally I like a medium rare steak so you must be clear or it will come out medium.
The beach and endless pool give provide two distinct experiences both of which are great. Ther ferry taxi was a lot of fun and convenient.
Overall the experience was very good. The staff was friendly and helpful and Nahomie kept our room clean!

Room Tip: Sea cliff is great for a water view. The main building is fun to watch the cruise ships and city lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    282
    69
    25
    21
See reviews for
402
244
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from a wonderful trip to St. Thomas. Our stay at the Marriott Frenchman's reef hotel was very nice and the ability to book activities from the Adventure Center in the hotel lobby was a nice convenience. We booked the night kayak on our last night in St. Thomas on the recommendation of friend and had a delightful time with our guide Will who was very welcoming and provided a wonderful tour of the harbor and lots of good information about the sea life we saw including the large tarpon and a sea turtle. Very reasonable price for a nice evening on the water.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Very Cool! Tarpon, turtles, and a shark! Will and Clara (guides for the red team) Were Awesome! Age range in our group was 5 to 75. 2 per boat lasts about and hour. Great night views of the harbor. Fun, easy, inexpensive entertainment!

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodmere, New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Marriott Frenchman Cove

Last year, while on the Allure of the Seas, one of the ports we stopped at was St. Thomas. Our friends had a timeshare at Frenchman's Cove, so after shopping at the high end stores in town, we took a taxi to their resort @ $7/pp. This year, we skipped the cruise and decided to come back with 2 other families for a week.

We booked a timeshare from an agent in September for our Mid-January week (Sunday-Sunday) at a $2k USD discount under the Marriott hotel rate. Our flight on Delta from JFK was 3 1/4 hours. Pretty impressive. Departing from Terminal 4, we were unable to buy duty free liquor and cigarettes, but when we landed I scored 10 cartons and 2 1 liter bottles of Grey Goose for $304. (American cigarettes not Swiss made)

Transportation to the property was expensive. A private van with 7 passengers and tons of luggage was $140 for the 15 minute ride. I suggest pre-arranging transportation and pay considerably less. Taking taxis for dinner and trips to the island will cost you $$$$. For 3 families totaling 15 people, we paid over $150 round trip for a 10 minute drive in 2 vans.

The arrival and checkin process was painless and quick. Seems like it was disorganized, but our luggage arrived to our room within minutes.

We were given a room on the 4th floor of the 5th building. Amazing views from our 2 bedroom villa. The living and kitchen area is very spacious. With recent modern touches. Stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. The master bedroom has a balcony with huge tub and private closet for the toilet and shower. Double sinks included. (Not a lot of dresser drawers though for clothes) Again, modern finishes like granite countertops, LCD TVs, and newer furniture. The second bedroom had 2 double beds, balcony and a bathroom that was shared with the main living area.

Getting to the pool/beach area was a little upsetting at first, but we managed just fine. Down one elevator. Walk across and down a few steps to another elevator, down that elevator. Walk across to another. And down that elevator to the 1st floor. Yes, 3 elevators to get to the pool deck. Since this property is built on a side of a hill, it is what it is. Again, the views from the room were priceless.

Since this property is a timeshare, daily housekeeping is an optional $40/day charge or $15/day for towel service. If you request "tidy" service, specify the time for service. They may show up at 9am even though your family is still sleeping - and won't come back until late in the afternoon when you are back in the villa getting ready for dinner. Every 3rd day of housekeeping is included. You must bring your room towels to the pool and/or beach. In case you forgot or didn't bring enough towels, you can secretly take towels from the gym restrooms which is a flight of stairs above the bar next to the pool.

Wifi signal was very good all over the property. If you have AT&T or Sprint for wireless service, St. Thomas is considered part of the US. Calls to and from and text and data are normal charges like you were within the 50 states. Verizon, not the same. $1.99/minute.

Grocery shopping. There is a service that you can order from online and will stock your refrigerator and kitchen with food and it will be ready when you first walk into your villa. Comes with a slight premium but saves the time and expense of taking a taxi or driving to the supermarket and bringing everything back. In my opinion, worth it. For example, a dozen eggs are $4.59 from the MarketPlace on property, $4.89 online or $3.99 at the supermarket. 2 liter bottle of soda is $6 at the property or $1.99 at the supermarket. This is a wealthy Caribbean island. Things come at a premium. If your looking to save, go to an all-inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

The Marketplace (next to pool) is open from 7am to 10pm. The Marketplace (next to lobby) is open 24 hours, but has limited selection. The Reef hotel next door has a larger store, but they don't sell eggs. Half gallon milk is $8. You can buy a large cup (7-11 super big gulp refillable) for $17.99 and get all you can drink refills during your stay. (They ran out of cups on our 2nd day with no new stock for weeks).

Marriott Frenchman's Cove is a smoke free property. You can only smoke at specified "smoking" locations only. You will get caught if you smoke anywhere else, including your balcony. Get caught enough times, they will charge your room for a "cleaning fee".

The beach is small and there are warning signs to avoid the SPS hard coral that are within feet of the shore line, along with the sea urchins. Plenty of seating available both on beach and pool. Premium lounges first row are taken quickly in the morning though.

Overall, the property is very good 4 stars for value and amenities. This 7 day vacation for 2 rooms would of easily cost thousands more anywhere else. Yes, some sacrifice, but well worth it in terms of value. Since we often go to Miami to our apartment, this place is a step above and will likely return and would definitely recommend to others who are considering this property.

Take your phone off the hook the first night. The welcoming committee will call around 830-9am to give you a welcome call the first morning.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Crew, Captain Nathan, Kentucky and the third guy Hawaii were a blast! The music,food and booze was by far the best value on the island! The only thing I didn't like was I watched this crew work the crowd, waiting on the passengers hand and foot and some people left without giving these guys tips! Do not miss this if you are going to St. Thomas. A must do!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I loved the night kayak tour that the Marriott has. Our group's guide Dave made the tour even better, providing interesting information. I personally thought this was a vital piece of making my stay better(at the Marriott)

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our night kayak excursion that we booked through the Adventure Center while staying at the Marriott Cove was fun, exciting, amazing with great information about the island and some history. We were lucky enough to see fish, turtles and sting rays while listening to great facts about the VI. Shout out to Will and Dylan our terrific guides.

Room Tip: Request lower level closer to the beach without all of the elevator transfers to get to the beach, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.