We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cat Turtle Cove sail & snorkel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Frenchman's Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Columbia, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Cat Turtle Cove sail & snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

One of the best snorkeling trips I have ever had. Great marine life to see. We saw turtles, lots of different fish and other sea life. Ali got in the water with us to point out some things to look for then left us to our own exploring. Worth the trip.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    260
    66
    26
    20
See reviews for
369
214
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Beautiful location but will never come back very low end in my opinion. Staff are unfriendly and the concierge was very pushy about us taking a tour of their time share property, very off putting. Food was also average. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So I read the reviews of this property and I must say I was somewhat skeptical but it was a perfect week. My wife and I took our 7 year old granddaughter, we told them at check in that she had never seen the ocean before and would like the best room with a view we could get. We got the 5th floor, corner villa, of the St Johns building. We were not disappointed the view was simply fantastic.Getting to the pool area was a track having to take 3 elevators but it was not a big deal. The room itself was a 2 bedroom villa and for once the pictures on the website matched what we got. updated and clean, very nice. Just what we would expect from Marriott. The stall were all friendly and ready to help at anytime. The dining was very casual but that is what one would expect for pool side. The fish tacos were incredible and the portions were enough to satisfy. The island itself was beautiful and as all islands are the price of things were somewhat high. But that is what you expect. All I can say is we will definitely trade our timeshare for another stay at this resort. One of the best vacations I have had.

Room Tip: The higher the better but all rooms have a good view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Marriott Frenchman's Cove is wonderful. Went with my sister. The two bedroom villas were great. The location is serene, the view are spectacular and there are enough activities to keep you entertained. Shout out to Ruth who conducted the Aqua Aerobics class and Ruedell who was very friendly and helpful The Pain Killer signature drink is fantastic. Kudos to the Bartenders at the Cove! The only problem is that the food isn't very good at the Cove or at the Reef. It's adequate at best. Breakfast was a complete waste of money.

The island....
First and foremost.. Pack heavy duty bug spray and wear it ALL THE TIME. The mosquitoes are horrible. Secondly, the attitude of the islanders as well as the experience reminds me of New Yorkers. Some are extremely rude, some are extremely nice and some just want you to do your business and keep it moving.

Restaurants. Stay away from Gladys' Restaurant unless the cruise ships are in town. We had a terrible experience with the food and the service. I have had caribbean food before, and I know raw chicken, burned plantains and old macaroni and cheese when I see it. I sent the dish back. My sister ordered a fish sandwich that was too salty to eat. Add to that a rude waiter and we were more than ready to leave. However, other people we met while on the trip loved the food and talked about how wonderful the owner and the staff were. Room With a View was excellent and the Sunset Sail on the Cat were exceptional, both with food and service.

Buy your Rum in town and have them pack it for you. Much cheaper and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I just returned from a weeks vacation at the Frenchman's Cove...and what a place it is!... We had a 2 bedroom unit and it was more than we ever expected....plenty of room, clean, nice kitchen and a great view of the water... Our room was located in the Tortola tower...6th floor!...a must have room. The sunsets were beautiful, the passing cruise ships were a sight to see and the turtles that swam below our room were truly a sight!.... We snorkeled the beach and reefs a plenty along with much sea life! The hotel offers many activities for young and old!...the happy hour is among the best on the island! Will be back again..! Overall, the Marriot Frenchman's Cove offers much more than our experience at the Marriot Surf Club in Aruba...hands down!

Room Tip: Tortola tower...6th floor!...are must have rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was sooooo looking forward to going to St Thomas and enjoying the Caribbean waters that I must convey that it was as beautiful as I had dreamed it would be and much more. St Thomas and St Johns are picturesque and almost surreal that you feel like you are in a commercial or advertisement. Now for the reality of the Marriott's Frenchman's Cove. Our timeshare was just like all the others that we have stayed in except it seemed a bit small in sq footage, but not by much. See attached picture of our view from our room and share the splendor of looking at the roof of the building in front of us. I would like to know who designed this and, furthermore, who ok'd this.

Not long after we arrived we went to the property restaurant (Sunset Cove Poolside Bar & Grill) where we had poor service and over priced food. The over priced food is to be expected on an island, but the poor service is not. Little did we realize that poor service runs rampant on the island. Our waitress lacked in friendliness, cordiality, promptness... The restaurant was less that a third full yet she found no time to refill drinks, return to see if we needed anything, if everything was ok with our food... Yet she somehow found time to stand behind the bar to drink, eat and talk to her co-workers, while we had to flag down another waiter for drink refills and take napkins from the vacant table next to us.

As far as grocery stores stay away from Pueblo and Cost U Less. Pueblo had armed security guards and Cost U Less was a complete dive and scary as well.

If you are going to buy jewelry be prepared to walk away or pretend to walk away in order to get the price you want or closer to the price you want. Also, go downtown on the weekend when the cruise ships are not present and you can get a much better deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had the most spectacular view of the harbor that you can get from the Tortola building. Balcony views right into the water where we watched turtles surfacing and a barracuda on the prowl. Great unit very well equipped. Be advised that construction is starting week of September 15, 2014 on a new sales center. Parking is very limited in this building and shuttle service, while provided, is inconsistent.

Room Tip: The closer to the beach the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Frenchman's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Frenchman's Cove

Address: 7338 Estate Bakkeroe, Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > Charlotte Amalie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Charlotte Amalie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Frenchman's Cove 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Frenchman's Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Frenchman`s Cove Hotel Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Hotel Frenchmans Cove
Marriott Charlotte Amalie
Marriotts Frenchmans Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Frenchman's Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;