We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family resort ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great family resort ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is our first visit to Frenchman's Cove. We have stayed at the Reef twice before, which is a fantastic property as well, but wanted the convenience of the timeshare with a full kitchen and laundry. We were happy to get into the Cove for this week of Thanksgiving and are loving our stay here.

The villas are a bit smaller than at some other resorts but there is still ample space to spread out in the two bedroom villa. We have yet to have any issues finding chairs and umbrellas by the pool or beach - even though it's busy here this week, it doesn't feel overrun with people. The beach area is right in front of the pool, which is highly convenient and makes it very easy to split up between the two areas and not feel like we are so far away from each other (like at Aruba Surf Club for example). We rented a car this time and the parking is easy (just remember, they drive on the left here!). Another plus about the beach here is that there are no public vendors selling hair braids, and other beachy stuff that you see in Aruba. They also have a giant foam mat that you can swim out to and lounge on - as well as an inflatable "iceberg" that you can climb up on and jump off of or slide down. Both of these are free for anyone to use and are a big hit with kids and adults. Another plus is that you can go over to the Reef and Morning Star properties and use all of their amenities - pool, restaurants, and beach area. You can charge any expenses from there back to your room at the Cove. Everyone is very friendly and helpful - especially our personal concierge. In our 15 years as owners, we've never had a personal concierge and apparently it is a relatively new thing for Marriott VCI and this is one of the first properties to do this. Prior to our arrival, we were assigned a concierge. We picked a day for her to meet us at our villa at a time chosen by us (at first we were hesitant because we weren't sure if this was sales-related but it's not at all and can take as short or as long as you want/need). She came over and gave us a lot of helpful information. The best thing is, she gave us her cell # and we have since exchanged multiple txts for dinner recommendations and reservations. She has been a great help and it could not be more convenient!

As many others have mentioned, depending on where your villa is, you may have to go down three separate elevators to make it down to the pool/beach/restaurant. But it's not terrible and the way the resort is built into the hill, this "tiered" set up means just about every room seems to have at least some ocean view even if you didn't pay for it.

Marriott did a great job with this resort and St Thomas is a beautiful place to vacation!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    272
    67
    25
    21
See reviews for
386
233
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If you have to stay in st Thomas this is in my opinion the best hotel and the more secure with a secluded beach on you left
Good restaurant and close to town
The staff has a good training
The rooms facing the ocean are pretty spacious
I will go back for sure

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Cove condos are very nice. They're not the best we've stayed at but definitely better than average by a long way. It partially depends on getting close to the water. If you're in an upper building, it could be a long week. We had requested a building close to the beach and it helped. We were in the Jost van Dyke building and were a short walk down the stairs to the pool and the beach. The beach wasn't spectacular but access to the entire Marriott property next door helped. There's a water taxi that we took into town, $7 each way w/ Capt Rick, that was fun but only during the day. We rented a car for the week and there was parking available. It might not be during busy weeks. The rooms are nice and spacious. The charging privileges were convenient as well. Make sure to eat at Coco Joes and the Sand Bar. Havana Blue is a must stop. Pricey, but great food.

Room Tip: get a room close to the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My friends and I just returned from this resort. We were staying in the Tortola building which had a great view. Never had a problem with parking our jeep as well. Everyone was very friendly and the maid service was great. I have to complain again about the bartender Kevin. Very unfriendly and makes horrible drinks. We enjoyed the beach and the pool although we visited many other beaches on the Island as well as St. John. Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Heights, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is our second time at the villa's(we are now owners) unbelievable!!!! The villa is equipped with everything that you need. We planned on a few day trips but ended up staying agh the villa. Dianne at the front desk greats you as you register, Heather was our concierge, helped plan our stay. Our favorite restaurant is Banana Tree, ask for Chris. This was the most relaxing trip we ever had. We love Saint Thomas. This was our fourteenth time there, and have already booked for next year. We never want to go anywhere else. Also Ajanta is the best jewelry store in town, it is in Drakes Passage.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was wonderful... Clean and really neat the way it was in the mountain. We took several day trips and used just one taxi driver the whole week. we went to :St. John's , Trunk bay is a must see and we also took a water taxi to Water Island and rented a golf cart for the day and went to Dinghy's Beach Bar. Had a blast!! We ate in Red Hook at Fish Tails after came off the Ferry from St Johns, wonderful food, and went to Mafolie Restaurant great food unbelievable view!! did The Cat swim with turtles , really cool... Make sure you go to the Morning Star for the beach it is so much bigger, Also the view at nighttime over at the Reef is worth the walk over for a drink. Don't be afraid to ask about their specials at different restaurants for happy hours etc. It was a definitely pricey but not as bad as I thought. The store has everything you want, we stopped on our way from the airport and we packed our lunch and made breakfast everyday. Alcohol to buy is very cheap at the store. Enjoy you will love it!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review, Lori! It is fantastic to learn you and your friends had a blast during your recent visit because of the well-kept facilities. Hopefully, we can host you and your friends on a future trip! Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This year will be the 6th time that we have been to Frenchman's Cove. We are timeshare owners who had planned to trade and go to different places, but we love it so much we have never gone anywhere else!

Whether you use your villa here as a jumping off point to go other places on the island, or spend all of your time at the condo...either way you can't go wrong.

The villas are perfectly appointed. The beds are super comfortable. We love having a washer and drier and two bathrooms. There are two decks and one has a great outdoor patio set so you can enjoy your coffee every morning while watching the sun rise. The kitchen has everything you need including dishes, pots, pans, silverware and glassware. Toaster, microwave, coffee makers, dishwasher, big fridge! We always pack things like, dishwasher nuggets, laundry detergent pods, coffee filters, coffee, sugar, creamer, soap. You can call for extra paper towels, garbage bags and toilet paper. There is also a DVD player, so feel free to pack your faves for a rainy day or late night guilty pleasure.

There is a shuttle that will take you to neighboring Marriott properties including the Reef Hotel, Morningstar Beach and Havana Blue Restaurant - which has the most delicious Mojitos I have ever had! The pool bar at the Reef is super fun and you can watch the cruise ships come and go while fully submerged in an infinity pool.

Rent a car, but remember drive on the left...There are great restaurants everywhere...Thirteen and Oceana are our favorites. We also love Island Time pub for pizza...and you have to go to Duffy's Loveshack - it's the law! For some great "parking lot chicken" try Mojos and you have to visit Shipwreck Tavern and the Dog House Pub across the street!

I could go on and on...but if you have ever been here on a cruise ship...it's totally different when you stay here. Oh and you must take day trips to Jost Van Dyke and St. John. SO MUCH FUN!!!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room...they all have water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Corporate Customer Care at Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for your five-star TripAdvisor review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove! We are thrilled to read you consistently enjoy your time at the resort and will be returning for a sixth time because of both the comfortable villas and amenities offered. Thank you again for sharing. Our associates look forward to hosting you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.